Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2007

Berlinale Talent Campus

Jul 27, 2006:
Berlinale Talent Campus #5 - Press Release No 1

HOME AFFAIRS - privacy, films and politics

Berlinale Talent Campus #5, February 10th-15th, 2007

The time has come for young filmmakers from around the world to apply for the 2007 Berlinale Talent Campus. As the House of World Cultures will be closed for renovation, the 2007 edition of the Campus will take place at a new location. We are pleased to call the “Hebbel-Theater am Ufer” (HAU) our home for next year’s festival. The three buildings, HAU1, HAU2 and HAU3 provide all the necessary amenities for the richly diverse programme of lectures, discussions, workshops and exchange of ideas for future projects, not excluding the breathing room required for informal networking sessions between Talents. Building upon the experience of the previous four pioneer years, the Berlinale Talent Campus intends to integrate even more cohesively with the ongoing events of the festival. This year a heavier emphasis will be put on coordinating events that will tie in films from all sections of the Berlinale and prominent guests.

Focus 2007: HOME AFFAIRS - privacy, films and politics

The 2007 Berlinale Talent Campus will focus on a current and burning theme addressed by world cinema: the search for cultural identity in a global –and globalized– film business. The sense of being “at home”, whether by choice or by circumstance, can have an enormous influence on the path of a filmmaker’s project. It is one’s “home base” that shapes every aspect of film production, starting with a first idea for a new film and leading to decisions upon the intimate or explicit political materials, the genre, format, work methods, financial models, languages and routes of distribution.

The Berlinale Talent Campus will delve into the challenges, consequences and options young filmmakers must face and will bring new strategies to the table for film producers working in an increasingly international and interwoven world.

Apply now!

The application to the Campus is available online at http://www.berlinale-talentcampus.de. Young producers, directors, actors, cinematographers, screenplay writers, editors, production designers, film score composers and sound designers are encouraged to apply. Admission criteria include, amongst others, providing a one-minute film sample. Participants from abroad are provided with complementary housing and a partial reimbursement of their travel expenses. The application deadline is November 1rst, 2006.

Press Service: June 27, 2006

info@berlinale-talentcampus.de

The Berlinale Talent Campus is an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, a business division of the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, in co-operation with MEDIA Training programme of the European Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset and UK Film Council as well as Volkswagen.

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2007

Berlinale Talent Campus

27.07.2006:
Berlinale Talent Campus #5 - Pressemitteilung Nr. 1

HOME AFFAIRS - privacy, films and politics

Berlinale Talent Campus #5 vom 10.-15. Februar 2007

Es ist wieder so weit: Ab sofort können sich junge Filmschaffende aus aller Welt für die Teilnahme am nächsten Berlinale Talent Campus 2007 bewerben. Aufgrund der Renovierungsarbeiten im „Haus der Kulturen der Welt“ wird der Campus 2007 an einem neuen Ort stattfinden. Wir freuen uns sehr im „Hebbel-Theater am Ufer“ die ideale Heimat für das kommende Festival gefunden zu haben. Die drei Häuser HAU1, HAU2 und HAU3 bieten beste Voraussetzungen für das facettenreichen Programm, bestehend aus Vorträgen, Diskussionen, Workshops und den offiziellen Kontaktbörsen für zukünftige Projekte - mit ausreichend Raum für das informelle „networking“ der Talente. Mit der Erfahrung der ersten vier Pionierjahre soll 2007 der Berlinale Talent Campus noch stärker in das Festivalgeschehen integriert werden. Veranstaltungen zu Filmen aus allen Sektionen der Berlinale mit prominenten Gästen werden im Mittelpunkt stehen.

Focus 2007: HOME AFFAIRS - privacy, films and politics

Der Programmschwerpunkt des Berlinale Talent Campus 2007 widmet sich einem der brennendsten Themen der Weltcinematographie: der kulturellen Identitätssuche im globalisierten Filmgeschäft. Das frei gewählte oder vom Schicksal bestimmte „Zuhause“ eines jeden Filmschaffenden hat enormen Einfluss auf das jeweils nächste Projekt. Von der ersten Idee für den neuen Film bis hin zu Entscheidungen für sehr private oder explizit politische Stoffe, für Genres, Formate, Arbeitsweisen, Finanzierungsmodelle, Sprachen und Distributionsformen sind nahezu alle Bereiche der Filmproduktion von der „home base“ geprägt.

Der Berlinale Talent Campus wird sich mit den Herausforderungen, Konsequenzen und Optionen für Filmschaffende beschäftigen und neue Strategien für Filmproduzenten in einer immer stärker international vernetzen Welt diskutieren.

Jetzt bewerben!

Die Bewerbung für den Campus erfolgt online auf
http://www.berlinale-talentcampus.de. Zugelassen sind junge Produzenten, Regisseure, Schauspieler, Kameraleute, Drehbuchautoren, Filmcutter, Production Designer, Filmkomponisten und Sound Designer. Bedingung ist unter anderem die Einsendung eines einminütigen Bewerbungsfilms. Teilnehmer aus dem Ausland erhalten kostenlose Unterkunft und einen Teil der Reisekosten. Bewerbungsschluss ist der 1. November 2006.

Presseabteiung, 27. Juni 2006

info@berlinale-talentcampus.de

Der Berlinale Talent Campus ist eine Initiative der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, ein Geschäftsbereich der Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH, in Kooperation mit MEDIA Training Programme of the European Union, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Skillset und UK Film Council und Volkswagen.