Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Generation

Buda Az Sharm Foru Rikht

Buddha collapsed out of shame

Buddha zerfiel vor Scham

## ## ##

BUDDHA COLLAPSED OUT OF SHAME

About 1,500 years ago, Buddha statues, measuring over thirty metres in height were carred into the rock at Bamian. They were the centre of a cave monastery that was once inhabited by as many as 3,000 monks. At the time, Bamian was the spiritual centre of Afghanistan. In 2001, the Taliban blew up the statues in the valley that has since been declared a world heritage site.
Bakhtay grows up nearby; she and her family live in one of the old monastery caves. But while boys of her age living in neighbouring caves are struggling to learn the alphabet, Bakhtay has to stay at home. When a girls’ school opens up on the other side of the river, Bakhtay has no greater wish than to attend so that she too can learn how to read and write. But it’s not that easy. Her mother isn’t very supportive and the boys of the neighbourhood regularly coerce Bakhtay into joining their brutal war games – the only games they know. As usual Bakhtay is their victim: they take her prisoner, and then she will be stoned to death. Bakhtay’s arduous journey across the river becomes a metaphor for Afghanistan’s own difficult transition. The rule of the Taliban may have come to an end, but overcoming illiteracy and poverty in the country will be a long process.
The film’s title refers to film director Mohsen Makhmalbaf’s reaction when he saw the blown-up Buddha statues: “Even a statue can collapse out of shame when confronted with all the violence and hardship against innocent people.”

Iran / France 2007, 81 min

by

Hana Makhmalbaf

with

Nikbakht Noruz
Abbas Alijome
Abdolali Hoseinali

World Sales

Wild Bunch

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation

Buda Az Sharm Foru Rikht

Buddha collapsed out of shame

Buddha zerfiel vor Scham

## ## ##

BUDDHA ZERFIEL VOR SCHAM

Vor 1500 Jahren wurden die über 30 Meter hohen Buddhastatuen in die Fel­sen von Bamian geschlagen. Sie bildeten das Zentrum eines Klosters, in des­sen Höhlen einst bis zu 3000 Mönche lebten. Damals war Bamian das spirituelle Zentrum Afghanistans. 2001 sprengten die Taliban die Statuen in dem mittlerweile zum Welt­kulturerbe erklärten Tal.
In unmittelbarer Nähe dieser Stätte wächst Bakhtay auf. Sie lebt mit ihrer Familie in einer der Höhlen des ehemaligen Klosters. Wäh­rend die gleichalt­rigen Jungen aus den Nachbarhöhlen mit dem Alphabet kämpfen, muss Bakhtay zu Hause bleiben. Als auf der anderen Seite des Flusses eine Mäd­chen­schule eröffnet wird, hat Bakhtay keinen anderen Wunsch, als dort Lesen und Schreiben zu lernen. Doch das ist leicht gesagt. In ihrer Mutter findet sie keine Unterstützerin und die Nach­bars­jun­gen treiben mit Bakhtay ihre brutalen Spiele. Sie spielen, was sie kennen – Krieg. Und Bakhtay ist immer ihr Opfer. Sie wird gefangengenommen, soll gesteinigt werden – Bakhtays be­schwerlicher Weg an den Jungenbanden vorbei über den Fluss wird zum Sinnbild für den schwierigen Wand­lungs­pro­zess in Afgha­nis­tan. Zwar ist die Talibanherrschaft gebrochen, doch es wird noch ein langer Weg zurückzulegen sein, bis Analphabetentum und Armut in Afghanistan überwunden sind.
Der Filmtitel bezieht sich auf ein Zitat Mohsen Makh­mal­bafs, der angesichts der gesprengten Buddhastatuen sagte: „Sogar eine Statue kann sich schämen, wenn sie all diese Gewalt und Härte gegen unschuldige Menschen sieht und deshalb einstürzt.“

Iran / Frankreich 2007, 81 Min

von

Hana Makhmalbaf

mit

Nikbakht Noruz
Abbas Alijome
Abdolali Hoseinali

Weltvertrieb

Wild Bunch