Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Additional Information

Feb 01, 2009:
Hannah Herzsprung on the Jury for Best First Feature

The talented German Hannah Herzsprung will be a member of this year’s Best First Feature Jury.

“I’m very pleased that Hannah Herzsprung will be coming to the Berlinale not only to present her films, but also to join the Jury in its quest for the Best First Feature”, says Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

At this year’s Berlinale, Hannah Herzsprung can be seen in three films: Stephen Daldry’s The Reader in the Competition, Rudolph Thome’s Pink in the Berlinale Special, and Nicolai Rohde’s 10 Sekunden (10 Seconds) in German Cinema.

Born in Hamburg in 1981, Hannah Herzsprung has received much acclaim from both critics and audiences for her powerful performances – e.g., as prison inmate and talented pianist in the award-winning drama Vier Minuten (Four Minutes) by Chris Krauss; or as Florina, the rebellious girl next door, in Das wahre Leben (Life Actually) by Alain Gsponer. She won the Bavarian Film Award as Best Young Actress for her role in Vier Minuten in 2006. This was followed in 2007 by the German Film Award as Best Supporting Actress for her performance in Das wahre Leben. She starred in Uli Edel’s Baader Meinhof Komplex (The Baader Meinhof Complex) in 2008. Hannah Herzsprung’s next projects include roles in Alain Gsponer’s screen adaptation of Martin Suter’s novel Lila, Lila and Margarethe von Trotta’s film Vision - Hildegard von Bingen.

The three-person Best First Feature Jury selects the best directorial debut from the following sections: Competition, Panorama, Generation Kplus and 14plus, as well as Forum. The award is endowed with 50,000 euros, donated by the GWWF (Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrechten), an association dedicated to safeguarding film and television rights. Diablo Cody, who was initially to be a member of the Best First Feature Jury, cannot participate on the Berlinale jury due to last-minute changes in her schedule. The other members of this year’s jury are producer In-Ah Lee (Germany) and Iranian director Rafi Pitts.

Press Office

February 1, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Zusätzliches

01.02.2009:
Hannah Herzsprung in der Jury für den Besten Erstlingsfilm

Das deutsche Schauspieltalent Hannah Herzsprung wird Mitglied der Jury für den Besten Erstlingsfilm.

„Ich freue mich sehr, dass Hannah Herzsprung nicht nur mit Filmen bei der Berlinale präsent ist, sondern sich auch in unserer Jury für den Nachwuchsfilm engagiert“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Bei der diesjährigen Berlinale ist sie mit drei Filmen vertreten - mit Stephen Daldrys Der Vorleser im Wettbewerb, Rudolph Thomes Pink im Berlinale Special und Nicolai Rohdes 10 Sekunden beim German Cinema.

Die 1981 geborene Hamburgerin Hannah Herzsprung überzeugt mit intensiven Darstellungen Kritiker und Zuschauer zugleich - unter anderem als klavierbegabte Gefängnisinsassin in Chris Krauss‘ vielfach preisgekröntem Drama Vier Minuten oder als kesse Nachbarsfreundin Florina in Alain Gsponers Das wahre Leben. 2006 wurde sie für ihre Rolle in Vier Minuten mit dem Bayerischen Filmpreis als „Beste Nachwuchsschauspielerin“ ausgezeichnet. 2007 folgte der Deutsche Filmpreis als „Beste Nebendarstellerin“ in Das wahre Leben. In Uli Edels Baader Meinhof Komplex war sie 2008 zu sehen. Weitere Projekte der Schauspielerin sind Martin Suters Romanverfilmung Lila, Lila sowie Margarethe von Trottas Vision - Hildegard von Bingen.

Die dreiköpfige Jury für den Besten Erstlingsfilm vergibt den mit 50.000 Euro dotierten und von der Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrechten (GWFF) gestifteten Preis für den Besten Erstlingsfilm an ein Spielfilmdebüt aus den Sektionen Wettbewerb, Panorama, Generation Kplus und 14plus und Forum. Diablo Cody, die ursprünglich Mitglied der Jury für den Besten Erstlingsfilm war, kann aufgrund kurzfristiger Terminverschiebungen nicht an der Berlinale-Jury teilnehmen. Weitere Jurymitglieder sind die Produzentin In-Ah Lee (Deutschland) und der iranische Regisseur Rafi Pitts.

Presseabteilung

1. Februar 2009