Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2009

Retrospective & Homage

Oct 27, 2008:
Berlinale Retrospective 2009: 70 mm - Bigger than Life

'Cleopatra' (Joseph L. Mankiewicz; 1961-63)(Cinémathèque Suisse, Lausanne)
Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s Cleopatra; Source: Cinémathèque Suisse, Lausanne

By focussing on 70-mm films, the Retrospective of the 59th Berlin International Film Festival will devote itself to the powerful visuals of wide-gauge film.

Twice as wide as standard 35-mm film, it is the adequate format for monumental works: screen epics, adventure and science fiction films, Westerns, musicals, as well as magnificent panoramas of nature and intimately beautiful close-ups. The high resolution, sharp picture and colour quality of these large-format images join forces with the tremendous excellence of the sound. During Hollywood’s financial crisis in the mid 1950s, 70-mm film was especially important as a technical innovation with which television could not compete. For wide-gauge film, with its visual and audio brilliance, is only able to come into its own in the cinema. The Berlinale Retrospective will concentrate on “real” 70-mm films that were originally shot on 65-mm or 70-mm negative film and then printed on 70-mm film for the screen.

“The Retrospective is also an homage to large film palaces, though only a few have survived. Which is why we are particularly delighted to have the Kino International as a venue. It opened in 1963 and was the third 70-mm cinema in the GDR. We are also pleased with the new prints that are now - thanks to their restoration by several large studios - available in their original format,” remarks Rainer Rother, head of the Retrospective.

The Retrospective will present a total of 22 programmes from the USA, the Soviet Union and Europe. This includes classics like Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s Cleopatra (1961–63) in Todd-AO, David Lean’s Lawrence of Arabia (1961/62) in Panavision Super 70 and William Wyler´s Ben Hur (1959) in Camera 65; but also new discoveries like the Soviet production Dnevnye zvozdy (The Stars of the Day), directed by Igor Talankin in 1966 and based on motifs from Olga Bergholz’s autobiographical book of the same name. In addition to the first Sovscope-70 film, Julija Solnceva’s Povest’ plamennykh let (The Story of the Flaming Years, 1960/61), there will be two other films from the USSR in the programme: Sergei Bondarchuk’s screen adaptation of Tolstoy’s Voina i mir (War and Peace, 1962–67) and Samson Samsonov’s Optimisticheskaya tragediya (The Optimistic Tragedy, 1963). The Retrospective is screening the probably most remarkable of the seven feature and three documentary DEFA 70 films ever produced: Goya (1969–71) by Konrad Wolf, a portrait of manners based on Lion Feuchtwanger’s novel. Franklin J. Schaffner’s Patton (1968–70) in Dimension 150, a biographical film about perhaps the most celebrated U.S. general of the Second World War, and Stanley Kubrick’s seminal work 2001: A Space Odyssey (1965-68) in Super Panavision 70 will also be screened. Opulent musicals, like Robert Wise’s und Jerome Robbins’ West Side Story (1960/61) in Super Panavision 70, as well as Robert Wise’s classic The Sound Of Music (1964/65) in Todd-AO, and Gene Kelly’s Hello, Dolly! (1968/69), also in Todd-AO, will complete the programme.

“It will be a feast for the eyes. 70-mm films are not just known for their rich colours and splendid visuals, but also for the incomparable sound experience that gives viewers a sense of being there live. Film musicals from the 1960s also used these effects impressively. I’m delighted we’ll be able to provide Berlinale audiences with such a spectacular cinema event,” says Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick.

The Retrospective will be presented at the Kino International and the Cinestar 8 at Potsdamer Platz. For these festival screenings, the Kino International will be specially fitted out with a combination of tried-and-tested projection technology and new digital equipment. Hence, this theatre, so steeped in tradition, will offer the optimum in visual and audio experience. On the large curved screen, new, elaborately restored 70-mm prints will radiate alongside precious unique prints from archives. The Retrospective film programme (a complete list will be released in late December) will be accompanied by a series of events, with lectures by experts and talks with people from film. The book for the Retrospective - with an essay (“The History of Wide-Gauge Film”) and a glossary by Gert Koshofer – will be published in a bilingual edition (German/English) by Bertz + Fischer, a Berlin publishing house. It gives a complete survey of the 70-mm productions made in the USA, Europe and the Soviet Union and presents contemporary reviews and extensive filmographic information on the films screening in the Retrospective. Once again, the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen is responsible for both the Retrospective and the publication.

Press Office

October 27, 2008

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2009

Retrospektive & Hommage

27.10.2008:
Berlinale-Retrospektive 2009: 70 mm – Bigger than Life

'Cleopatra' (Joseph L. Mankiewicz; 1961-63)(Cinémathèque Suisse, Lausanne)
Joseph L. Mankiewicz’ Cleopatra; Quelle: Cinémathèque Suisse, Lausanne

Die Retrospektive der 59. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin widmet sich mit dem Filmformat „70 mm“ der einzigartigen Bildgewalt des Breitfilms.

