Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2010

International Jury

Werner Herzog

Werner Herzog (Germany)

As one of the most significant personalities of New German Cinema, Werner Herzog has influenced an entire generation of filmmakers. In his almost 50-year career, Herzog has made over 50 feature and documentary films, amongst them Aguirre: The Wrath of God (1972), Nosferatu The Vampyre (1979), Fitzcarraldo (1982, Silver Palm in Cannes for Best Director), Grizzly Man (2005) and Encounters at the End of the World (2007), for which he received an Oscar nomination. Werner Herzog has been honoured with numerous awards from major international film festivals; for his debut feature film Signs of Life he was awarded a Silver Bear for the best first film at the Berlinale 1968.

Francesca Comencini

Francesca Comencini (Italy)

The talented Italian director and writer Francesca Comencini was 23 when she made her first film Pianoforte which won her the Best First Feature award at the Venice Film Festival in 1985. She has been invited to the Cannes Film Festival with The Words of my Father and the documentary Carlo Giuliani, ragazzo (Carlo Giuliani, Boy). In 2004, she was awarded the Prize of the Ecumenical Jury in Berlin for I like to Work (Mobbing). Her latest work Lo spazio bianco (White Space) celebrated its world premiere in competition at the Venice Film Festival in 2009.

Nuruddin Farah (photo: © Anna Weise)

Nuruddin Farah (Somalia)

Nuruddin Farah is one of modern Africa’s most important writers. His first novel “From a Crooked Rib” (1970) already made him internationally famous. Farah’s works, which often depict the search for social and family identity, have been translated into more than 20 languages. In 1998 he was awarded the prestigious Neustadt International Prize for Literature. His latest novel “Knots”, published in 2007, is the second part of a trilogy about Farah’s home country, Somalia.

Cornelia Froboess

Cornelia Froboess (Germany)

After her rise to fame as a child singer, Cornelia Froboess became one of Germany’s most popular and versatile stage and screen actresses. She has received numerous prizes and awards in her career, including the Ernst Lubitsch Award for her role as Claire in the screen adaptation of Tucholsky’s Rheinsberg (1967). In 1982, she also starred in Rainer Werner Fassbinder’s Die Sehnsucht der Veronika Voss (Veronika Voss).

José Maria Morales

José Maria Morales (Spain)

Renowned Spanish producer José Maria Morales has made over 50 films with directors such as Arturo Ripstein, Costa Gavras and Goran Paskaljevic. In 2001, he presented Lucrecia Martel’s La ciénaga (The Swamp) in the Berlinale Competition. In 2004, this was followed by the powerful story of a family, El Abrazo Partido (Lost Embrace), by Argentinian director Daniel Burman, which won the Jury Grand Prix. Claudia Llosa’s moving drama La Teta Asustada (The Milk of Sorrow) won the Golden Bear in 2009.

Yu Nan (photo: © Terry Bae)

Yu Nan (People's Republic of China)

Actress Yu Nan, who is hailed in her homeland of China as an “arthouse queen”, has played many compelling female characters (Lunar Eclipse, The Story of Er Mei) and received many awards for her portrayal of them. For her role in Tuya de hun shi (Tuya’s Marriage), which won the Golden Bear at the Berlinale in 2007, she was awarded the prize for best actress at the Chicago International Film Festival. In 2008, she also starred in Speed Racer, a Hollywood action film made in Babelsberg.

Renée Zellweger

Renée Zellweger (USA)

The internationally renowned Oscar-winner Renée Zellweger, who was born in Texas, began her film career with such acclaimed projects as Jerry Maguire, A Price Above Rubies and Nurse Betty. She celebrated international success with audiences and critics alike playing the leading role in the romantic comedy Bridget Jones's Diary (2001) for which she received an Academy Award nomination for Lead Actress and the follow-up Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason (2004). Zellweger shone with her brilliant performance in the 2003 Berlinale opening film Chicago for which she also received an Academy Award nomination for Lead Actress and in the 2004 Competition entry Cold Mountain, which won her an Academy Award.

Best First Feature Award Jury

Michael Verhoeven

Michael Verhoeven (Germany)

Michael Verhoeven, one of the formative personalities in German film, presented his feature film debut The Dance of Death in 1967. In 1970 his anti-war film O.K. led to a scandal among the members of the Berlinale Competition jury. Verhoeven, who has his own production company, has made numerous highly regarded films about the German past including The White Rose (1982) and The Nasty Girl (1990).

