Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

Jan 06, 2009:
2009 European Film Market off to a solid start

The Berlinale European Film Market (EFM), the first international film market of the year 2009, is considered an indicator of the mood in the international film industry. Despite the current economic situation, EFM Director Beki Probst appears content with present developments: “We are very pleased that all exhibit stands at both EFM locations are completely booked. Buyer and seller registrations from Europe are particularly stable at present.”

Dieter Kosslick, director of the Berlinale, is equally confident that the 2009 EFM will be a success: “Beki Probst, who celebrates her 20th anniversary at the Market this year, has created high international standing for the EFM with her efforts. This supports the stability and consistency of the market.”

In order to meet an increased demand for exhibit space, the 2009 EFM will feature a second venue in addition to the established Martin-Gropius-Bau spaces: The “EFM Marriott Offices” provide new, premium exhibit spaces on three floors of the Marriott Hotel on Potsdamer Platz.

The Marriott Hotel will also serve as the venue for the new EFM initiative “Meet the Docs”, a connection platform for documentary filmmakers. In presenting “Meet the Docs”, the EFM works in close cooperation with the European Documentary Network (EDN), the most important documentary film network in Europe, with 1000 members in over 60 countries. “Meet the Docs” is the newest addition to the successful EFM cooperations “Books at Berlinale”, “Straight from Sundance” and “Latin American Works-in-Progress”.

The “EFM Industry Debates”, panel events with well-known experts on current industry issues and developments, will be presented this year by Commerzbank, in cooperation with the magazines Variety, The Hollywood Reporter and Screen International.

The introduction of E-Cinema will provide an extended service: All digital and video films will be converted into uniform files and played back by servers. This enables a screening for more formats, and provides greater security during screenings.

All industry guests may once again enjoy the Gropius Mirror Restaurant in the mirrored tent – this year at a new location directly across from the main entrance to Martin-Gropius-Bau.

Comprehensive information and services pertaining to the EFM and Berlinale Co-Production Market may be found at the new website:
www.efm-berlinale.de

Press Office

January 6, 2009

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

European Film Market & Co-Production Market

06.01.2009:
Stabiler Start für den European Film Market 2009

Der European Film Market (EFM) der Berlinale, der erste internationale Filmmarkt des Jahres 2009, gilt als Stimmungsbarometer in der internationalen Filmindustrie. Trotz der gegenwärtigen wirtschaftlichen Situation zeigt sich EFM-Direktorin Beki Probst mit den aktuellen Entwicklungen zufrieden: „Wir freuen uns sehr über ausgebuchte Ausstellungsflächen in unseren beiden EFM Locations. Vor allem aus Europa sind die Anmeldungen der Verkäufer und Einkäufer derzeit stabil.“

Auch Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick ist von einem guten Gelingen des EFM 2009 überzeugt: „Beki Probst, die in diesem Jahr ihr 20. Marktjubiläum feiert, hat mit ihrer Arbeit für den EFM internationales Renommee geschaffen. Dieses unterstützt die aktuelle Stabilität und Kontinuität des Marktes.“

Um der erhöhten Nachfrage nach Ausstellungsfläche gerecht zu werden, stellt der EFM 2009 neben dem etablierten Martin-Gropius-Bau mit den „EFM Marriott Offices“ im Marriott Hotel am Potsdamer Platz neue, hochwertige Ausstellungsflächen auf drei Etagen zur Verfügung.

Im Marriott Hotel wird auch die neue EFM-Initiative „Meet the Docs“ angesiedelt, die einen Treffpunkt für Dokumentarfilmer anbietet. Der EFM arbeitet hier mit dem European Documentary Network (EDN) zusammen, dem mit etwa 1000 Mitgliedern in über 60 Ländern wichtigsten Netzwerk des europäischen Dokumentarfilms. „Meet the Docs“ ergänzt die erfolgreichen Kooperationen „Books at Berlinale“, „Straight from Sundance“ und „Latin American Works-in-Progress“.

Die „EFM Industry Debates“, Panelveranstaltungen mit namhaften Experten zu aktuellen Branchenfragen und -entwicklungen, werden 2009 von der Commerzbank präsentiert, in Zusammenarbeit mit den Fachzeitschriften Variety, The Hollywood Reporter und Screen International.

Einen erweiterten Service bietet die Einführung von E-Cinema: alle digitalen und Video-Filme werden in einheitliche Dateien umgewandelt und von Servern abgespielt. Ein Service, der es ermöglicht, mehr Formate zu zeigen und der eine größere Sicherheit bei den Vorführungen garantiert.

Als Restaurant für alle Fachbesucher steht – am neuen Standort direkt gegenüber dem Haupteingang des Martin-Gropius-Baus - wieder das „Gropius Mirror Restaurant“ im Spiegelzelt zur Verfügung.

Umfassende Informationen und Services zum EFM und Berlinale Co-Production Market auf der neuen Website: www.efm-berlinale.de

Presseabteilung

6. Januar 2009