Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Berlinale Talent Campus

Jan 20, 2009:
Berlinale Talent Campus to open with a panel featuring Sir David Hare, Daniela Thomas and Anne Carey. Max Richter to mentor the Volkswagen Score Competition.

Campus Studio: a new hands-on training programme in post-production and editing

"Suddenly, It All Happened – Turning Points In Scriptwriting" is the name of the opening panel to this year's Berlinale Talent Campus. The panel will examine the art of screenwriting and the significance of turning points in cinematic storytelling. Podium guests will include: English playwright and director Sir David Hare, who received the Golden Bear at the 1985 Berlinale for his film Wetherby, and who also wrote the screenplays for Stephen Daldry's films The Hours and The Reader; American independent producer Anne Carey (Thumbsucker, The Savages); and Brazilian director and screenwriter Daniela Thomas, who has worked on several award-winning films with Walter Salles (Linha de Passe, O Primeiro Dia, Foreign Land).

Max Richter to mentor the Volkswagen Score Competition

This year will mark the sixth round of the Volkswagen Score Competition, an initiative of the Berlinale Talent Campus and Volkswagen that has successfully promoted young film music composers since the Campus began. The competition asks young composers and sound designers to create a new soundtrack for two pre-selected film excerpts. In February, three composers, selected by a jury, will have the unique opportunity to record their arrangements with the German Film Orchestra Babelsberg, followed by a mixing session at the Film & Television Academy (HFF) "Konrad Wolf". This year's mentor is composer Max Richter, born in Germany but currently living in Great Britain, who won the European Film Prize in 2008 for the congenial film music he composed for the award-winning film Waltz with Bashir. The world premiere of the three Campus Talents' new compositions will take place on Thursday, February 12, the final day of the Berlinale Talent Campus. An award ceremony will take place in the evening during the "Closing Ceremony" in HAU1.

Campus Studio: new hands-on programme in the field of post-production and editing

The newly-developed Campus Studio, which consists of a Post-Production Studio and an Editing Studio, will complement the already established Campus hands-on programmes. The Post-Production Studio will introduce Talents to the newest technology available for ingest and transfer, grading, editing and mastering digital video. Two renowned specialists in digital post-production, Claudia Meglin and Mark Read (responsible with others for the visual effects in Clint Eastwood's Flags of Our Fathers, amongst others) will be available to offer advice. Young directors may apply to the Editing Studio with the rough cut of a short film. They will be aided by outstanding editors like Job ter Burg (Black Book) and Susan Korda (Trembling before G-d, Teddy Award 2001) in finding the optimal dramatic cut for their films. The Campus Studio will take place in cooperation with FilmLight, Barco, BandPro, Pictorion das werk and Avid Technology.

Press Office

January 20, 2009

press@berlinale-talentcampus.de

The Berlinale Talent Campus is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media upon a decision of the German Bundestag, in co-operation with MEDIA - Training programme of the European Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset and UK Film Council as well as Volkswagen.

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Berlinale Talent Campus

20.01.2009:
Eröffnungspanel des Berlinale Talent Campus mit Sir David Hare, Daniela Thomas und Anne Carey. Max Richter wird Mentor der Volkswagen Score Competition.

Campus Studio: neues Hands-On-Training im Bereich Post-Production und Editing

„Suddenly, It All Happened – Turning Points In Scriptwriting“ heißt das Eröffnungspanel des diesjährigen Berlinale Talent Campus, das sich mit der großen Kunst des Drehbuchschreibens und der Bedeutung von Wendepunkten für das filmische Erzählen auseinandersetzt. Unter den Podiumsgästen sind der englische Dramatiker und Regisseur Sir David Hare, der 1985 mit Wetherby auf der Berlinale den Goldenen Bären gewann und u.a. die Drehbücher für Stephen Daldrys Filme The Hours und Der Vorleser geschrieben hat, die amerikanische Independent-Produzentin Anne Carey (Thumbsucker – Bleib wie du bist!, Die Geschwister Savage) sowie die brasilianische Regisseurin und Drehbuchautorin Daniela Thomas, die gemeinsam mit Walter Salles mehrere preisgekrönte Filme gedreht hat (Linha de Passe, O Primeiro Dia, Foreign Land).

Komponist Max Richter wird Mentor der Volkswagen Score Competition

Bereits ins sechste Jahr geht die Volkswagen Score Competition, mit der sich der Berlinale Talent Campus und Volkswagen seit Bestehen des Campus sehr erfolgreich für den Kompositionsnachwuchs engagieren. Im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs sind junge Komponisten und Sound-Designer eingeladen, einen neuen Soundtrack zu zwei vorgegebenen Filmausschnitten zu komponieren. Drei von einer Jury ausgewählte Komponisten erhalten im Februar die einzigartige Gelegenheit, gemeinsam mit dem Filmorchester Babelsberg ihre Arrangements einzuspielen und anschließend an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen (HFF) „Konrad Wolf“ zu mischen. Mentor wird dieses Jahr der in Deutschland geborene und in Großbritannien lebende Komponist Max Richter, der 2008 für seine kongeniale Filmmusik zu dem preisgekrönten Film Waltz with Bashir den Europäischen Filmpreis gewann. Die Neukompositionen der Campus-Talente werden am Donnerstag, den 12. Februar, dem Abschlusstag des Berlinale Talent Campus, uraufgeführt. Die feierliche Preisverleihung erfolgt am Abend während der „Closing Ceremony“ im HAU1.

Campus Studio: neues Hands-On-Training im Bereich Post-Production und Editing

Das neu entwickelte Campus Studio, bestehend aus dem Post-Production Studio und dem Editing Studio, ergänzt die bewährten Hands-On-Programme des Campus. Das Post-Production Studio vermittelt Talenten u. a. in den Bereichen Einspielung, Grading, Editing und Mastering den neuesten Stand digitaler Technik. Mit Claudia Meglin und Mark Read (u. a. mitverantwortlich für Visual Effects in Flags of Our Fathers von Clint Eastwood) stehen zwei renommierte Spezialisten im Bereich digitaler Postproduktion zur Verfügung. Für das Editing Studio können sich junge Regisseure mit der Rohschnittfassung eines Kurzfilms bewerben, um mit herausragenden Cuttern, wie z.B. Job ter Burg (Black Book) und Susan Korda (Trembling before G-d, Teddy Award 2001), ihre Schnittfassung dramaturgisch zu optimieren. Das Campus Studio findet in Kooperation mit FilmLight, Barco, BandPro und Avid Technology statt.

Presseabteilung

20. Januar 2009

press@berlinale-talentcampus.de

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, gefördert vom Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages, in Kooperation mit MEDIA - Trainingsprogramm der Europäischen Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset und UK Film Council sowie Volkswagen.