Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Wild Combination: A Portrait of Arthur Russell

##

WILD COMBINATION: A PORTRAIT OF ARTHUR RUSSELL

American cellist Arthur Russell (1952 –1992) made a name for himself as a singer, composer and producer. His music was where dance floor met the avant-garde; the musicians he worked with included the likes of Philip Glass and David Byrne. He created disco hits, but also left behind meditative sounds.
Russell was born and grew up in a small town in Iowa named Oskaloosa. As a teenager he was a fan of Timothy Leary, John Cage and the beat poets – which was why he didn’t last long in the cultural desert of the Midwest. He ran away from home and joined a Buddhist commune in San Francisco. This is where he met his long-standing mentor, Allen Ginsberg, who retrospectively dubbed Russell’s early compositions “Buddhist bubblegum music”. Some time later, the two men worked together in New York, where Russell studied at the Manhattan School of Music and had contact with proponents of avant garde music influenced by Philip Glass and John Cale. He composed ‘serious’ orchestral pieces but also recognised the artistic possibilities of modern disco music before it fell victim to commerce in clubs like Studio 54. His disco productions of the late 70s are regarded today as prototypes of garage music.
Russell lived with his friend Tom Lee in East Village. Allen Ginsberg lived next door. Russell may have striven for musical perfection – but he also suffered from paranoia. This didn’t make him an easy man to live with. During his last years before his death as a result of Aids he spent most of his time working alone. The year 1986 saw the release of his last, much-admired solo album of cello recordings, “World of Echo”. And then he sunk into oblivion. In 2007, a British tribute album was released entitled “Four Songs by Arthur Russell”. Now, this documentary portrait preserves his memory on film.

USA 2008, 70 min

by

Matt Wolf

World Sales

Forward Entertainment

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Wild Combination: A Portrait of Arthur Russell

##

WILD COMBINATION

Der amerikanische Cellist Arthur Russell (1952–1992) ist als Sänger, Kom­ponist und Produzent bekanntgeworden. In seiner Musik fanden Dance­floor und Avantgarde zusammen; zu den Musikern, mit denen er gear­beitet hat, gehören Philip Glass und David Byrne. Er hat echte Discohits geschaffen, aber auch meditative Klänge hinterlassen.
Russell kam in Oskaloosa zur Welt, einer Kleinstadt in Iowa, in der er auch aufwuchs. Schon als Teenager begeisterte er sich für Timothy Leary, John Cage und für Beat-Lyrik. In der kulturellen Einöde des Mittleren Westens hielt er es darum nicht lange aus. Er rannte von zu Hause fort und schloss sich in San Francisco einer buddhistischen Kommune an. Hier begegnete er seinem langjährigen Förderer Allen Ginsberg, der Russells frühe Kom­po­sitionen in der Rückschau „buddhistische Bubblegum Music“ nennt. Beide arbeiteten einige Zeit später auch in New York zusammen, wo Russell an der Manhattan School of Music studierte und Kontakt zur musikalischen Avantgarde um Philip Glass und John Cale fand. Er komponierte „ernste“ Orches­termusik, erkannte zugleich aber auch die künstlerischen Möglich­keiten moderner Discomusik, ehe sie in Clubs wie dem Studio 54 dem Kom­merz anheimfiel. Seine Disco-Produktionen ab Ende der 70er Jahre gel­ten heute als Prototypen von „Garage Music”.
Im East Village lebte Russell gemeinsam mit seinem Freund Tom Lee Tür an Tür mit Allen Ginsberg. Er strebte nach musikalischer Perfektion, war aber nicht frei von Paranoia. Mit Russell zusammenzuarbeiten war darum nicht leicht. In den letzten Jahren vor seinem durch Aids verursachten Tod arbeitete er im Wesentlichen allein. Mit „World of Echo“ entstand 1986 sein letztes vielbeachtetes Solo-Album mit Cello-Aufnahmen. Dann geriet er in Vergessenheit. Nach dem britischen Tribute-Album „Four Songs by Arthur Russell“, das 2007 erschien, erinnert nun auch dieses Filmporträt an ihn.

USA 2008, 70 Min

von

Matt Wolf

Weltvertrieb

Forward Entertainment