Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Additional Information

Jan 22, 2009:
Berlinale 2009: Reliable Partners Also in Times of Crisis

“It would not be possible to realize a great event like the Berlinale without the unfailing support of the Federal Minister of Cultural Affairs and contributions from our sponsors. Despite the grim economic situation, we are pleased that our main partners, L’ORÉAL PARiS, Volkswagen, and ZDF/3sat have remained loyal to us. Moreover, our co-partners HUGO BOSS and VANITY FAIR are still members of the Berlinale family. We are particularly delighted to welcome our new co-partner TESiRO, an international jewelry company, on board,” says Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick.

L’ORÉAL PARiS

In the longstanding partnership between the Berlinale and L’ORÉAL PARiS, dream worlds meet: the worlds of film and beauty. This year’s L’ORÉAL PARiS ambassadors include icons of cinema and culture, such as Penélope Cruz, Pierce Brosnan, Jane Fonda, Milla Jovovich, Andie MacDowell, and Aishwarya Rai, who stars in the film Pink Panther II that is having its international premiere at the Berlinale.

With a campaign developed specifically for the Berlinale, L’ORÉAL PARiS is demonstrating its passionate commitment to the Berlin International Film Festival. With the aid of these ambassadors, promotion of this umbrella brand for the Berlinale 2009 began in January and will continue on through March.

A team of Berlinale L’ORÉAL PARiS make-up artists will again style the stars for the red carpet. Due to its great success last year, L’ORÉAL PARiS will again install a make-up studio at Potsdamer Platz this year. Here professionals will apply make-up to Berlinale visitors, giving them this year’s Berlinale look created by L’ORÉAL PARiS. At the opening gala and the awards ceremony, hostesses will again present guests with coveted L’ORÉAL PARiS gift bags.

Volkswagen

Once again Volkswagen will provide Phaeton limousines for the stars’ glamorous arrival at this year’s gala premieres. For the seventh time, Volkswagen is supplying the Festival with an entire fleet of cars. In all, over 80 vehicles will be under way, including Phaetons, Passat BlueMotions, Caravelles, and Tiguans.

Content-wise, Volkswagen will continue to be engaged in the Berlinale Talent Campus. For the sixth time the car manufacturer is putting on the Volkswagen Score Competition. Volkswagen is also supporting the European Shooting Stars again.

At the heart of the Berlinale Press Centre in the Grand Hyatt Berlin, the Volkswagen Golden Bear Lounge will be an important meeting place also this year for the stars and the industry.

ZDF/3sat

As the Festival’s main media partner for the fifth year, ZDF/3sat will stage all the shows at the Berlinale Palast. It will also be responsible for recording the opening and closing galas, as well as the Shooting Stars award ceremony, and for making them available to a number of national and international television stations. The festive opening of the Berlinale in 2009 will be hosted by Katrin Bauerfeind and transmitted live by ZDF’s partner station, 3sat.

The Glass Studio of ZDF, which will be located directly outside the Berlinale Palast, will be used for extensive coverage by Germany’s “morgenmagazin”, “mittagsmagazin” and for “Volle Kanne” specials, amongst others. On “aspekte extra” and “Die lange Nacht der Berlinale”, Germany’s longest-running cultural magazine will report in-depth on the Festival. In the ZDF Lounge at “Restaurant mesa” in the Grand Hyatt Berlin, there will also be various get-togethers for the film industry.

The 3sat magazine “Kulturzeit” will report weekdays with “Berlinale-Fenster”. “Berlinale-Journal” will wrap up the Festival each evening with the latest news and pictures. On Saturday, February 14, 3sat will also broadcast the Berlinale’s most spectacular event, the final gala with the Golden and Silver Bear Awards Ceremony.

HUGO BOSS

In addition to fitting out a VIP showroom for the directors and actors of Competition films, and the International Jury, HUGO BOSS will once more supply the sweatshirts, T-shirts, scarves, and ski-hats included in the Berlinale’s assortment of merchandise in 2009. It will also provide the participants and experts of the Berlinale Talent Campus with sweatshirts. As is now tradition, HUGO BOSS will also produce the Berlinale’s exquisite Jacquard cashmere scarves as gifts for VIP guests.

