Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Competition

Nov 28, 2008:
World Premiere of Tom Tykwer’s thriller The International to open Berlinale 2009

The 59th Berlin International Film Festival will open on February 5, 2009 with the world premiere of the US-German co-prodution The International.

Directed by Tom Tykwer (Perfume, Run, Lola Run) and featuring a star-studded cast, the action thriller traces the criminal business transactions that finance war and terror.

The leading roles are played by Clive Owen (Inside Man, Closer) and Naomi Watts (King Kong, 21 Grams). Armin Mueller-Stahl (Die Buddenbrooks, Illuminati), Brian F. O’Byrne (The New World, Million Dollar Baby), Ulrich Thomsen (Brødre, Festen) and Jack McGee (L.A. Crash) complete the impressive international cast.

Interpol Agent Louis Salinger (Clive Owen) and New York attorney Eleanor Whitman (Naomi Watts) are determined to uncover the illegal activities of one of the world’s most powerful banks, and must risk their own lives in the process.

The International will be presented out of competition in the Competition programme of the 59th Berlin International Film Festival. The production was filmed at Studio Babelsberg and on location in Berlin, New York, Istanbul and Milan, and was funded in by the German Federal Film Fund (DFFF), among others.

Sony Pictures Releasing GmbH will release The International in German cinemas on February 12, 2009.

Press Office

November 28, 2008

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Wettbewerb

28.11.2008:
Weltpremiere von Tom Tykwer’s Thriller The International eröffnet die Berlinale 2009

Am 5. Februar 2009 wird zur Eröffnung der 59. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin die US-amerikanisch-deutsche Co-Produktion The International ihre Weltpremiere feiern.

Tom Tykwer (Das Parfum, Lola rennt) führte Regie bei dem hochkarätig besetzten Action-Thriller, der die kriminellen Geschäfte zur Finanzierung von Kriegen und Terror verfolgt.

Die Hauptrollen spielen Clive Owen (Inside Man, Hautnah) und Naomi Watts (King Kong, 21 Gramm). Armin Mueller-Stahl (Die Buddenbrooks, Illuminati), Brian F. O'Byrne (The New World, Million Dollar Baby), Ulrich Thomsen (Brødre, Festen) und Jack McGee (L.A. Crash) vervollständigen den beeindruckenden internationalen Cast.

Interpol-Agent Louis Salinger (Clive Owen) und die New Yorker Staatsanwältin Eleanor Whitman (Naomi Watts) sind entschlossen, die illegalen Aktivitäten einer der mächtigsten Banken der Welt aufzudecken

und setzen dabei auch ihr eigenes Leben aufs Spiel.

Im Wettbewerb der 59. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin wird The International außer Konkurrenz präsentiert. Der Film entstand im Studio Babelsberg sowie an Originalschauplätzen in Berlin, New York, Istanbul und Mailand und erhielt u.a. Fördermittel des Deutschen Filmförderfonds (DFFF).

Die Sony Pictures Releasing GmbH wird The International am 12. Februar 2009 in die deutschen Kinos bringen.

Presseabteilung

28. November 2008