Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2008

Additional Information

Jan 21, 2008:
Special Berlinale Series to Mark the 40th Anniversary of Berlin’s Vietnam Congress: “War at Home” – The Vietnam War in U.S. Cinema

In February 1968 the Socialist German Student Association (SDS) staged the ‘Vietnam Congress’ in Berlin. This event marked the beginning of the student protest movement which went down in history as ‘May 1968’. The congress triggered the German student movement which gradually switched its main focus from the war in the Middle East to concentrate on the young Federal Republic and its own post-war history.

The Berlinale and the Federal Centre for Political Education have taken the fortieth anniversary of the Vietnam Congress to retrace the American perspective of the Vietnam War in a compact film programme. Hollywood produced critical feature films, such as M.A.S.H. (Robert Altman, 1970) and Catch 22 (Mike Nichols 1971) which simultaneously marked the beginning of New Hollywood. The programme also includes documentaries and protest films depicting the trauma that the war unleashed at home. Screenings of the War at Home series take place from 8 to 15 February in the Filmpalast Berlin.

Film Programme:

M*A*S*H USA (1970) by Robert Altman

In his black comedy about three wacky draftee surgeons who stitch back together whatever comes their way, Altman saw the only adequate response to the Vietnam War – and with it won the Golden Palm at the Cannes Festival in 1970.

The War at Home USA (1979) by Barry Brown and Glenn Silber

This spirited film closely chronicles the anti-Vietnam movement in the 1960s and 1970s, when large sections of the U.S. population sharply opposed their own government. Glenn Silber, one of the two authors, will present the film at the Berlinale.

Catch 22 USA (1971) by Mike Nichols

with Anthony Perkins, Orson Welles, Martin Sheen, Alan Arkin, Jon Voight

Joseph Heller’s anti-war novel was considered unfilmable until young star director Mike Nichols (The Graduate) took up the project: set during World War II, this movie tells of the madness of war and the inflexibility of bureaucracy.

Winter Soldier USA (1972) by the Winterfilm Collective

The Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW) invited vets to a conference in Detroit in 1971. The film documents their reports of rape, torture and murder committed by American soldiers against civilians in Vietnam.

In the Year of the Pig USA (1968) by Emile de Antonio

This political experimental film ironically strings together archive footage, interviews and television clips and sets it all to rather patriotic music. To be understood as “anti-imperialistic cinema”, it portrays Ho Chi Minh as hero of the Vietnamese people.

Basic Training USA (1971) by Frederick Wiseman

Daily life in a boot camp where young recruits are turned into soldiers: the film documents their training and loss of individualism, as well as depicts how a system of submission and absolute conformity dominates in the barracks.

The Green Berets USA (1968) by Ray Kellog with John Wayne

This was probably the only Hollywood film that tried to justify the war in Vietnam. It fashioned its narrative on the familiar structures of the Western, with the Vietcong in the role of the Indians and a hero always beyond reproach. The story was based on real events at the Battle of Nam Dong.

Coming Home USA (1978) by Hal Ashby with Jane Fonda

Without actually showing the war, this powerful tale of a love triangle speaks of the injuries and wounds of those who remained behind and those returning home. Jane Fonda won an Oscar for her portrayal of Sally in 1979.

The film programme complements a series of events accompanying the exhibition ‘'68 - Brennpunkt Berlin’ organized by the Federal Centre for Political Education at Amerika Haus in Berlin. The programme extends through to May 2008 with readings, panel discussions and eye-witness talks about the consequences of the student movement. The events also embrace a comprehensive series of 1968 films which include repeat screenings of a number of the films from the Berlinale programme.

Press Office

January 21, 2008

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2008

Zusätzliches

21.01.2008:
Berlinale-Sonderprogramm zu 40 Jahre Vietnamkongress: War at Home – Der Vietnamkrieg im US-Kino

Im Februar 1968 fand in Berlin der „Vietnamkongress“ des Sozialistischen Deutschen Studentenbundes (SDS) statt. Diese Veranstaltung bildete den Auftakt für die Protestbewegung, die als „Mai 1968“ Geschichte machte. Der Kongress war eine Initialzündung für die deutsche Studentenbewegung, deren Aufmerksamkeit nicht mehr vorrangig dem Krieg in Fernost galt und zunehmend den Umgang der jungen Bundesrepublik mit der eigenen Nachkriegsgeschichte fokussierte.

