Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Maré, nossa historia de amor

Another Love Story

## ##

ANOTHER LOVE STORY

A Brazilian version of ‘West Side Story’ powered by hip hop, rap, funk and samba rhythms. Inspired by the story of ‘Romeo and Juliet’, the film tells the story of the forbidden love between two young people living in a favela where two rival gangs of drug dealers hold sway. Analídia is a relative of the leader of one of these gangs, and Jonathan the relative of the boss of the other gang. These two meet in a dance troupe led by Fernanda, who tries to mediate between the two gangs.
Jonathan is the local DJ. He dreams of one day making his own CD. But Jonathan is torn between two brothers. On the one hand there’s Paulo, an upstanding idealist and Samba fan. His antagonist is his adopted brother, Dudu, who promises to support Jonathan’s career with drug money.
One day, Analídia moves to their part of town. After her father’s arrest she is now personally protected by her cousin Bê, who is Dudu’s rival. The neutral ground of the dance troupe is the only place where she and Jonathan can meet. For the other inhabitants of Marés the dance company represents a way of escaping the drug war that rages on the streets around them. But the violence escalates. And threatens to put an end to Jonathan and Analídia’s happiness.

Brazil / France / Uruguay 2007, 105 min

by

Lúcia Murat

with

Cristina Lago
Vinicius D'Black
Marisa Orth
Jefchander Lucas
Anjo Lopes
Elisa Lucinda
Flávio Bauraqui
Malu Galli
Babu Santana

World Sales

Wide

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Maré, nossa historia de amor

Another Love Story

## ##

MARÉ, EINE AANDERE LIEBESGESCHICHTE

Eine „West Side Story“ auf Brasilianisch, vorangetrieben von Hip-Hop, Rap, Funk- und Samba-Rhythmen. Inspiriert von „Romeo und Julia“ erzählt der Film von der verbotenen Liebe zweier junger Leute in einer Favela. Zwei rivalisierende Drogenbanden stehen sich hier gegenüber. Analídia ist eine Angehörige des Anführers der einen Gang, Jonathan ein Verwandter des Chefs der anderen. Die beiden lernen sich in einer Tanzgruppe kennen. Deren Leiterin ist Fernanda. Sie bemüht sich, zwischen den Gangs zu vermitteln.
Jonathan ist der DJ des Viertels. Sein großer Traum ist eine eigene CD. Dabei ist Jonathan zwischen zwei Brüdern hin und her gerissen. Auf der einen Seite steht Paulo, ein aufrechter Idealist und Samba-Fan. Dessen Antagonist ist der adoptierte Bruder Dudu, der verspricht, Jonathans Karriere mit Gel­dern aus dem Drogengeschäft voranzubringen.
Dann zieht Analídia ins Viertel. Nachdem ihr Vater verhaftet worden ist, steht sie nun unter dem persönlichen Schutz ihres Cousins Bê, des Kon­kurrenten von Dudu. Nur in der Tanzgruppe, auf neutralem Terrain, können sie und Jonathan sich treffen. Und auch für die anderen Bewohner Marés ist die Tanzkompanie eine Möglichkeit, dem Drogenkrieg auf den Straßen zu entkommen. Doch die Gewalt nimmt zu. Und sie bedroht auch das Glück von Jonathan und Analídia.

Brasilien / Frankreich / Uruguay 2007, 105 Min

von

Lúcia Murat

mit

Cristina Lago
Vinicius D'Black
Marisa Orth
Jefchander Lucas
Anjo Lopes
Elisa Lucinda
Flávio Bauraqui
Malu Galli
Babu Santana

Weltvertrieb

Wide