Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Awards

Feb 09, 2009:
Berlinale Camera for Manoel de Oliveira

Since 1986, the Berlin International Film Festival has presented the Berlinale Camera to film personalities or institutions to which it feels particularly indebted and wishes to express its thanks with this award.

As announced previously, Berlinale Cameras are being awarded to French director Claude Chabrol, and German film and television producer Günter Rohrbach (at the Friedrichstadtpalast at 9 pm on Feb. 9). As the Festival would now like to make known, it will also be honouring Portuguese director Manoel de Oliveira with a Berlinale Camera this year.

Centenarian Manoel de Oliveira is the oldest active director in the history of film and has been lauded by critics around the globe for films like O Passado e o Presente (Past and Present, 1972) or O Convento (The Convent, 1995). In 1931 he presented his directorial debut, the silent film Douro, Faina Fluvial (Working on the Douro River). Since 1972 he has made a number of auteur films with star-studded casts, for example, with Marcello Mastroianni, Catherine Deneuve, and Michel Piccoli. Oliveira has screened at many European film festivals and won countless awards. He has been a guest of the Berlinale’s Forum five times – most recently in 1995 with O dia do desespero (The Day of Despair) and A caixa (Blind Man's Bluff).

To mark the world premiere of his latest work, Singularidades de uma rapariga loura (Eccentricities of a Blond Hair Girl), Manoel de Oliveira has been invited to this year’s Berlinale Special. The Berlin International Film Festival is honouring this master of auteur cinema with the Berlinale Camera for his lifetime achievements. Before the world premiere of his most recent film at the Cinema Paris in the Institut Français at 9:45 pm, on February 10, 2009, Manoel de Oliveira will present himself to the audience with his award which he received earlier.

Since 2004, Düsseldorf goldsmith and artist Georg Hornemann has donated the award, which was redesigned for the Berlinale in 2008. With its 128 components, the Berlinale Camera is modelled on a real camera. Many of its silver and titanium parts, from swivel head to tripod, are movable and crafted with the artistic expertise of a goldsmith.

Press Office

February 9, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Preise und Ehrungen

09.02.2009:
Berlinale Kamera für Manoel de Oliveira

Mit der Berlinale Kamera zeichnen die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin seit 1986 Filmpersönlichkeiten oder Institutionen aus, denen sie sich besonders verbunden fühlen und denen sie mit dieser Ehrung ihren Dank ausdrücken möchten.

Neben den bereits gemeldeten Berlinale Kameras für den französischen Regisseur Claude Chabrol und den deutschen Film- und Fernsehproduzent Günter Rohrbach (Verleihung am 9.2. um 21 Uhr im Friedrichstadtpalast), ehrt die Berlinale in diesem Jahr auch den portugiesischen Regisseur Manoel de Oliveira mit einer Berlinale Kamera.

Der 100-jährige Manoel de Oliveira ist der älteste aktive Regisseur der Filmgeschichte und feierte Kritikererfolge mit Filmen wie O Passado e o Presente (Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, 1972) oder O Convento (Das Kloster, 1995). Sein Filmdebüt präsentierte er 1931 mit dem Stummfilm Douro, Faina Fluvial (Working on the Douro River), ab 1972 drehte er zahlreiche prominent besetzte Autorenfilme, u.a. mit Marcello Mastroianni, Catherine Deneuve und Michel Piccoli. Oliveira stellte seine Werke auf vielen europäischen Filmfestivals vor und wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Auf der Berlinale war er fünf Mal zu Gast im Forum, zuletzt 1995 mit O dia do desespero (Der Tag der Verzweiflung) und A caixa (Blind Man's Bluff).

Anlässlich der Weltpremiere seines jüngsten Werks Singularidades de uma rapariga loura (Eigenheiten einer jungen Blondine) ist Manoel de Oliveira im diesjährigen Berlinale Special zu Gast. Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin ehren den Meister des Autorenkinos für sein beeindruckendes Lebenswerk mit der Berlinale Kamera. Manoel de Oliveira wird die Berlinale Kamera bei der Weltpremiere seines neuesten Films am 10. Februar 2009 um 21.45 Uhr im Cinema Paris im Institut Francais präsentieren, sie wird ihm bereits vorher überreicht.

Die Auszeichnung wird seit 2004 von dem Düsseldorfer Goldschmiedekünstler Georg Hornemann gestiftet. Seit der Berlinale 2008 hat die Trophäe ein neues Design. Die Berlinale Kamera besteht aus 128 Einzelteilen und ist einer realen Kamera nachempfunden. Viele der Silber- und Titanteile vom Schwenkkopf bis zum Stativ sind beweglich und goldschmiedekunstfertig zusammengefügt.

Presseabteilung

9. Februar 2009