VANITY FAIR

In several issues, VANITY FAIR will report extensively on what is happening at the Festival. Daily background articles about the Berlinale will also be available at www.vanityfair.de.

The VANITY FAIR Lounge, a very stylish venue, is situated in Sony Center’s historic Breakfast Salon, right next to “Josty” restaurant. From 9 am to 6 pm, the VANITY FAIR Lounge will be open to the press for interviews and photo shootings. Each night, this location will turn into a hot spot for our illustrious festival guests, VANITY FAIR VIPs, and representatives of the media from all over the world. In a relaxed atmosphere, drinks and snacks will be served, while a different set of DJs will perform daily.

TESiRO

We are delighted to welcome TESiRO, one of the world’s leading diamond processing companies, on board as the Berlinale’s new co-partner. Thanks to TESiRO, we will present – for the first time in our history - an exclusive Berlinale jewellery collection during the 59th Berlin International Film Festival.

As a special service, TESiRO is setting up a Jewelry Salon. Here Berlinale VIP guests will be able to borrow select pieces to adorn their evening clothes for their grand appearances on the red carpet. What is more, TESiRO is providing exquisite gifts for our guests at the Berlinale VIP Club.

As our co-partner, TESiRO will also support the European Shooting Stars.

Press Office

January 22, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Zusätzliches

22.01.2009:
Berlinale 2009: Verlässliche Partner auch in Zeiten der Krise

„Ein Großereignis wie die Berlinale wäre ohne die kontinuierliche Unterstützung durch den Kulturstaatsminister sowie den Beitrag unserer Sponsoren nicht realisierbar. Wir sind glücklich, dass trotz düsterer Wirtschaftsprognosen unsere Hauptpartner L’ORÉAL PARiS, Volkswagen und ZDF/3sat uns die Treue halten. Auch unsere Co-Partner HUGO BOSS und VANITY FAIR bleiben in der Berlinale Familie. Und es freut uns besonders, dass wir mit dem neuen Co-Partner TESiRO erstmals ein Unternehmen aus der Schmuck-Branche an Bord haben“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

L’ORÉAL PARiS

In der bewährten Partnerschaft zwischen der Berlinale und L’ORÉAL PARiS treffen Traumwelten aufeinander: Die Welt des Films und die Welt der Schönheit. Zu den Botschafterinnen von L’ORÉAL PARiS zählen Ikonen aus Kino und Kultur wie Penélope Cruz, Pierce Brosnan, Jane Fonda, Milla Jovovich, Andie MacDowell, Beyoncé Knowles und Aishwarya Rai, die im Film Pink Panther II mitspielt, der auf der Berlinale seine internationale Premiere haben wird.

Mit einer speziell für die Berlinale entwickelten Kampagne beweist L’ORÉAL PARiS sein leidenschaftliches Engagement für die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin. Von Januar bis März läuft die Promotion der Dachmarke zur Berlinale 2009 unter Einbeziehung der Botschafterinnen.

Das Berlinale Visagisten-Team von L’ORÉAL PARiS stylt die Stars für den Roten Teppich. Aufgrund des großen Erfolges im vergangenen Jahr wird L’ORÉAL PARiS erneut ein Make-Up Studio auf dem Potsdamer Platz einrichten. Hier kann sich auch das Berlinale Publikum von erfahrenen Visagisten mit dem neuen „Berlinale Look“ von L’ORÉAL PARiS schminken lassen. Zur feierlichen Eröffnung und der Preisverleihung werden L’ORÉAL PARiS-Hostessen allen Gästen erneut die beliebten „gift bags“ überreichen.

Volkswagen

Volkswagen garantiert den glamourösen Auftritt der Stars zu den Gala-Premieren mit dem Phaeton. Die gesamte Fahrzeugflotte für das Festival wird zum siebten Mal von Volkswagen zur Verfügung gestellt. Insgesamt werden über 80 Fahrzeuge der Modelle Phaeton, Passat BlueMotion, Caravelle und Tiguan zum Einsatz kommen.

Auch das inhaltliche Engagement von Volkswagen beim Berlinale Talent Campus wird fortgesetzt. Bereits zum sechsten Mal richtet der Fahrzeughersteller die Volkswagen Score Competition aus. Auch die European Shooting Stars werden erneut von Volkswagen unterstützt.

