Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2007

Awards

Jan 30, 2007:
Berlinale Cameras for Gianni Minà, Márta Mészáros, Dorothea Moritz and Ron Holloway

The Berlin International Film Festival has been presenting the Berlinale Camera since 1986 to film personalities or institutions to whom they feel particularly indebted – and to whom they wish to express their appreciation in the form of this special honour. Since 2004, the award has been donated by the Dusseldorf Jeweller, Georg Hornemann.

In recognition of their services to cinema, the Italian television journalist and documentary maker, Gianni Minà, the Hungarian film director, Márta Mészáros, and the journalists Dorothea Moritz and Ron Holloway will be honoured with a Berlinale Camera at the 57th Berlinale.

The Italian journalist and documentary maker, Gianni Minà most recently attracted attention for the documentary, Travelling With Che Guevara, which he showed at the Panorama section in 2004.

To mark the awarding of a Berlinale Camera to Gianni Minà, the Berlinale will be showing two of his unique documentaries which arose from his conversations with Fidel Castro and Che Guevara. The film, Cuban Memories: Un dia con Fidel (1987), is truly a historic work – the first ever in-depth interview with the Cuban leader. The documentary, Cuban Memories: Fidel cuenta el Che (1987), delivers an impressive first-hand report of the development of Che Guevara from young medic to revolutionary and not least the circumstances leading to his murder in 1967.

The Berlinale Camera will be presented to Gianni Minà on February 11 at 9.30 p.m. in the Filmpalast Berlin. Following the ceremony, the two documentaries will be screened.

The Hungarian film director, Màrta Mészáros received a Golden Bear at the Berlinale in 1975 for her drama, Örökbefogadás (Adoption). The film marked her international breakthrough. After completing her studies at the Moscow International Film School, Màrta Mészáros returned to her native Hungary where she began by mainly making documentaries. Her debut feature film, Eltávozott nap (The Girl, 1968), was the first Hungarian feature film directed by a woman.

The presentation of the Berlinale Camera to Màrta Mészáros will take place on February 13 at 9.30 p.m. in the Filmpalast Berlin. Following the ceremony, her film Örökbefogadás will be shown.

The Berlinale has been associated with Ron Holloway for many years. As early as 1976, Ron Holloway contributed to the diversification of the programme. In 1979 he founded, together with his wife Dorothea Moritz, the English language journal, “KINO German Film & International Reports” which is solely dedicated to German film. Dorothea Moritz and Ron Holloway combine their industry knowledge and their passion for film to report internationally on German film making. The actress Dorothea Moritz has been selecting films for the Berlinale for 19 years; Ron Holloway has also worked as a documentary maker.

On the occasion of the presentation of the Berlinale Camera to the director and film journalist Ron Holloway, the festival is to show his documentary, Parajanov. This documentary portraits the celebrated Armenian director Sergej Parajanov (1924-1990), who aroused the suspicions of the Soviet leadership with the at times surrealistic imagery in his films.

Dorothea Moritz and Ron Holloway will be awarded the Berlinale Camera on February 16 at 9.30 p.m. in the Filmpalast Berlin. After the ceremony, Ron Holloway’s documentary, Parajanov – a Requiem (1994), will be shown.

Press Office

January 30, 2007

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2007

Preise und Ehrungen

30.01.2007:
Berlinale Kameras für Gianni Minà, Márta Mészáros, Dorothea Moritz und Ron Holloway

Mit der Berlinale Kamera zeichnen die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin seit 1986 Filmpersönlichkeiten oder Institutionen aus, denen sie sich besonders verbunden fühlen – und denen sie mit dieser Ehrung ihren Dank ausdrücken möchten. Die Auszeichnung wird seit 2004 von dem Düsseldorfer Juwelier Georg Hornemann gestiftet.

Für ihre Verdienste um den Film werden bei der 57. Berlinale der italienische Fernsehjournalist und Dokumentarfilmer Gianni Minà, die ungarische Filmregisseurin Márta Mészáros, sowie die Journalisten Dorothea Moritz und Ron Holloway mit einer Berlinale Kamera geehrt.

Der italienische Journalist und Dokumentarfilmer Gianni Minà hat zuletzt mit der Dokumentation Travelling With Che Guevara, mit dem er 2004 im Panorama zu Gast war, auf sich aufmerksam gemacht.

Anlässlich der Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera an Gianni Minà zeigt die Berlinale zwei seiner einzigartigen Dokumentationen, die aus Gesprächen mit Fidel Castro und Che Guevara entstanden sind. Ein historisches Dokument ist der Film Cuban Memories: Un dia con Fidel (1987), das erste ausführliche Interview mit dem kubanischen Staatschef überhaupt. Die Dokumentation Cuban Memories: Fidel cuenta el Che (1987) liefert einen beeindruckenden Bericht aus erster Hand über die Entwicklung Che Guevaras vom jungen Mediziner zum Revolutionär und nicht zuletzt über die Umstände, die 1967 zu seiner Ermordung führten.

Gianni Minà wird die Berlinale Kamera am 11. Februar um 21.30 Uhr im Filmpalast Berlin überreicht. Im Anschluss an die Verleihung werden die beiden Dokumentarfilme gezeigt.

Die ungarische Filmregisseurin Márta Mészáros wurde 1975 für ihr Drama Örökbefogadás (Die Adoption) mit dem Goldenen Bären der Berlinale ausgezeichnet. Der Film markierte den internationalen Durchbruch der Regisseurin. Nach ihrem Studium an der Filmhochschule Moskau kehrte Márta Mészáros 1956 nach Ungarn zurück, wo sie zunächst vor allem Dokumentarfilme drehte. Ihr erster Spielfilm Eltávozott nap (Das Mädchen, 1968) war der erste von einer Frau gedrehte ungarische Spielfilm.

Die Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera an Márta Mészáros findet am 13. Februar um 21.30 Uhr im Filmpalast Berlin statt. Im Anschluss an die Zeremonie wird ihr Film Örökbefogadás (Die Adoption, 1975) gezeigt.

Der Berlinale ist der Journalist Ron Holloway seit Langem verbunden. Bereits 1976 hat Ron Holloway zur Diversifikation der Programme beigetragen. Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau Dorothea Moritz gründete er 1979 das englischsprachige Filmjournal „KINO German Film & International Reports“, das sich ausschließlich dem deutschen Film widmet. Mit Leidenschaft und Fachwissen berichten Dorothea Moritz und Ron Holloway auf internationaler Ebene über das deutsche Filmschaffen. Die Schauspielerin Dorothea Moritz hat 19 Jahre lang für die Berlinale Filme ausgewählt, Ron Holloway hat auch als Dokumentarfilmer gearbeitet.

Anlässlich der Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera an den Regisseur und Filmjournalisten Ron Holloway zeigt das Festival dessen Dokumentarfilm Parajanov. 1994 entstand dieses dokumentarische Porträt des gefeierten armenischen Regisseurs Sergej Parajanov (1924-1990), der mit der teils surrealen Bilderwelt seiner Filme den Argwohn der sowjetischen Regierenden erregte.

Am 16. Februar um 21.30 Uhr werden Dorothea Moritz und Ron Holloway im Filmpalast Berlin mit einer Berlinale Kamera geehrt. Im Anschluss an die Verleihung wird Ron Holloways Dokumentarfilm Parajanov - ein Requiem (1994) gezeigt.

Presseabteilung

30. Januar 2007