Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Berlinale Talent Campus

Jan 09, 2009:
Berlinale Talent Campus 2009 popular among up-and-coming filmmakers

Cinematographer and Oscar® award winner Janusz Kaminski, director and choreographer Farah Khan, and directors Patricio Guzmán and Jasmila Zbanic among the first Campus experts

The Berlinale Talent Campus, now in its 7th year, remains popular among young international filmmakers: 3834 ambitious Talents from 128 countries responded to this year's call for applications. For the first time, applications were received from Botswana, Haiti, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mongolia and Qatar. From 7-12 February, 2009, 350 selected Talents will have the chance to learn from prominent Berlinale guests and renowned experts, to have an exchange about projects and ideas, and to network with future colleagues in an informal setting. The theme for the 2009 Campus is "Suddenly, It All Happened – The Turning Point In Close-Up" and will focus on the driving force of turning points in filmmaking. The event will once again take place at the "Hebbel am Ufer" theatre in Berlin-Kreuzberg.

Campus experts to include Janusz Kaminski, Farah Khan, Patricio Guzmán and Jasmila Zbanic

The masterclass with Polish cinematographer and two-time Oscar® award winner Janusz Kaminski (Schindler's List, Saving Private Ryan) will be a highlight of the 7th Campus. His work as the director of photography for Steven Spielberg's Schindler's List marked a turning point in his career and launched his international breakthrough. Kaminski has been the director of photography for every Spielberg film since, most recently for Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. In 2008 he received the Independent Spirit award for The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Julian Schnabel. Kaminski was a member of the Berlinale's International Jury in 2006 and returns now to provide young Campus filmmakers insight into his exceptional and unconventional work.

Just how much fate can one film handle? In many film cultures, fate and chance play a decisive role in the turning points of a story. Bollywood cinema often portrays destiny as an exterior influence, whereas in Western storytelling traditions the protagonist often develops from within. The Indian director and choreographer Farah Khan, whose film Om Shanti Om delighted audiences at the Berlinale last year, will be one of several guests on the panel "Film and Fate".

The panel discussion "Provoking Cinema – Films That Marked Me Forever" will examine turning points in society and how they have been depicted in film. Many people rely on cinema to obtain or complement their knowledge of history. Two internationally renowned directors, Patricio Guzmán from Chile (Salvador Allende, The Pinochet Case) and Jasmila Zbanic from Bosnia (Grbavica, 2006 Golden Bear), will talk with Campus Talents about the ways in which cinema can inspire discussions about social issues and help to change the perception and evaluation of past political and socio-cultural events.

Press Office

January 9, 2009

press@berlinale-talentcampus.de

The Berlinale Talent Campus is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media upon a decision of the German Bundestag, in co-operation with MEDIA - Training programme of the European Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset and UK Film Council as well as Volkswagen.

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Berlinale Talent Campus

09.01.2009:
Berlinale Talent Campus 2009 sehr beliebt beim Filmnachwuchs:

Kameramann und Oscar®-Preisträger Janusz Kaminski, Regisseurin und Choreographin Farah Khan sowie die Regisseure Patricio Guzmán und Jasmila Zbanic unter den ersten Campus-Experten

Der Berlinale Talent Campus erfreut sich auch im 7. Jahr großer Beliebtheit bei jungen Filmschaffenden aus aller Welt. 3834 aufstrebende Talente aus 128 Ländern haben sich in diesem Jahr beworben. Darunter sind erstmals Bewerbungen aus Botswana, Haiti, Kirgisistan, Lesotho, Madagaskar, Malawi, Mongolei und Katar. 350 ausgewählte Teilnehmer erhalten nun vom 7. – 12. Februar 2009 in Berlin die einmalige Chance, von prominenten Berlinale-Gästen und namhaften Experten zu lernen, sich über neue Projekte auszutauschen und im informellen „networking“ zukünftige Kontakte zu knüpfen. Der Campus 2009 steht unter dem Thema „Suddenly, It All Happened – The Turning Point In Close-Up” und rückt Wendepunkte, turning points, als treibende Kraft des Filmschaffens in seinen Focus. Veranstaltungsort wird wieder das Theater „Hebbel am Ufer“ in Berlin-Kreuzberg sein.

Erste Campus-Experten Janusz Kaminski, Farah Khan, Patricio Guzmán und Jasmila Zbanic

Ein Highlight des 7. Campus ist die Masterclass mit dem polnischen Kameramann und zweifachen Oscar®-Preisträger Janusz Kaminski (Schindlers Liste, Der Soldat James Ryan). Ein Wendepunkt in seiner Karriere war 1993 seine Kameraarbeit für Steven Spielbergs Schindlers Liste, mit der ihm der internationale Durchbruch gelang. Er hat seitdem in allen Filmen von Spielberg die Kamera geführt, zuletzt für Indiana Jones und das Königreich des Kristallschädels. 2008 wurde Kaminski für Schmetterling und Taucherglocke von Julian Schnabel mit dem Independent Spirit Award ausgezeichnet. 2006 war er in der Wettbewerbs-Jury der Berlinale und nun wird er auf dem Campus jungen Filmemachern einen intensiven Einblick in seine herausragende und unkonventionelle Arbeit gewähren.

Wieviel Schicksal verträgt ein Film? In den verschiedenen Filmkulturen spielt das Schicksal oder der Zufall häufig eine entscheidende Rolle für die turning points im Storytelling. Während im Bollywood-Kino das Schicksal meist von außen einwirkt, setzt die westliche Erzähltradition eher auf eine innere Entwicklung der Protagonisten. Zu Gast auf dem Panel mit dem Titel „Film and Fate“ wird u. a. die indische Regisseurin und Choreographin Farah Khan sein, deren Film Om Shanti Om letztes Jahr auf der Berlinale die Zuschauer begeisterte.

Mit gesellschaftlichen turning points und ihrer Darstellung im Film beschäftigt sich das Panel „Provoking Cinema - Films That Marked Me Forever”. Viele Menschen beziehen ihr Geschichtswissen aus Filmen oder erweitern es durch diese. Die beiden international renommierten Regisseure Patricio Guzmán aus Chile (Salvador Allende, Le Cas Pinochet) und Jasmila Zbanic aus Bosnien (Esmas Geheimnis – Grbavica, Goldener Bär 2006) diskutieren mit den Campus-Talenten die Frage, inwieweit Filme zu gesellschaftlichen Themen eine Diskussion in Gang bringen und dazu beitragen können, die Wahrnehmung und Bewertung vergangener politischer und soziokultureller Ereignisse zu verändern.

Presseabteilung

9. Januar 2009

press@berlinale-talentcampus.de

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, gefördert vom Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages, in Kooperation mit MEDIA - Trainingsprogramm der Europäischen Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset und UK Film Council sowie Volkswagen.