Die Volkswagen Golden Bear Lounge im Herzen des Berlinale Pressezentrums im Grand Hyatt Berlin wird auch in diesem Jahr zu einem wichtigen Treffpunkt für Stars und Journalisten werden.

ZDF/3sat

Als Haupt-Medienpartner des Festivals inszeniert ZDF/3sat im fünften Jahr sämtliche Bühnenshows im Berlinale Palast und übernimmt erneut die Poolführerschaft für die TV-Aufnahmen von der Eröffnungsgala und der Preisverleihung sowie der Shooting Stars-Verleihung zur Weitergabe an die zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen TV-Stationen. Die feierliche Eröffnung der Berlinale 2009 wird von Katrin Bauerfeind moderiert und vom ZDF-Partnersender 3sat live übertragen.

Das Gläserne Studio des ZDF direkt vor dem Berlinale Palast wird u.a. für eine ausführliche Berichterstattung von "morgenmagazin", "mittagsmagazin" und Sonderausgaben von "Volle Kanne" genutzt. Mit "aspekte extra" sowie "Die lange Nacht der Berlinale" wird das älteste TV-Kulturmagazin umfassend vom Festival berichten. In der ZDF-Lounge im "Restaurant mesa" des Grand Hyatt Berlin finden verschiedene Branchentreff statt.

Das 3sat-Magazin "Kulturzeit" meldet sich werktäglich mit dem "Berlinale-Fenster", und das "Berlinale-Journal" fasst das Festivalgeschehen in aktuellen Bildern auf 3sat zusammen. Vom Höhepunkt der Berlinale, der Abschlussgala mit der Verleihung des Goldenen und der Silbernen Bären, berichtet 3sat am Samstag, 14. Februar.

HUGO BOSS

Neben der Einrichtung eines VIP-Showrooms für die Regisseure und Schauspieler der Wettbewerbsfilme und die Internationale Jury, wird HUGO BOSS auch 2009 wieder Sweatshirts, T-Shirts, Schals und Mützen für das Berlinale Merchandising-Angebot sowie Sweatshirts für die Teilnehmer und die Experten des Berlinale Talent Campus produzieren. Als VIP-Gastgeschenke werden traditionsgemäß exklusive Kaschmirschals im Jacquard-Berlinale Look gefertigt.

VANITY FAIR

VANITY FAIR wird über mehrere Ausgaben ausführlich über das Festivalgeschehen berichten. Tagesaktuelle Hintergrundberichte über die Berlinale finden Sie auch unter www.vanityfair.de.

Die exklusiv gestaltete VANITY FAIR Lounge befindet sich im „Historischen Frühstückssalon“ im Sony Center direkt neben dem Restaurant „Josty“. In der Zeit von 9:00 Uhr bis 18:00 Uhr steht die VANITY FAIR Lounge der Presse für Interviews und Fotoaufnahmen zur Verfügung. In den Abend- und Nachtstunden verwandelt sich der Ort zu einem Hotspot für prominente Festivalgäste, VANITY FAIR VIPs und Medienvertreter aus aller Welt. In entspannter Atmosphäre werden Drinks und Snacks gereicht, täglich wechselnde DJ-Sets runden das Angebot ab.

TESiRO

Es freut uns, mit TESiRO eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen in der Diamantenveredelung als neuen Co-Partner der Berlinale gewonnen zu haben. Zum ersten Mal in der Geschichte des Festivals wird im Rahmen der 59. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, dank TESiRO, eine exklusive Berlinale Schmuck-Kollektion präsentiert.

Als besonderen Service richtet TESiRO einen exklusiven Jewelry Salon ein. Dort können sich ausgesuchte VIP-Gäste des Festivals erlesenen Schmuck als hochkarätige Ergänzung ihrer Abendgarderobe für einen perfekten Auftritt auf dem Roten Teppich ausleihen. Für den Berlinale VIP Club stellt TESiRO hochwertige Gastgeschenke zur Verfügung.

TESiRO unterstützt darüber hinaus die European Shooting Stars als Co-Partner.

Presseabteilung

22. Januar 2009