Ben Foster

Ben Foster (USA)

Ben Foster is one of the most versatile young actors of his generation. He has played a troubled teenager (Bang Bang Your Dead, Six Feet Under), a comic hero (X-Men: The Last Stand), a volatile cowboy (3:10 to Yuma) and received the 2006 Young Hollywood Award for his role in Nick Cassavetes' Alpha Dog. He was a guest at the 2009 Berlinale Competition with his role in the drama The Messenger.

Lorna TEE

Lorna Tee (Malaysia)

The producer Lorna Tee is a well-known personality in the Asian film scene. In 2005 she managed the marketing and distribution at Focus Films Hong Kong. Today she is both general manager of the Hong Kong based Asian investment fund Irresistible Films and proprietor of her own film production company Paperheart (Malaysia). With Paperheart she produced Rain Dogs, At The End of Daybreak and My Daughter.

International Short Film Jury

Zita Carvalhosa

Zita Carvalhosa (Brazil)

Founder and director of the São Paulo International Short Film Festival, Zita Carvalhosa is also a successful producer. As managing director of the Brazilian company Superfilmes, she has brought many films to the screen, including the drama A Casa de Alice (Alice's House, Panorama 2007). In 2009 she organized and staged the Festival de Video Tela Digital, a short film competition for film, TV and new media. Zita Carvalhosa is also active as film curator and publisher.

Max Dax (© Photo: Andreas Labes)

Max Dax (Germany)

As chief editor of Spex, a German magazine for pop culture, Max Dax is an expert on youth and pop cultures. For several years he was chief editor of the interview magazine Alert and has also authored a number of books. His publications include a biography of Nick Cave and the story of the band Einstürzende Neubauten. Max Dax also produced the CD compilation “Il Canto di Malavita - La Musica della Mafia”.

Samm Haillay (United Kingdom)

Samm Haillay was born in Wiltshire in 1973. He was studying film when he met Duane Hopkins and discovered they shared an interest in cinematic grammar. Their debut feature film Better Things premiered at “Critics Week” in Cannes in 2008. As well as producing all of Duane’s film and gallery work, Samm produces a number of other talented directors as well as lectures at Teesside University. His short films have won over 40 international awards, including the 2009 Silver Bear for Jade, which he co-produced. He is currently developing Bypass by Duane Hopkins, Frontier by Daniel Elliott and is co-producing Self-Made by Gillian Wearing.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director. The Generation Kplus Children's Jury 2010: Antonia Appel, Johan Bauch, Jakob Götz, Sophia Greiwe, Klara Hirseland, Joshua Krüger, Jonas Mileta, Zoë Noack, Elsa Rother, Gwendolyn Yma June Weber, Iwan Zinkovski..

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director. The Generation 14plus Youth Jury 2010: Mara Erlenmaier, Lea Huber, David Köller, Imke Mayer, Lukas Monath, Lorenz Nolting, Lara Passfall.

Generation Kplus International Jury

The International Jury of the Generation Kplus competition awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2010 are: 21-year-old Iranian filmmaker Hana Makhmalbaf (Buda Az Sharm Foru Rikht; Crystal Bear 2008), Canadian director Philippe Falardeau (C’est pas moi, je le jure!; Crystal Bear and Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk Grand Prix for the best feature 2009), Australian children's film producer Kylie Du Fresne (The Djarn Djarns; Crystal Bear for Best Short Film 2005), the director of the German Children's Media Festival GOLDENER SPATZ Margret Albers, and Irish script author and producer Rowan O'Neill (The Race).

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2010

Internationale Jury

Werner Herzog

Werner Herzog (Deutschland)

Werner Herzog prägte als eine der einflussreichsten Persönlichkeiten des Neuen Deutschen Films eine ganze Ära von Filmschaffenden. In seiner knapp 50jährigen Filmkarriere schuf er über 50 Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme, darunter Aguirre, der Zorn Gottes (1972), Nosferatu – Phantom der Nacht (1979), Fitzcarraldo (1982, Silberne Palme in Cannes für die beste Regie), Grizzly Man (2005) und Encounters at the End of the World (2007), für den er 2009 eine Oscar-Nominierung erhielt. Herzog wurde mit zahlreichen Auszeichnungen großer internationaler Filmfestivals geehrt, unter anderem erhielt er für sein Spielfilmdebüt Lebenszeichen den Silbernen Bären für den Besten Erstlingsfilm auf der Berlinale 1968.

