Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Awards

Feb 14, 2009:
Perspektive Deutsches Kino: Gitti by Anna Deutsch wins „Dialogue en perspective“

A young German-French jury from TV5MONDE and the German-French Youth Office (GFYO) awarded today the independent prize for the sixth time at the 59th Berlin International Film Festival. This year, the film Gitti from Anna Deutsch received the prize. The „Dialogue en perspective“ was initiated in 2004 by the international francophone television channel TV5MONDE and the Berlinale, and is awarded in cooperation with the GFYO to a film from the section Perspektive Deutsches Kino.

The young jury of three German and four French film lovers aged between 18 and 29 selected which film will win the „Dialogue en perspective“. Lead by jury president and filmmaker Matthias Luthardt, the jury members watched the twelve films presented in the Berlinale-section Perspektive Deutsches Kino and discussed with passion which film impressed them the most and deserved the „Dialogue en perspective“.

The jury justifies their decision to award the prize to Gitti as follows:

„The jury awards the filmmaker Anna Deutsch for her film Gitti because she succeeds in drawing a very personal and at the same time humorous portrait of her main protagonist with simple means. Gitti is a documentary which is never voyeuristic. Thanks to its precise narrative form the viewers attention is drawn to the main characters from the beginning to the end.

A Special Mention goes to the film Polar from Michael Koch.

„The fragility expressed in Polar makes the film remarkable. Polar is a gentle and subtle film with casually narrated poetic moments with lasting effects. The film attests to a promising film directing talent“.

Some films of this year’s Perspektive Deutsches Kino - selection attracted the jury’s attention through very convincing acting performances. The jury especially congratulates two actors: Franziska Petri for her role of the teacher Karen in Für Miriam by Lars-Gunnar Lotz - her sensitive acting deeply moved the jury; and Jacob Matschenz, who plays the young Russian Dima in Fliegen from Piotr J. Lewandowski with a strong acting presence.

With the „Dialogue en perspective“ award, TV5MONDE and the GFYO above all want to encourage the young German-French exchange and the intercultural dialogue about German film and raise public interest in the new German productions.

The winning film will be presented on the Festival of the German Film in Paris in autumn 2009. Furthermore, TV5MONDE will finance the French subtitles of Gitti and promote the film through advertising in case of a release in Germany.

Synopsis winning film:

Fem. 69, dress size 14, un-granny-like, blonde, seeks male of similar age, non-smoking, non-drinking, at least 5'10", car-owner welcome. Gitti lives in the Berlin district of Pankow. She’s single but she knows exactly what she wants – particularly when it comes to men. Since she’s not had much luck in that department so far she decides to put an ad in the personals in order to find Mr Right. She receives quite a few responses – but then again, she also has quite a few criteria.



Press Office
February 14, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Preise und Ehrungen

14.02.2009:
Perspektive Deutsches Kino: Gitti von Anna Deutsch mit „Dialogue en perspective“ ausgezeichnet

Heute wurde auf der 59. Berlinale im Rahmen der Preisverleihung der unabhängigen Jurypreise zum sechsten Mal der Jurypreis „Dialogue en perspective“ von einer jungen deutsch-französischen Jury vergeben. In diesem Jahr ging der Preis an den Film Gitti von Anna Deutsch. Der Preis wurde 2004 vom internationalen frankophonen Fernsehsender TV5MONDE gemeinsam mit den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin initiiert und wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutsch-Französischen Jugendwerk (DFJW) an einen Film aus der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino verliehen.

Die junge Jury bestehend aus drei deutschen und vier französischen Cineasten zwischen 18 und 29 Jahren entschied über die Vergabe des „Dialogue en perspective“. Unter der Führung des Jurypräsidenten und Regisseurs Matthias Luthardt sahen die Jurymitglieder die zwölf Beiträge der Berlinale-Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino und diskutierten anschließend leidenschaftlich darüber, welches filmische Werk sie am meisten beeindruckt hat und somit den „Dialogue en perspective“ verdient.

Warum Gitti schließlich gekürt wurde, begründet die Jury wie folgt:

„Die Jury entscheidet sich für Gitti, weil der Regisseurin Anna Deutsch mit bescheidenen Mitteln ein sehr persönliches und dabei humorvolles Portrait von ihrer Protagonistin gelungen ist. Ein Dokumentarfilm, der in seiner präzisen Formsprache nie voyeuristisch wirkt, und dem Zuschauer von der ersten bis zur letzten Minuten in den Bann seiner Hauptfigur zieht.

Eine lobende Erwähnung geht an Polar von Michael Koch:

Polar fällt durch eine besondere Fragilität auf. Es ist ein leiser, feiner Film, mit beiläufig erzählten und nachhaltigen poetischen Momenten. Der Film zeugt von einem vielversprechenden Regietalent.“

Der Jury fiel auf, dass es in den diesjährigen inszenierten Filmen der Perspektive Deutsches Kino einige sehr überzeugende schauspielerische Leistungen gab. Zwei Darsteller sollen besonders hervor gehoben werden: Franziska Petri in Für Miriam von Lars-Gunnar Lotz, die mit ihrer sensiblen Darstellung der Lehrerin Karen die Jury tief bewegte sowie Jacob Matschenz, der in Fliegen von Piotr J. Lewandowski durch seine Darstellung des jungen Russen Dima eine besonders kraftvolle schauspielerische Präsenz zeigt.

Für TV5MONDE und das DFJW ist das Ziel der Vergabe des „Dialogue en perspective“-Jurypreises den jungen deutsch-französischen Austausch und den interkulturellen Dialog über Film und insbesondere junge deutsche Produktionen zu fördern.

Der Preisträgerfilm wird im Herbst 2009 beim Festival des deutschen Films in Paris vorgestellt. Ferner wird TV5MONDE die französische Untertitelung von Gitti übernehmen und einen möglichen deutschen Kinostart des Filmes durch Werbung unterstützen.

Synopsis Gewinnerfilm:

Sie, 69 J., 40er Figur, kein Omatyp, blond, sucht Ihn, Nichtraucher/Nichttrinker, passenden Alters, ab 1,70 m, gern mit PKW. Gitti aus Berlin-Pankow ist Single und weiß, was sie will. Und erst recht, wenn es um Männer geht. Aber weil sie mit denen bisher kein großes Glück hatte, ist sie per Kontaktanzeige auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Partner. Es gibt einige Interessenten aber auch zahlreiche Auswahlkriterien.



Presseabteilung
14. Februar 2009