Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Berlinale Talent Campus

Feb 09, 2009:
Opening of the Berlinale Talent Campus & Award Ceremony for the Berlin Today Award

Supriyo Sen, winner of the Berlin Today Award 2009

Wagah by Supriyo Sen from India wins the Berlin Today Award 2009

Special Mention goes to My Super Sea Wall by Gina Abatemarco from the USA

On Saturday evening (7.2.) Festival Director Dieter Kosslick and Campus Programme Manager Matthijs Wouter Knol opened the 2009 edition of the Berlinale Talent Campus before approx. 600 invited guests at the Theater Hebbel am Ufer, HAU 1. 350 Talents from 106 countries will converge at the Hebbel am Ufer until 12.2. to exchange with international experts and network amongst themselves. Directors and screenwriters Sir David Hare (The Reader) and Daniela Thomas (O Primeiro Dia) as well as composer Max Richter, mentor of the Volkswagen Score Competition, welcomed this year’s participants, partners and guests. The evening culminated in the world premiere of five short films nominated for the Berlin Today Award 2009. The short films dealt with the theme “My Wall” and were realised with support from Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg and the Federal Foreign Office.

“And the Berlin Today Award 2009 goes to…”

During the “Dine & Shine Talents Rendezvous with Berlinale Guests” event on Sunday evening (8.2.), the patron of the competition, Festival Director Dieter Kosslick together with the jury members Wim Wenders, Andreas Dresen und Emily Atef as well as CEO of Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg Kirsten Niehuus, handed the Berlin Today Award 2009 to this year’s winner. Andreas Görgen from the office of the Federal Foreign Minister welcomed the about 450 guests with a short speech. The sixth Berlin Today Award went to Supriyo Sen from India for his short film Wagah, the story of an extraordinary event that takes place at the only border crossing between India and Pakistan: Every evening thousands of cheering spectators gather to witness a patriotic parade for the ritual closing of the border (produced by DETAiLFILM). Wim Wenders, reading from the jury’s statement, concluded that the film is “a convincing manifesto against any wall that divides people.” The documentary My Super Sea Wall, which shows the struggle for survival of 375 inhabitants on the Alaskan island Kivalina, received honorable mention (produced by Anna Wendt Filmproduktion). Director Gina Abatemarco manages “to tell a universal story in a nutshell, and very movingly so,” said jury member Emily Atef. There will be a screening of the Berlin Today Award short films for the general public on “Berlinale Kinotag”, Sunday, February 15, in CinemaxX 6 at 4pm.

While the five short films head on their world tour – with screenings planned by the Goethe-Institut and Deutsche Welle as a broadcasting partner – the next round of the Berlin Today Award 2010 has already been launched. The competition seeks the five best short film ideas from Campus-participants on the theme “Straight to Cinema”. The five finalists will be announced at the end of the Berlinale 2009. They will realise their films in cooperation with production companies from the Berlin-Brandenburg region.

Press Office

February 9, 2009

press@berlinale-talentcampus.de

The Berlinale Talent Campus is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media upon a decision of the German Bundestag, in co-operation with MEDIA - Training programme of the European Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset and UK Film Council as well as Volkswagen.

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Berlinale Talent Campus

09.02.2009:
Eröffnung des Berlinale Talent Campus & Preisverleihung des Berlin Today Award

Supriyo Sen, Gewinner des Berlin Today Award 2009

Wagah von Supriyo Sen aus Indien gewinnt den Berlin Today Award 2009

Special Mention für My Super Sea Wall von Gina Abatemarco aus den USA

Am Samstagabend (7.2.) eröffneten Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick und Matthijs Wouter Knol, Programmleiter des Campus, vor ca. 600 geladenen Gästen im Theater Hebbel am Ufer, HAU 1, den Berlinale Talent Campus 2009. Bis zum 12.2. werden 350 Talente aus 106 Ländern im Hebbel am Ufer Gelegenheit zum Austausch mit internationalen Experten und zum Networking untereinander haben. Neben Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Sir David Hare (Der Vorleser) sowie Regisseurin und Drehbuchautorin Daniela Thomas (O Primeiro Dia) begrüßte der Komponist und Mentor der Volkswagen Score Competition, Max Richter, die diesjährigen Teilnehmer, Partner und Gäste. Höhepunkt des Abends war die Weltpremiere der fünf für den Berlin Today Award 2009 nominierten Kurzfilme zum Thema „My Wall“, die mit Unterstützung des Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg und des Auswärtigen Amtes realisiert wurden.

„And the Berlin Today Award 2009 goes to…”

Am Sonntagabend (8.2.) wurde der Berlin Today Award 2009 im Rahmen des „Dine & Shine Talents Rendezvous with Berlinale Guests“ von Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick, den Jurymitgliedern Wim Wenders, Andreas Dresen und Emily Atef sowie Kirsten Niehuus, Geschäftsführerin Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg verliehen. Andreas Görgen aus dem Büro des Bundesaußenministers begrüßte die rund 450 Gäste mit einer kurzen Rede. Der sechste Berlin Today Award geht an Supriyo Sen aus Indien für seinen Kurzfilm Wagah, der von einem außergewöhnlichen Ereignis am einzigen Grenzübergang Indiens zu Pakistan erzählt: Jeden Abend versammeln sich tausende jubelnde Zuschauer, um die patriotische Parade einer rituellen Grenzschließung zu feiern (Produktion: DETAiLFILM). Wim Wenders verlas die Jurybegründung, die mit dem Fazit endete: „ein überzeugendes Manifest gegen jede Mauer, die Menschen voneinander trennt“. Eine lobende Erwähnung erhielt die Dokumentation My Super Sea Wall über den Überlebenskampf der 375 Einwohner der alaskischen Insel Kivalina (Produktion: Anna Wendt Filmproduktion). Regisseurin Gina Abatemarco habe es geschafft „in aller Kürze eine universale und sehr bewegende Geschichte zu erzählen“, so Laudatorin Emily Atef. Am Berlinale Kinotag, So, 15.2., findet im CinemaxX 6 um 16.00 Uhr ein öffentliches Screening der Berlin Today Award-Kurzfilme statt.

Während die fünf Kurzfilme nun ihre Reise um die Welt antreten – geplant ist eine Auswertung durch die Goethe-Institute sowie eine Ausstrahlung durch die Deutsche Welle - ist die neue Runde für den Berlin Today Award 2010 bereits eingeläutet. Gesucht sind die besten Kurzfilmideen von Campus-Talenten zum Thema „Straight to Cinema“. Die fünf Finalisten, die ihre Kurzfilme gemeinsam mit Produktionsfirmen aus Berlin-Brandenburg realisieren, werden im Anschluss an die Berlinale 2009 bekannt gegeben.

Presseabteilung

9. Februar 2009

press@berlinale-talentcampus.de

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, gefördert vom Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages, in Kooperation mit MEDIA - Trainingsprogramm der Europäischen Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset und UK Film Council sowie Volkswagen.