Francesca Comencini

Francesca Comencini (Italien)

Die talentierte italienische Regisseurin und Autorin Francesca Comencini drehte mit 23 Jahren ihren ersten Spielfilm Pianoforte, für den sie in Venedig den Nachwuchspreis gewann. In Cannes war sie mit The Words of my Father sowie dem Dokumentarfilm Carlo Giuliani, ragazzo vertreten. In Berlin erhielt sie 2004 für I like to Work (Mobbing) den Preis der Ökumenischen Jury. Ihr jüngstes Werk Lo spazio bianco lief 2009 im Wettbewerb in Venedig.

Nuruddin Farah (photo: © Anna Weise)

Nuruddin Farah (Somalia)

Der Schriftsteller Nuruddin Farah gehört zu den bedeutendsten Autoren des modernen Afrika. Bereits sein erster Roman „Aus einer gekrümmten Rippe“ (1970) machte ihn international bekannt. Farahs Werke, die häufig die Suche nach sozialer und familiärer Identität schildern, wurden in über 20 Sprachen übersetzt. Zuletzt erschien 2007 der Roman „Netze“, zweiter Teil einer Trilogie über Farahs Heimat Somalia.

Cornelia Froboess

Cornelia Froboess (Deutschland)

Nach ihrem frühen Ruhm als deutscher Kinderstar wurde Cornelia Froboess zu einer beliebten und äußerst vielseitigen Film- und Theaterschauspielerin. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Ehrungen, darunter den Ernst-Lubitsch-Preis für ihre Rolle als Claire in der Tucholsky-Verfilmung Rheinsberg (1967). Unter der Regie von Rainer Werner Fassbinder war sie 1982 in Die Sehnsucht der Veronika Voss zu sehen.

José Maria Morales

José Maria Morales (Spanien)

Der renommierte spanische Produzent José Maria Morales zeichnet für über 50 Filme von Regisseuren wie Arturo Ripstein, Costa Gavras oder Goran Paskaljevic verantwortlich. Im Berlinale Wettbewerb präsentierte er 2001 La ciénaga (Der Morast) von Lucrecia Martel. 2004 folgte die kraftvolle Familiengeschichte El Abrazo Partido des argentinischen Regisseurs Daniel Burman, der den Großen Preis der Jury erhielt. Das bewegende Spielfilmdrama La Teta Asustada (Eine Perle Ewigkeit) von Claudia Llosa gewann 2009 den Goldenen Bären.

Yu Nan (photo: © Terry Bae)

Yu Nan (Volksrepublik China)

Die Schauspielerin Yu Nan, in ihrer Heimat China als „Königin des Arthouse-Films“ bekannt, hat eine Reihe eindrucksvoller Frauengestalten gespielt (Lunar Eclipse, The Story of Er Mei) und dafür zahlreiche Darsteller-Preise erhalten. Für ihre Rolle in Tuyas Hochzeit (Goldener Bär der Berlinale 2007) erhielt sie unter anderem die Auszeichnung als beste Schauspielerin beim Chicago International Film Festival. In Hollywood und Babelsberg stand sie 2008 für den Action-Film Speed Racer vor der Kamera.

Renée Zellweger

Renée Zellweger (USA)

Die Kinokarriere der international bekannten Oscar-Preisträgerin Renée Zellweger begann u.a. mit Jerry Maguire – Spiel des Lebens, Teurer als Rubine oder Nurse Betty – Gefährliche Träume. Als Titelheldin der Liebeskomödien Bridget Jones – Schokolade zum Frühstück (2001; Oscarnominierung als Beste Hauptdarstellerin) und der Fortsetzung Bridget Jones – am Rande des Wahnsinns feierte die gebürtige Texanerin einen internationalen Publikums- und Kritikererfolg. Auf der Berlinale brillierte Zellweger 2003 in dem Eröffnungsfilm Chicago, für den sie ebenfalls eine Oscarnominierung als Beste Hauptdarstellerin erhielt, sowie 2004 in dem Wettbewerbsbeitrag Unterwegs nach Cold Mountain, der ihr einen Oscar einbrachte.

Jury Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Michael Verhoeven

Michael Verhoeven (Deutschland)

Michael Verhoeven, eine der prägenden Persönlichkeiten des deutschen Films, präsentierte 1967 sein Spielfilmdebüt Paarungen. Sein Antikriegsfilm O.K. führte 1970 zu einem Eklat unter den Berlinale-Wettbewerbsjuroren. Verhoeven, der seine eigene Produktionsfirma unterhält, hat eine Reihe viel beachteter Filme zur deutschen Vergangenheit gedreht, darunter Die Weiße Rose (1982) und Das schreckliche Mädchen (1990).