Die Berlinale nimmt gemeinsam mit der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung den 40. Jahrestag des Vietnamkongresses zum Anlass, die US-amerikanische Perspektive auf den Vietnamkrieg in einem kompakten Filmprogramm nachzuzeichnen. Hollywood produzierte kritische Kriegsspielfilme wie M.A.S.H. (Robert Altman, 1970) und Catch 22 (Mike Nichols 1971), die zugleich den Beginn des New Hollywood markieren. Zu sehen sind darüber hinaus Dokumentarfilme und Protestfilme, die von den Traumata berichten, die der Krieg zuhause auslöste. Die Vorführungen der War at Home-Filmreihe finden vom 8. bis 15. Februar im Filmpalast statt.

Filmprogramm:

M*A*S*H USA (1970) von Robert Altman

In seiner Komödie über drei zwangsverpflichtete Ärzte, die alles flicken, was ihnen unter das Messer kommt, sah Altman die einzig adäquate Art, auf den Vietnamkrieg zu reagieren – und gewann mit dem Film die Goldene Palme in Cannes 1970.

The War at Home USA (1979) von Barry Brown und Glenn Silber

Lebendiges und heute noch sehr nahes Porträt der Anti-Vietnam-Bewegung der 60er und 70er Jahre, als große Teile der US-Bevölkerung in scharfer Opposition zur eigenen Regierung standen. Glenn Silber, einer der beiden Autoren, wird den Film auf der Berlinale vorstellen.

Catch 22 USA (1971) von Mike Nichols

mit Anthony Perkins, Orson Welles, Martin Sheen, Alan Arkin, Jon Voight

Joseph Hellers Antikriegsroman galt als unverfilmbar, bis der junge Regiestar Mike Nichols (Die Reifeprüfung) dies Projekt umsetzte: Der Film spielt im Zweiten Weltkrieg und erzählt von der irrwitzigen Logik des Krieges und einer starrköpfigen Bürokratie.

Winter Soldier USA (1972) von Winterfilm Collective

Die „Vietnam Veterans Against the War“ luden 1971 zu einer Konferenz nach Detroit ein. Der Film dokumentiert die Erzählungen von Vergewaltigungen, Folterungen und Morden, die die amerikanischen Soldaten an der Zivilbevölkerung in Vietnam verübt hatten.

In the Year of the Pig USA (1968) von Emile de Antonio

Politischer Experimentalfilm, der Archivmaterial, Interviews und Ausschnitte aus Fernsehprogrammen in ironischer Weise mit einer fast heroischen Musik montiert. Der Film sollte als „antiimperialistisches Kino“ verstanden werden – er zeichnet Ho Chi Minh als heldenhafte Figur des vietnamesischen Volkes.

Basic Training USA (1971) von Frederick Wiseman

Der Alltag in einem Marine Camp, in dem aus jungen Wehrpflichtigen Soldaten werden: Der Film folgt der Ausbildung der Rekruten, beschreibt den Verlust der Individualität in der Kaserne und das dort herrschende System der Unterwerfung, der vollkommenen Konformität.

The Green Berets USA (1968) von Ray Kellog mit John Wayne

Hollywoods wohl einziger Film, der den Krieg in Vietnam zu rechtfertigen suchte. Die Erzählweise folgt der bekannten Struktur des Westerns, in dem die Rolle der Indianer von den Vietcong übernommen wird und in der der Held über jede Kritik erhaben bleibt. Vorbild waren die realen Ereignisse der Schlacht von Nam Dong.

Coming Home USA (1978) von Hal Ashby mit Jane Fonda

Eine eindringliche Dreiecksgeschichte, die, ohne den Krieg tatsächlich zu zeigen, von den Verletzungen und Wunden der Zurückgebliebenen und der Heimkehrer erzählt. Jane Fonda gewann für ihre Darstellung der Sally 1979 einen Oscar.

Das Filmprogramm ergänzt ein mehrmonatiges Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung „'68 - Brennpunkt Berlin“ der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung im Amerika-Haus Berlin. Bis Mai 2008 stehen dort die Folgen der Studentenbewegung in Lesungen, Podiums- und Zeitzeugengesprächen zur Diskussion. Zudem werden Teile dieses Berlinale Filmprogramms in einer umfangreichen Filmreihe mit 68er Filmen wiederholt.

Presseabteilung

21. Januar 2008