Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

Sep 14, 2009:
Berlinale Co-Production Market Again Launches Search for Co-Production Partners

Deadline for Submissions: October 29, 2009

With immediate effect, the Berlinale Co-Production Market is again seeking promising feature film projects that it would like to assist to find co-production and co-financing partners at the Berlinale 2010.

Until October 29, 2009, experienced producers may submit projects that have budgets between two and ten million euros; at least 30% of the funding has to be in place. The projects must also be suited to international co-production.

At the 7th Berlinale Co-Production Market (February 14 to 16, 2010), the producers of the ca. 35 projects selected by then will meet with interested potential co-producers, financiers, sales agents, and international distributors. The Berlinale Co-Production Market team will put together a personalised schedule of meetings for each of the ca. 450 participants, a schedule that not only coordinates when each party is available, but above all makes sure the projects and partners found for each other are a good fit.

In this fashion, countless partners from different countries have been brought together, as can be seen in the many films from past Markets that premiered this year alone: Soundless Wind Chime (directed by Kit Hung), a co-production between Hong Kong and Switzerland, screened in the Forum of the Berlinale. Lebanon (directed by Samuel Maoz), produced by Israel, Germany, and France, just won the Golden Lion in Venice. In August, the Brazilian-French co-production The Famous and the Dead (directed by Esmir Filho) had its debut at the festival in Locarno; and the summer hit Mikro Eglima (Small Crime) by Christos Georgiou, a co-production between Cyprus and Germany, also evolved from the Berlinale Co-Production Market.

Among the most successful projects completed this year were Lost Persons Area (directed by Caroline Strubbe) and Amreeka (directed by Cherien Dabis); they respectively won the SACD Screenplay Award and the FIPRESCI Prize in Cannes.

Over 80 films have been realized since the Berlinale Co-Production Market was first launched in 2004 – in other words, 40% of the projects envisioned have already been completed. This includes films like Sergei Bodrov’s Mongol, which was nominated for an Academy Award in 2008; Alexandr Sokurov’s The Sun; as well as the crossover success Lemon Tree by Eran Riklis, which was shown in the Berlinale Panorama in 2008 and has since been screened in over 20 countries.

Main partners of the Berlinale Co-Production Market have been the MDM –

Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (since 2004) and the MEDIA-Programme of the European Union (since 2005).

The project submission forms and selection criteria for 2010 are available at: www.efm-berlinale.de

Press Office

September 14, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

14.09.2009:
Die Produzenten-Partnervermittlung startet wieder durch

Berlinale Co-Production Market: Einreichfrist 29. Oktober 2009

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market sucht ab sofort wieder vielversprechende Spielfilm-Projekte, um bei der Berlinale 2010 Koproduktions- und Finanzierungspartner zu vermitteln.

Bis zum 29. Oktober 2009 können erfahrene Produzenten Projekte mit Budgets zwischen zwei und zehn Millionen Euro einreichen, die sich für internationale Koproduktionen eignen und deren Finanzierung bereits zu mindestens 30% gesichert ist.

Beim 7. Berlinale Co- Production Market (14.-16. Februar 2010) werden die Produzenten der etwa 35 bis dahin ausgewählten Projekte auf interessierte potenzielle Koproduzenten, Finanziers, Verleiher und Weltvertriebe treffen. Für jeden der rund 450 Teilnehmer stellt das Team des Berlinale Co-Production Market einen persönlichen Terminplan zusammen, der nicht nur die zeitliche Verfügbarkeit aller Beteiligten koordiniert, sondern vor allem daraufhin abgestimmt ist, dass die jeweiligen Projekte und die vermittelten Partner zueinander passen.

Auf diese Weise wurden schon zahlreiche Partner aus verschiedenen Ländern zusammengebracht. Das zeigen allein schon die in diesem Jahr uraufgeführten Filme aus früheren Jahrgängen: so lief mit Soundless Wind Chime (Regie: Kit Hung) eine Koproduktion zwischen Hong Kong und der Schweiz im Forum der Berlinale. Lebanon (Regie: Samuel Maoz), aus Israel, Deutschland und Frankreich, hat soeben in Venedig den Goldenen Löwen gewonnen. Im August feierte die brasilianisch-französische Koproduktion The Famous and the Dead (Regie: Esmir Filho) beim Festival in Locarno Premiere, und auch der zypriotisch-deutsche Kino-Sommerhit Kleine Verbrechen von Christos Georgiou ging aus dem Berlinale Co-Production Market hervor.

Zu den in diesem Jahr besonders erfolgreichen fertig gestellten Projekten zählen ebenfalls Lost Persons Area (Regie: Caroline Strubbe) und Amreeka (Regie: Cherien Dabis), die in Cannes mit dem SACD Screenplay Award bzw. mit dem FIPRESCI-Preis ausgezeichnet wurden.

Insgesamt sind aus den Projekten des Berlinale Co-Production Market seit 2004 bereits über 80 Filme realisiert worden, d.h. 40% aller vorgestellten Projekte sind schon fertig. Darunter sind Filme wie Sergei Bodrovs Mongol, der 2008 für den Academy Award nominiert war, Alexandr Sokurovs The Sun, oder auch der Crossover-Erfolg Lemon Tree von Eran Riklis, der 2008 im Berlinale Panorama und seither in über 20 Ländern gezeigt wurde.

Hauptpartner des Berlinale Co-Production Market sind seit 2004 die MDM

– Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung und seit 2005 das MEDIA-Programm der Europäischen Union.

Einreichformulare und Auswahlkriterien für die Projekteinreichung 2010 gibt es unter: www.efm-berlinale.de

Presseabteilung

14. September 2009