Ben Foster

Ben Foster (USA)

Ben Foster gehört zu den viel versprechendsten jungen Darstellern in Hollywood. Er spielte verstörte Teenager (Bang, bang, du bist tot, Six Feet Under), Comic-Helden (X-Men – Der letzte Widerstand) und launische Cowboys (Todeszug nach Yuma), und erhielt 2006 für seine Rolle in Nick Cassavetes' Alpha Dog den Young Hollywood Award. 2009 war er mit dem Drama The Messenger zu Gast im Berlinale Wettbewerb.

Lorna TEE

Lorna Tee (Malaysia)

Die Produzentin Lorna Tee ist eine bekannte Größe in der asiatischen Filmszene. 2005 übernahm sie bei Focus Films Hongkong Marketing und Vertrieb. Heute ist sie sowohl Geschäftsführerin des asiatischen Filmfonds Irresistible Films in Hongkong als auch Besitzerin ihrer eigenen Filmproduktion Paperheart (Malaysia). Mit Paperheart produzierte sie Rain Dogs, At The End of Daybreak und My Daughter.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Zita Carvalhosa

Zita Carvalhosa (Brasilien)

Die Gründerin und Leiterin des São Paulo International Short Film Festivals ist auch als Produzentin erfolgreich. Die Geschäftsführerin der brasilianischen Superfilmes brachte unter anderem das Drama A Casa de Alice (Alice's House, Panorama 2007) in die Kinos. 2009 produzierte und inszenierte sie das Tela Digital Video Festival, einen Kurzfilmwettbewerb für Film, TV und neue Medien. Zita Carvalhosa ist auch als Filmkuratorin und Herausgeberin tätig.

Max Dax (© Photo: Andreas Labes)

Max Dax (Deutschland)

Als Chefredakteur des Popkulturmagazins Spex ist Max Dax ein Kenner der Jugend- und Popkulturen. Er war mehrere Jahre lang Chefredakteur der Interview-Zeitschrift „Alert“ und ist Autor mehrerer Bücher. Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen zählen eine Biographie über Nick Cave und eine Geschichte der Band Einstürzende Neubauten. Max Dax hat außerdem die CD-Compilation „Il Canto di Malavita - La Musica della Mafia“ produziert.

Samm Haillay (Großbritannien)

Samm Haillay wurde 1973 in Wiltshire geboren. Während seines Filmstudiums traf er Duane Hopkins, mit dem er ein Interesse an filmischer Grammatik teilt. Ihr Debütfilm Better Things feierte 2008 bei der „Critics Week“ in Cannes Premiere. Neben seiner Produzententätigkeit für Hopkins produzierte er auch zahlreiche junge Talente und unterrichtete an der Teesside University. Seine Kurzfilme haben über 40 Preise gewonnen; 2009 gewann der von ihm koproduzierte Jade einen Silbernen Bären. Zur Zeit arbeitet er an Bypass von Duane Hopkins und Frontier von Daniel Elliott, und koproduziert Self-Made von Gillian Wearing.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen. Die Generation Kplus Kinderjury 2010: Antonia Appel, Johan Bauch, Jakob Götz, Sophia Greiwe, Klara Hirseland, Joshua Krüger, Jonas Mileta, Zoë Noack, Elsa Rother, Gwendolyn Yma June Weber, Iwan Zinkovski.

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen. Die Generation 14plus Jugendjury 2010: Mara Erlenmaier, Lea Huber, David Köller, Imke Mayer, Lukas Monath, Lorenz Nolting, Lara Passfall.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Die Internationale Jury des Wettbewerbs Generation Kplus vergibt den mit 7.500 Euro dotierten "Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" an den besten Spielfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte "Spezialpreis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" geht an den besten Kurzfilm.

In die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury 2010 berufen wurden die 21-jährige iranische Filmemacherin Hana Makhmalbaf (Buda Az Sharm Foru Rikht; Gläserner Bär 2008), der kanadische Regisseur Philippe Falardeau (C’est pas moi, je le jure!; Gläserner Bär und Großer Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes 2009), die australische Kinderfilmproduzentin Kylie Du Fresne (The Djarn Djarns; Gläserner Bär für den besten Kurzfilm 2005), die Leiterin des Deutschen Kinder-Medien-Festivals GOLDENER SPATZ Margret Albers sowie der irisch-stämmige Drehbuchautor und Produzent Rowan O’Neill (The Race).