Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

The Living End: Remixed and Remastered

## ##

THE LIVING END: REMIXED AND REMASTERED

Shown in the Panorama section of the Berlinale in 1992, Gregg Araki’s gay road movie THE LIVING END has become a classic example of queer new wave cinema that is also an enduring record of the post-punk era.
The film’s first image – the words “fuck the world” scrawled on a graffiti-covered wall – is an apt description of the frame of mind of the film’s two protagonists Jon and Luke, two HIV positive men. Luke is a sexy drifter; Jon a disoriented novelist who has just found out that he is virus positive. Both are stuck in Los Angeles, a city that seems cold and hostile and full of serial killers who seem to have it in for lesbians; a city of twisted characters, hysterical spouse murderers and dangerous homophobes.
Jon and Luke meet by chance and begin a stormy love affair. Then Luke in­advertently kills a cop and the pair goes on the run. In San Francisco someone they considered a friend slams the door in their face. And so, with no destination and no idea where to go, they embark on an odyssey replete with sexual excesses that takes them through the existential void that calls itself America.
This is a restored version of Gregg Araki’s film: for this screening, the original 16mm print was cleaned and digitalised. THE LIVING END subsequently received new colour matching and the sound was remixed.

USA 1992, 85 min

by

Gregg Araki

with

Mike Dytri
Craig Gilmore
Mary Woronov
Mark Finch
Johanna Went

World Sales

Fortissimo Films

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

The Living End: Remixed and Remastered

## ##

THE LIVING END

Mit seinem schwulen Roadmovie THE LIVING END (das schon 1992 im Berli­nale-Panorama lief) hat Gregg Araki einen Klassiker des „Queer New Wave Cinema“ geschaffen – und zugleich ein bis heute gültiges Dokument der Post-Punk-Ära.
Schon das erste Bild – „Fuck The World“, auf eine Mauer voller Graffiti ge­sprüht – beschreibt ziemlich treffend die Verfassung der beiden Protago­nis­ten Jon und Luke, zweier HIV-positiver Männer. Luke ist sexy und lässt sich treiben; Jon, ein desorientierter Schriftsteller, hat gerade erst erfahren, dass er virus-positiv ist. Beide sitzen in Los Angeles fest. Die Stadt scheint kalt und feindlich, voll von Serienkillern, die es auf Lesben abgesehen haben, von ver­drehten Gestalten, hysterischen Gattenmördern und gemeingefähr­li­chen Schwulenhassern.
Jon und Luke treffen zufällig aufeinander und beginnen ein stürmisches Lie­bes­verhältnis. Als Luke unbeabsichtigt einen Polizisten tötet, müssen bei­de fliehen. In San Francisco schlägt ihnen ein angeblicher Freund die Tür vor der Nase zu. Ohne Richtung und Ziel begeben sie sich auf eine Odyssee, die geprägt ist von sexuellen Exzessen und sie durch eine sterile, existenzielle Leere führt, die sich Amerika nennt.
Gregg Arakis Film liegt nun in einer restaurierten Fassung vor: Für die Wie­deraufführung wurde die originale 16-mm-Kopie gereinigt und digitalisiert, anschließend wurde THE LIVING END neu farbbestimmt und neu abgemischt.

USA 1992, 85 Min

von

Gregg Araki

mit

Mike Dytri
Craig Gilmore
Mary Woronov
Mark Finch
Johanna Went

Weltvertrieb

Fortissimo Films