Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Generation

Teenage Response

## ## ##

TEENAGE RESPONSE

“When it comes to the most important things in life you’re always on your own. It is an eternal burden and a source of quiet joy that nobody can reach you and you won’t let anybody in”, writes Tove Ditlevsen in one of her poems.
The young protagonists of this film allow us to peer inside their inner world. During the course of these strikingly serious, intimate conversations devoid of any voice-over commentary, a group of young adults between the ages of 13 and 21 tell us about their bodies, their personal experiences and their erotic encounters. Regardless of whether they are talking about being high on drugs, getting involved in a punch-up, dancing, or making love – all of their stories concentrate on their bodies as the site where thoughts and feelings meander in a bid to find out where pain begins, where it ends and where subjectivity resides.
Thirteen young people tell us ‘their stories’ – stories about which even their friends, their girlfriends, their parents or their teachers had little or no knowledge. Their testimonials give us a profound insight into their innermost thoughts. They also reveal each individual’s own music, an unmistakable sound that resonates deep within, a sound which we all feel but cannot name; a sound that emanates from the self.
Taking their cue from these young people’s stories, the images of this film visualise echoes of the way these youths see themselves and experience their bodies. This documentary contains neither commentary nor explanation, concentrating instead entirely on the intensity and vibrancy of the young protagonists themselves.
Production notes

Germany 2009, 160 min

by

Eleni Ampelakiotou

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation

Teenage Response

## ## ##

TEENAGE RESPONSE

„Mit dem Wichtigsten auf der Welt ist man allein. Es ist eine ewige Bürde und eine leise Freude, dass Dich niemand dort erreicht und Du keinen herein­lässt“, heißt es in einem Gedicht von Tove Ditlevsen.
Die jungen Protagonisten des Films gewähren uns Einblick in ihre innersten Räume. In intimen Gesprächen von beeindruckender Ernsthaftigkeit erzählen junge Erwachsene im Alter zwischen 13 und 21 Jahren unkommentiert von ihrem Körper, ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen und erotischen Begeg­nun­gen. Ob im Drogenrausch, bei Prügeleien, beim Tanzen, bei der Liebe – in all ihren Geschichten ist ihr Körper der Raum, den sie mit ihren Gedanken und Gefühlen durchstreifen, um zu erfahren, wo der Schmerz anfängt und wo er aufhört, und wo das „Ich“ wohnt.
Dreizehn Jugendliche erzählen „ihre Geschichten“. Geschichten, von denen ihre Freunde und Freundinnen, Eltern und Lehrer teilweise nichts wussten. Sie schenken tiefe Einblicke in ihr Innerstes, offenbaren ihre ganz persönliche eigene Musik, diesen unverwechselbaren Klang, den sie in sich tragen, den wir alle spüren und nicht benennen können, der dort herkommt, wo sich das „Wichtigste“ vollzieht.
Die Bilder folgen den Erzählungen der Jugendlichen, visualisieren als Echos ihre Selbstbilder und ihre Körper-Erfahrungen. Die Dokumentation verzichtet auf erläuternde Kommentare und vertraut auf die Intensität und Leben­dig­keit der jugendlichen Protagonisten.
Produktionsmitteilung

Deutschland 2009, 160 Min

von

Eleni Ampelakiotou