Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2010

World Cinema Fund

Jun 15, 2009:
World Cinema Fund – German Federal Cultural Foundation will continue to support this internationally successful initiative

The Berlinale is pleased that the German Federal Cultural Foundation will continue to support the World Cinema Fund (WCF) of the Berlinale until the end of 2011.

The Foundation’s board under the chairmanship of the Minster of State for Culture Bernd Neumann agreed at its last meeting to extend its funding of the World Cinema Fund and so secured the WCF’s existence for another two years.

“We are delighted! With the Cultural Foundation’s support we will be able to continue the WCF’s successful funding programme. Thanks to the World Cinema Fund’s pragmatic and effective strategies, the WCF has since its inception funded a whole string of successful films that have been both artistically fascinating and competitively viable,” says Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

All WCF films produced to date have screened in cinemas and/or in the programmes of renowned international film festivals.

The Berlinale competition entry and multiple prizewinner Paradise Now was one of the first films funded by the WCF: awarded a Golden Globe and nominated for an Oscar, it has been distributed in the interim to more than 50 countries. Another film supported by the WCF was Hamaca Paraguaya, the first film from Paraguay in more than 20 years. The Mexican film Silent Light by Carlos Reygadas won, among many other awards, the Jury Prize in the main competition of the Cannes International Film Festival in 2007; Filmphobia from Brazil and Dioses from Peru screened in the main competition in Locarno. The Turkish film Pandora’s Box was awarded Best Film at the San Sebastián Film Festival; the Peruvian film La teta asustada (The Milk of Sorrow) won the Golden Bear at the Berlinale in 2009. Four other WCF-funded films screened in this year’s Official Programme of the Festival de Cannes (Independencia from the Philippines, The Wind Journeys from Columbia, Huacho from Chile, and Ajami from Israel/Palestine)

Since the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlinale launched the WCF in October 2004, 1000 projects from Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, Central and South East Asia, and the Caucasus have been submitted. 56 of them have received production or distribution funding.

The World Cinema Fund not only stands for the diversity of cinematic art in the regions funded by the WCF, but also for an ideal relationship between these regions, and producers and/or the film industry in Germany. Within a short time, the WCF has evolved into a cultural-political instrument for funding films, as well as an initiative for establishing international contacts within the business.

The World Cinema Fund is an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin International Film Festival in cooperation with the Goethe Institute.

Press Office

15 June 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2010

World Cinema Fund

15.06.2009:
World Cinema Fund – die Kulturstiftung des Bundes setzt die Förderung der international erfolgreichen Initiative fort

Die Berlinale freut sich, dass die Kulturstiftung des Bundes bis einschließlich 2011 den World Cinema Fund (WCF) der Berlinale fördern wird.

Der Stiftungsrat unter Vorsitz von Kulturstaatsminister Bernd Neumann befürwortete auf seiner jüngsten Sitzung die weitere Förderung des WCF durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes und sicherte damit seine Existenz für zwei weitere Jahre.

„Wir sind froh, mit Unterstützung der Kulturstiftung die erfolgreiche Förderung des WCF fortführen zu können. Dank seiner pragmatischen und effektiven Förderstrategie hat der World Cinema Fund seit seinem Start eine Reihe von erfolgreichen Filmen gefördert, die künstlerisch faszinierend und wettbewerbsfähig zugleich sind,“ sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Alle bisher produzierten WCF-Filme liefen in den Kinos und/oder in den Programmen renommierter internationaler Filmfestivals.

Der vielfach preisgekrönte, mit dem Golden Globe ausgezeichnete, Oscar-nominierte und in mehr als 50 Länder verkaufte Berlinale-Wettbewerbsbeitrag Paradise Now war einer der ersten geförderten Filme des WCF, und Hamaca Paraguaya der seit über 20 Jahren erste Film aus Paraguay. Der mexikanische Film Silent Light von Carlos Reygadas gewann neben vielen anderen Preisen den Jury-Preis im Wettbewerb der Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Cannes im vergangenen Jahr, Filmphobia aus Brasilien und Dioses aus Peru liefen im Wettbewerb von Locarno. Der türkische Film Pandora’s Box gewann das Festival in San Sebastián, der peruanische Film La teta asustada (The Milk of Sorrow) den Goldenen Bären der Berlinale 2009. Vier weitere WCF-geförderte Filme liefen auch in diesem Jahr im offiziellen Programm der Filmfestspiele in Cannes (Independencia aus den Philippinen, The Wind Journeys aus Kolumbien, Huacho aus Chile und Ajami aus Israel/Palästina)

Seit der Gründung des WCF im Oktober 2004 durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes und die Berlinale wurden 1000 Projekte aus Afrika, Lateinamerika, dem Nahen/Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien und dem Kaukasus eingereicht. 56 davon erhielten eine Produktions- oder Verleihförderung.

Der World Cinema Fund steht nicht nur für die Vielfalt der Cinematographien der WCF-Förderregionen, sondern auch für eine ideale Verbindung zwischen diesen und den Produzenten bzw. der Filmindustrie in Deutschland. Er hat sich innerhalb kurzer Zeit als kulturpolitisches Förderinstrument und Initiative für internationale filmwirtschaftliche Kontakte etabliert.

Der World Cinema Fund ist ein Initiativprojekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut.

Presseabteilung

15. Juni 2009