Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

Additional Information

Oct 01, 2009:
Building a bridge between books and film: the fifth Berlinale Day at the Frankfurt Book Fair

The fifth Berlinale Day at the Frankfurt Book Fair (October 14-18, 2009) will take place on October 15.

Book Fair visitors will be presented with three selected screen adaptations from the 2009 Berlinale programme. Additionally, producers, publishers and literary agents will have the opportunity to exchange ideas at a case study cooperatively organized by the Berlinale and the Book Fair (registration at , participation is limited).

The Berlinale Day programme will also include "How to do the Frankfurt Book Fair", an information event organized by the Book Fair specifically for producers, and so-called "Match-Up Meetings" between film producers and publishers.

The Frankfurt Book Fair and the Berlin International Film Festival have been cooperating since 2005, when these two largest cultural events in Germany resolved to build a bridge between the book world and the film world, thereby facilitating contact between professionals in both branches.

With Berlinale at Frankfurt Book Fair and other cooperative events planned for the Berlinale, the Berlin International Film Festival and Frankfurt Book Fair hope to stabilize this bridge between books and film, and to seek out new synergies.

The networking forum will be resumed at Books at Berlinale during the 60th Berlin International Film Festival (February 11-21, 2010): In addition to the Book Fair joint stand at the European Film Market, international producers attending the Berlinale Co-Production Market are invited to attend the pitching event "Breakfast & Books", where ca. ten novels suitable for film adaptation will be presented.

The Berlinale Day schedule at the Frankfurt Book Fair "Film & Media Forum" on Thursday, October 15, 2009:

• 10:00 Effi Briest, Germany 2009 (Berlinale Special)

Directed by Hermine Huntgeburth, adapted from the novel by Theodor Fontane

• 12:00 In the Electric Mist, France/USA 2009 (Berlinale Competition)

Directed by Bertrand Tavernier, adapted from the novel by James Lee Burke

• 14:00 The Bone Man, Austria 2009 (Berlinale Panorama)

Directed by Wolfgang Murnberger, adapted from the novel by Wolf Haas

• 14:00 Case Study:

"A Best Case Scenario?" – Adapting the Millennium Trilogy

The internationally bestselling trilogy Millennium by Stieg Larsson has inspired three films and six made-for-TV movies. Jenny Gilbertson from the Swedish production company Yellow Bird and Millennium publisher Eva Gedin from Norstedts Förlag will discuss the prospects and risks involved in adapting books for the screen.

DVD-Edition for the 60th anniversary of the Berlinale to be announced at Book Fair

This year, the Berlinale will also be present at the Frankfurt Book Fair in another way: In cooperation with the Berlin International Film Festival, Süddeutsche Zeitung will issue a Berlinale-DVD-Edition of Süddeutsche Zeitung Cinemathek. The Berlinale Edition will include 22 competition films from the Berlin International Film Festival and will be announced for the first time at the Frankfurt Book Fair. The Berlinale Edition will be released on January 9, 2010.

Press Office

October 1, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

Zusätzliches

01.10.2009:
Die Brücke zwischen Buch und Film: 5. Berlinale Tag bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Am 15. Oktober findet nun schon zum fünften Mal der Berlinale Tag bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse (14.-18.10.2009) statt.

Drei ausgewählte Literaturverfilmungen aus dem Berlinale-Programm 2009 werden dem Messepublikum präsentiert. Außerdem organisieren Berlinale und Buchmesse gemeinsam einen Fach-Workshop, der Produzenten und Verleger sowie Literaturagenten zum Austausch zusammenbringt (Anmeldungen über , Teilnehmerzahl begrenzt).

Eine von der Frankfurter Buchmesse eigens für Produzenten organisierte Informationsveranstaltung „How to do the Frankfurt Book Fair“ sowie sogenannte „Match-up Meetings“ zwischen Filmproduzenten und Verlegern ergänzen das Programm des Berlinale Tags.

Die Kooperation zwischen der Frankfurter Buchmesse und den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin besteht bereits seit 2005. Die beiden größten deutschen Kulturveranstaltungen hatten sich damals vorgenommen, eine Brücke zwischen der Buch- und der Filmwelt zu bauen und damit den Profis aus beiden Bereichen die Kontaktaufnahme untereinander zu erleichtern.

Mit den inzwischen alljährlich zur Buchmesse und zur Berlinale gemeinsam geplanten Aktionen möchten Berlinale und Buchmesse dieses Fundament stabilisieren und weitere Synergien erforschen.

Fortgesetzt wird die Kontaktbörse dann auch wieder bei Books at Berlinale während der 60. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin (11.-21.02.2010): Neben dem Buchmesse-Gemeinschaftsstand im European Film Market werden den internationalen Produzenten des Berlinale Co-Production Market im Rahmen der Pitching-Veranstaltung „Breakfast & Books“ wieder ca. zehn ausgewählte, zur Verfilmung geeignete Romane vorgestellt.

Das Programm des Berlinale Tags bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse im „Film & Media Forum“ am Donnerstag, den 15. Oktober 2009:

• 10:00 Effi Briest, Deutschland 2009 (Berlinale Special)

Regie: Hermine Huntgeburth, Romanvorlage: Theodor Fontane

• 12:00 In the Electric Mist, Frankreich/USA 2009 (Berlinale Wettbewerb) Regie: Bertrand Tavernier, Romanvorlage: James Lee Burke

• 14:00 Der Knochenmann, Österreich 2009 (Berlinale Panorama)

Regie: Wolfgang Murnberger, Romanvorlage: Wolf Haas

• 14:00 Case Study:

“A Best Case Scenario?“ – Adapting the Millennium Trilogy

Drei Kino- und sechs Fernsehfilme entstehen nach Stieg Larssons weltweit erfolgreicher Romantrilogie. Ein Gespräch über Chancen und Risiken von Adaptionen mit Jenny Gilbertsson von der schwedischen Produktionsfirma Yellow Bird und der Millennium-Verlegerin Eva Gedin, Norstedts Förlag.

Ankündigung der DVD-Edition zur 60. Berlinale bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse

Die Berlinale-Präsenz bei der Buchmesse zeigt sich in diesem Jahr auch noch in anderer Form: In Kooperation mit der Berlinale wird die Süddeutsche Zeitung zum 60. Jubiläum in 2010 eine Berlinale Edition der Süddeutsche Zeitung Cinemathek herausbringen. Die Berlinale Edition umfasst 22 Wettbewerbsfilme aus der Geschichte der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin und wird erstmals bei der Frankfurter Buchmesse angekündigt.

Ab 9. Januar 2010 wird die Berlinale Edition im Handel sein.

Presseabteilung

1. Oktober 2009