Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

Additional Information

Jun 30, 2009:
A Call to Our Audiences for the 60th Berlinale

Dear Journalists,

We would appreciate your presenting our “Call to Our Audiences” to your readers, listeners, and viewers.

With best regards,

The Berlin International Film Festival

_____________________________________________________

My Most Unforgettable Festival Memories - Berlinale Flashback

The Berlinale will celebrate its 60th anniversary in 2010 – and the public is invited to play a special role on this occasion

On 6 June 1951, six years after World War II ended, the Berlin International Film Festival opened its doors for the first time. In 2010, the Berlinale will celebrate its 60th anniversary and look back over six turbulent decades: the Cold War, 1968, the fall of the Wall - contemporary history as reflected on the screen and at the festival. And since 1951, thousands of international stars have visited the Berlinale:

Rita Hayworth, Sophia Loren, Federico Fellini, and Billy Wilder led off the parade of stars in the 1950s. Kate Winslet, Ralph Fiennes, Renée Zellweger, Gael Garcia Bernal, and Demi Moore were among this year’s guests.

The Film Festival has established itself as both an international cultural event and crowd puller. And with almost 20,000 professional guests, including 4,000 journalists, it is one of the most important annual events of the international film industry.

Yet no other film festival has as close ties with its audiences as the Berlinale. In 2009, the public bought more than 270,000 tickets, a Festival record. And so to mark this anniversary, we are turning to our loyal audiences: we would like them to share their personal stories and experiences from the past 60 years of the Berlinale with us.

The Berlinale and its 60th edition. And you, as the audience, are to play a special role in this anniversary.

What were your loveliest and most moving, thrilling, tearful, erotic, funny, upsetting, embarrassing and/or tender moments at the Berlinale?

In cinemas, or when you were out and about?

Did you bump into any screen stars? Or did one happen to step on your foot?

Have you ever stumbled over the red carpet?

Or, while waiting in line, heard the latest gossip, found out more about film, or met the love of your life?

And does your Berlinale story have a happy ending?

For our anniversary we will present your loveliest Berlinale stories and memories. And, of course, we would be delighted if you could also send us your photos and/or films.

(Please enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope so we can return your contributions to you.)

Deadline: September 15, 2009

Send to:

Berlin International Film Festival

The Berlinale’s 60th Anniversary

- Berlinale Flashback -

Potsdamer Strasse 5

10785 Berlin

Or e-mail to:

Rights information:

By submitting your works, you agree to the Berlin International Film Festival (IFB) publishing your contribution (e-mails, letters, photos, films, etc.) on the Festival website and in Festival publications. You also grant the IFB all rights of use necessary, free of charge. The IFB reserves the right to edit or shorten contributions as long as it does not distort their meaning. The IFB will credit contributions with an abbreviated form of your name, unless you explicitly say you want us to release your full name or to remain anonymous.

Note to the press

If you would like to announce this “Call to Our Audiences” within the context of the Summer Berlinale:

From 16 to 19 July 2009, the seventh Summer Berlinale will be held in Berlin at the Friedrichshain Open Air Cinema. The Summer Berlinale will present a selection of highlights from the 2009 Berlinale. (See today’s press release for the Summer Berlinale programme.)

Press Office

30 June 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

Zusätzliches

30.06.2009:
Publikumsaufruf zur 60. Berlinale

Sehr geehrte Journalistinnen und Journalisten,

wir würden uns freuen, wenn Sie Ihren Lesern, Hörern oder Zuschauern unseren Publikumsaufruf vorstellen könnten.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin

_____________________________________________________

Meine schönsten Festivalerinnerungen - Berlinale Flashback

2010 feiert die Berlinale das 60. Jubiläum – und das Publikum spielt dabei eine besondere Rolle

Am 6. Juni 1951, sechs Jahre nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs, hatten die ersten Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin ihre Premiere. 2010 feiert die Berlinale das 60. Jubiläum und blickt auf sechs turbulente Jahrzehnte zurück: Kalter Krieg, 1968, Mauerfall – im Film und beim Festival hat sich die Zeitgeschichte gespiegelt. Und tausende internationale Stars haben seit 1951 die Berlinale besucht.

Rita Hayworth, Sophia Loren, Federico Fellini und Billy Wilder haben den Star-Reigen in den 50ern eröffnet; Kate Winslet, Ralph Fiennes, Renée Zellweger, Gael Garcia Bernal, Demi Moore u.v.m. gehörten zu den Gästen in diesem Jahr.

Die Filmfestspiele haben sich als Publikumsmagnet und internationales Kulturereignis etabliert, und sind mit nahezu 20.000 Fachbesuchern, darunter 4000 Journalisten, auch eines der wichtigsten Ereignisse der internationalen Filmindustrie im Jahr.

Doch kein anderes Filmfestival ist so stark mit seinem Publikum verbunden, wie die Berlinale. Mehr als 270.000 Eintrittskarten kaufte sich das Publikum 2009, ein Rekord in der Festivalgeschichte. Zu unserem Jubiläum richten wir uns an unser treues Publikum und möchten seine Geschichten und persönlichen Erlebnisse aus 60 Jahren Berlinale erfahren:

Berlinale, die 60. Klappe. Und Sie als Zuschauer sollen beim Jubiläum eine Rolle spielen.

Was waren für Sie schöne, bewegende, aufregende, tränenreiche, erotische, lustige, aufwühlende, peinliche, zärtliche Momente auf der Berlinale?

Im Kino und drum herum?

Ist Ihnen eine Leinwandgröße in die Arme gelaufen? Oder auf den Fuß getreten?

Sind auch Sie schon einmal über den roten Teppich gestolpert?

Haben Sie beim Schlangestehen Klatsch mitbekommen, Ihr Filmwissen erweitert oder die Liebe Ihres Lebens kennengelernt?

Und ist die Berlinale für Sie eine Geschichte mit Happy-End?

Ihre schönsten Berlinale-Stories und Erinnerungen werden wir im Rahmen unseres Jubiläums veröffentlichen. Natürlich gerne mit Bild- oder Filmmaterial angereichert.

(Achtung: Rücksendung nur bei frankiertem Umschlag).

Einsendeschluss: 15.09.2009

Zusendungen an:

Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin

60 Jahre Berlinale

- Berlinale Flashback -

Potsdamer Strasse 5

10785 Berlin

Oder via Mail an:

Rechtevermerk:

Mit der Einsendung erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin (IFB) Ihren Beitrag (E-Mails, Briefe, Fotos, Filme etc.)auf der Festival-Website sowie den Festival-Publikationen veröffentlicht. Sie räumen der IFB die dafür erforderlichen, unentgeltlichen Nutzungsrechte ein. IFB behält sich vor, Beiträge redaktionell zu bearbeiten und zu kürzen, sofern dies nicht sinnentstellend ist. IFB wird Beiträge nur unter Nennung Ihres abgekürzten Namens veröffentlichen, es sei denn, Sie lehnen dies ausdrücklich ab.

Hinweis für die Redaktionen

Falls Sie als Anlass für den Publikumsaufruf die diesjährige Sommer Berlinale nutzen möchten:

Vom 16. bis 19. Juli 2009 findet in Berlin in der Freiluftbühne im Friedrichshain die siebte Sommer-Berlinale statt. Die Sommer-Berlinale präsentiert einige Highlights aus dem Berlinale-Programm 2009 (siehe Pressemitteilung vom 30.06.09 mit Programm der Sommer Berlinale).

Presseabteilung

30. Juni 2009