Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2008

Competition

Jan 15, 2008:
World Premiere of Martin Scorsese’s Shine A Light to open the 58th Berlin International Film Festival

The Rolling Stones concert film Shine A Light from Oscar® winning director Martin Scorsese will open the festival on February 7, 2008 with the director and band in attendance.

Scorsese assembled an award-winning camera team to capture the raw energy of the world’s greatest rock ‘n roll band in two concerts at the Beacon Theatre, N.Y., on October 29th and November 1st 2006. Using sixteen cameras, more than half a million feet of concert footage were shot. The two concerts with special guest performances from Jack White of the White Stripes, Christina Aguilera, and Buddy Guy form the heart of the film. Shine A Light also features rarely-seen archival footage and current behind the scenes footage and interviews. With this extensive camera coverage and the intimacy of the setting, Scorsese has created an extraordinary musical film event and given audiences unprecedented access to the Rolling Stones both on stage and off.

Oscar®-winning cinematographer Robert Richardson (The Aviator, JFK) supervised a team which included several highly acclaimed directors of photography: Oscar® winner John Toll (The Last Samurai, Braveheart); Oscar® winner Andrew Lesnie (The Lord of the Rings trilogy, King Kong); Oscar® nominee Stuart Dryburgh (The Piano, The Painted Veil), Oscar® nominee Robert Elswit (Magnolia, Good Night and Good Luck); Oscar® nominee Emmanuel Lubezki (Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Sleepy Hollow); and Ellen Kuras (Summer of Sam, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind).

Shine A Light was produced by Steve Bing's Shangri-La Entertainment and long-time Stones Tour Promoter Michael Cohl's Concert Promotions International.

“We are extremely excited to have the World Premiere of this magnificent film as our opening gala,” says Festival Director Dieter Kosslick. “Martin Scorsese has captured the pure essence of an iconic band on the big screen”.

The distributor Kinowelt will release the film in Germany in spring 2008.

Press Office

January 17, 2008

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2008

Wettbewerb

15.01.2008:
Weltpremiere von Martin Scorseses Shine a Light eröffnet die 58. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin

Der Rolling Stones Konzertfilm Shine a Light von Oscar®-Gewinner Martin Scorsese eröffnet am 7. Februar 2008 in Anwesenheit von Regisseur und den Rolling Stones die Berlinale. Erstmalig wird der Festivalauftakt mit einem Dokumentarfilm gefeiert.

Scorsese hat ein preisgekröntes Kamerateam zusammengestellt, um die Energie der größten Rock’n Roll Band der Welt in zwei Konzerten im Beacon Theatre, N.Y. am 29. Oktober und 1. November 2006 einzufangen. Mit 16 Kameras wurden mehr als eine halbe Million Fuß (152 400 Meter) Konzertfilmmaterial gedreht. Die beiden Konzerte mit Special Guest Auftritten von Jack White von den White Stripes, Christina Aguilera und Buddy Guy bilden das Herzstück des Films. Shine a Light zeigt auch seltenes Archivmaterial, aktuelle Aufnahmen und Interviews hinter den Kulissen. Durch das umfangreiche Filmmaterial und die Intimität des Rahmens hat Scorsese ein außergewöhnliches musikalisches Filmereignis geschaffen und den Zuschauern einen noch nie da gewesenen Zugang zu den Rolling Stones auf der Bühne und dahinter gewährt. Mit im Team von Kameramann und Oscar®-Gewinner Robert Richardson (The Aviator, JFK) sind Oscar®-Gewinner John Toll
(Der Letzte Samurai, Braveheart), Oscar®-Gewinner Andrew Lesnie
(Herr der Ringe Trilogie, King Kong), die für einen Oscar® nominierten Stuart Dryburgh (Das Piano, The Painted Veil), Robert Elswit (Magnolia, Good Night and Good Luck) und Emmanuel Lubezki (Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, Sleepy Hollow), sowie auch Ellen Kuras
(Summer of Sam, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind).

Shine a Light wurde von Steve Bings Shangri-La Entertainment und dem langjährigen Stones Tour Promoter Michael Cohls Concert Promotions International produziert.

“Wir freuen uns sehr, die Weltpremiere dieses großartigen Films bei unserer diesjährigen Eröffnung zu zeigen“, sagt Berlinale Direktor Dieter Kosslick. ”Martin Scorsese hat die pure Essenz einer Kult-Band auf der großen Leinwand festgehalten: Let’s rock.“

Der Verleih Kinowelt startet Shine a Light im Frühjahr 2008 in den deutschen Kinos.

Presseabteilung

15. Januar 2008