Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Zona Sur

Southern District

## ## ##
Unlike many other cities where the mansions of the wealthy are to be found in the hills, the well-heeled citizens of La Paz live down in the city’s southern district. Here life goes on in large houses surrounded by stunning parks, undisturbed by noise, polluted air or commotion. It’s a dream world, one immense island of comfort, where two different spheres and perceptions of reality coexist side by side. On the one hand there’s Carola, the mother of Patricio, Bernada and Andrés who are rich and speak Spanish. On the other there is the staff of the house, Wilson and Marcelina, who speak Aymara, the indigenous language of the Bolivian proletariat.
The drama unfolds imperceptibly, without narrative sophistry and hidden twists. The story follows the family’s daily monotony until certain events put an end to their life of plenty. The film concentrates on the last days of an upper class family at a time when the country is gripped by colossal social upheaval.
Juan Carlos Valdivia: “My intention with this script was to move away from Aristotelian structure, i.e. a three-act script dominated by plot. ZONA SUR tells the story of its characters and the events that make up the inertia that leads naturally to the conclusion. I tried to tell an honest story, while taking a step away from easy discourses. This is what I call a Frankenstein family, made up of fragments of personal experiences and of people close to me. Although it is not an autobiography, it is personal.”

Bolivia 2009, 109 min

by

Juan Carlos Valdivia

with

Ninon Del Castillo
Pascual Loayza
Nicolas Fernandez
Juan Pablo Koria
Mariana Vargas

World Sales

Shoreline Entertainment

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Zona Sur

Southern District

## ## ##
Im Unterschied zu vielen anderen Städten, in denen die Villen der Reichen in den Bergen zu finden sind, leben die wohlhabenden Bürger von La Paz unten, im südlichen Bezirk der Hauptstadt. Dort verläuft das Leben ungestört von Lärm, schlechter Luft und Hektik in großen Häusern, die von wunderschönen Parks umgeben sind. Es ist eine Traumwelt, eine riesige Komfortinsel, wo ganz unterschiedliche Sphären und Realitätswahrnehmungen nebeneinander bestehen. Zum einen leben hier Carola, die Mutter von Patricio, Bernarda und Andrés, die reich sind und spanisch sprechen, zum anderen die Hausangestellten Wilson und Marcelina, die Aymara sprechen, die indigene Sprache des bolivianischen Proletariats.
Das Drama vollzieht sich unmerklich, ohne erzähltechnische Spitzfindigkeiten und versteckte Wendepunkte. Die Handlung folgt dem täglichen Einerlei der Familie, bis gewisse Ereignisse dem satten Leben ein Ende bereiten. Der Film konzentriert sich auf die Schilderung der letzten Tage einer Familie der Oberschicht zu einem Zeitpunkt, in dem das Land von tiefgreifenden sozialen Umwälzungen erfasst wird.
Juan Carlos Valdivia: „Meine Idee war es, mich vom aristotelischen Dreiakter zu lösen. ZONA SUR erzählt die Geschichte seiner Protagonisten und der Ereignisse, die eine Trägheit ergeben, die dem Ende normalerweise vorangeht. Ich habe versucht, eine ehrliche Geschichte zu erzählen und simple Diskurse zu meiden. So entstand etwas, das ich eine Frankenstein-Familie nenne, hergestellt aus Bruchstücken eigener Erfahrungen und jener von Menschen aus meiner Umgebung, kein autobiografischer Film, sondern ein persönlicher.“

Bolivien 2009, 109 Min

von

Juan Carlos Valdivia

mit

Ninon Del Castillo
Pascual Loayza
Nicolas Fernandez
Juan Pablo Koria
Mariana Vargas

Weltvertrieb

Shoreline Entertainment