Doppelt so breit wie der 35-mm-Standardfilm ist er das adäquate Format für große Leinwandepen und Kolossalfilme, Abenteuerfilme und Western, für Musicals und Science-Fiction – für grandiose Landschaftspanoramen ebenso wie für bestechend schöne, intime Nahaufnahmen. Zur Feinkörnigkeit, Schärfe und Farbgüte der großformatigen Aufnahmen gesellt sich die überwältigende Qualität des Tons. Im Zuge der wirtschaftlichen Krise Hollywoods Mitte der 1950er Jahre war der 70-mm-Film vor allem als technische Innovation von Bedeutung, mit der das Fernsehen nicht konkurrieren konnte, da der Breitfilm mit seiner optischen und akustischen Brillanz nur im Kino voll zur Geltung kommt. Die Berlinale-Retrospektive konzentriert sich auf die „echten“ 70-mm-Filme, die auf 65 mm oder 70 mm breiten Negativfilm aufgenommen wurden und auf 70 mm breitem Positivfilm ins Kino gekommen sind.

„Die Retrospektive ist auch eine Hommage an die großen Filmpaläste, von denen heutzutage nur noch wenige existieren. Deshalb freuen wir uns besonders über das Kino International als Spielort, das 1963 als drittes 70mm-Kino in der DDR eröffnet wurde. Und ebenso über die vielen neuen Kopien, die dank der Restaurierungen einiger großer Studios wieder im originalen Format vorliegen", kommentiert Rainer Rother, Leiter der Retrospektive.

Die Retrospektive zeigt 22 Filmprogramme mit Produktionen aus den USA, der Sowjetunion und Europa. Es werden Klassiker wie Joseph L. Mankiewicz’ Cleopatra (1961–63) in Todd-AO, David Leans Lawrence of Arabia (1961/62) in Panavision Super 70 und William Wylers Ben Hur (1959) in Camera 65 zu sehen sein, aber auch Neuentdeckungen wie die sowjetische Produktion Dnewnyje swesdy (Tagessterne), die 1966 nach Motiven des gleichnamigen autobiografischen Buchs von Olga Bergholz unter der Regie von Igor Talankin entstand. Neben dem ersten Sovscope-70-Film, Julia Solnzewas Powest plamennych let (Flammende Jahre, 1960/61), sind zwei weitere Filme aus der UdSSR im Programm: Sergej Bondartschuks Tolstoi-Verfilmung Woina i mir (Krieg und Frieden, 1962–67) und Samson Samsonows Optimistitscheskaja tragedija (Optimistische Tragödie, 1963). Die Retrospektive präsentiert den wohl bemerkenswertesten Film der insgesamt sieben Spiel- und drei Dokumentarfilme umfassenden DEFA-70-Produktion: Goya (1969–71) von Konrad Wolf, ein Sittengemälde nach dem Roman von Lion Feuchtwanger. Auch Franklin J. Schaffners Patton (1968–70) in Dimension 150, ein biografischer Film über den vermutlich bekanntesten US-General des Zweiten Weltkriegs, und Stanley Kubricks bahnbrechender 2001: A Space Odyssey (1965-68, Super Panavision 70) werden aufgeführt. Opulente Musicals wie Robert Wises und Jerome Robbins’ West Side Story (1960/61, Super Panavision 70) sowie Robert Wises Klassiker The Sound Of Music (1964/65, Todd-AO) und Gene Kellys Hello, Dolly! (1968/69, Todd-AO) runden das Programm ab.

„Das wird ein Augenschmaus. Die 70-mm-Filme sind nicht nur von Farbenpracht und optischer Brillanz geprägt, sondern auch von einem unvergleichlichen Tonerlebnis, das dem Zuschauer das Gefühl vermittelt, live dabei zu sein. Die Film-Musicals der 60er Jahre haben diesen Effekt eindrucksvoll genutzt. Ich freue mich, dass wir dem Berlinale-Publikum ein großartiges Kinoerlebnis vermitteln können“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

Die Retrospektive wird im Kino International und im Cinestar 8 am Potsdamer Platz präsentiert. Das Kino International wird für die Festivalaufführungen mit einer Kombination aus altbewährter Projektionstechnik und neuer, digitaler Ausstattung speziell eingerichtet. Damit bietet dieses traditionsreiche Filmtheater ein optimales Sicht- und Klangerlebnis. Auf der großen gekrümmten Leinwand brillieren neue, aufwändig restaurierte 70-mm-Kopien neben wertvollen Unikaten aus Archiven. Das Filmprogramm (Veröffentlichung der gesamten Filmliste bis Ende Dezember) wird ergänzt durch eine Veranstaltungsreihe mit Vorträgen von Experten und Gesprächen mit Filmschaffenden. Das Buch zur Retrospektive mit einem Essay („Zur Geschichte des Breitfilms“) und Glossar von Gert Koshofer erscheint als zweisprachige Ausgabe (dt. und engl.) im Berliner Bertz + Fischer Verlag. Ein umfangreicher Datenteil versammelt sämtliche 70-mm-Produktionen, die in den USA, Europa und der Sowjetunion realisiert wurden, und dokumentiert die Filme der Retrospektive mit zeitgenössischen Kritiken und ausführlichen filmografischen Angaben. Die Retrospektive und die Publikation werden von der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen verantwortet.

Presseabteilung

27. Oktober 2008