Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2007

International Jury

Paul Schrader

Paul Schrader (USA)

American Gigolo is the best-known film directed by Jury President Paul Schrader. Though it was with the screenplay to Taxi Driver that he made film history (1976). By continuing his collaboration with director Martin Scorsese, he also went on to celebrate success with Raging Bull (1980) and The Last Temptation of Christ (1988). Schrader gave his directorial debut in 1978 with Blue Collar. It was followed, for instance, by Mishima in 1985. His film adaptation of The Comfort of Strangers (1991), a novel by Ian McEwan, with a script by Nobel Prize winner Harold Pinter, was outstanding. Schrader screened his crime drama Light Sleeper in the 1992 Berlinale Competition.

Hiam Abbass

Hiam Abbass (Palestine)

Palestinian actress Hiam Abbass also writes screenplays and directs films. Abbass, who lives in Paris, has starred in excellent films over the past years. For example, she displayed her versatility in Red Satin (2002) and then again as The Syrian Bride (2004). Most recently she performed in Hany Abu-Assad’s Paradise Now (2005) and Steven Spielberg’s Munich (2005).

Mario Adorf / © Nik Konietzny

Mario Adorf (Germany)

With Mario Adorf, this year’s jury includes a connoisseur of German cinema. More than 120 film and television roles have made him one of the most famous actors in Germany. Adorf has starred in films such as Volker Schlöndorff’s The Lost Honour of Katharina Blum and The Tin Drum, in Fassbinder’s Lola and in Helmut Dietl’s Rossini. He has also performed in many international productions – including films by Claude Chabrol, Sergio Corbucci, Sam Peckinpah and Billy Wilder, among others.

Willem Dafoe

Willem Dafoe (USA)

Willem Dafoe is one of the most highly esteemed actors from the USA and is seen as a master of intriguing dark characters. After his debut in Michael Cimino’s Heaven’s Gate (1980), he won worldwide acclaim as a soldier in Oliver Stone’s Platoon (1986). He has given brilliant performances in blockbusters like Spider-Man as well as in arthouse productions by David Cronenberg, Lars von Trier or Martin Scorsese. Dafoe is also well-known for his stage performances, in particular for his work with the legendary “Wooster Group”.

Gael Garcia Bernal / © Eva Vermandel

Gael García Bernal (Mexico)

Since his screen debut in the Oscar nominated Love’s a Bitch by Alejandro González Iñárritu, Mexican actor Gael García Bernal is not just a celebrated star in his own country. Walter Salles cast him as Che Guevara in The Motorcycle Diaries and Pedro Almodóvar in Bad Education. In 2006, Bernal could be seen in the Berlinale Competition film The Science of Sleep by Michel Gondry and in Iñárritu’s tremendously successful Babel.

Nansun SHI / © Teo Keng Beng

Nansun Shi (Hong Kong, China)

Film producer Nansun Shi from Hong Kong has been described by Variety magazine as one of the 50 most influential indie filmmakers around the world. One of the biggest successes of her 20-year career was the prize-winning Hong Kong thriller Infernal Affairs, on which Scorsese based The Departed. In addition she produced Tsui Hark’s epic martial-arts movie Seven Swords, which opened the Venice Biennale in 2005.

Molly Malene Stensgaard

Molly Malene Stensgaard (Denmark)

Film editor Molly Malene Stensgaard from Denmark has worked on almost every film made by her fellow countryman Lars von Trier – from the series The Kingdom to The Idiots, Dancer in the Dark, Dogville and Manderlay. In doing so she has left her mark on Danish cinema. In addition, she has worked, for example, with director Anette K. Olesen, whose film In Your Hands screened in the Berlinale Competition three years ago.

Best First Feature Jury

Judy Counihan (United Kingdom)

Judy Counihan’s film and television producer career has so far spanned 18 successful years. Two of her films, Antonia (1995) and No Man’s Land (2001), have been awarded the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film. She also produced the war drama Before the Rain (1994) which won, amongst other awards, the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival.

Niki Karimi (Iran)

Teheran born, Niki Karimi is one of the best known Iranian actresses today. She has received numerous prizes at festivals at home and abroad, including Best Actress in San Sebastián (Sara, 1995), Taormina (Two women, 1999) as well as in Cairo (Hidden Half, 2001). Her directorial debut came in 2001 with the documentary To Have or not to Have, which dealt with the difficulties experienced by childless couples. She presented her first feature One night in Un certain regard in Cannes 2005 and her second feature A few days later in Toronto in 2006.

Gerhard Meixner (Germany)

Gerhard Meixner is a graduate of the University of Television and Film in Munich. In 2002 he founded the production company Razor Film, together with Roman Paul. He registered his first success as a producer with Hany Abu-Assad’s drama Paradise Now, which picked up an award at the Berlinale as well as being nominated for an Oscar. Following this, he has been involved in Der Lebensversicherer (Running on Empty - winner of the “Dialogue en perspective” Award at the Berlinale 2006) and the MTV co-production, Die Aufschneider.

International Short Film Jury

Peace Anyiam-Fiberesima (Nigeria)

Qualified lawyer, Peace Anyiam-Fiberesima is today known as one of the most significant personalities in the African film industry. She founded the African Academy which presents all meaningful African film awards and is President of the African Movie Academy Awards. The boom in the Nigerian home video market is largely due to the efforts of Peace Anyiam-Fiberesima. Her successes of note as a producer include the films Blind Date and Fear of the Unknown 1 & 2.

Riina Sildos (Estonia)

Riina Sildos ist mit der wirtschaftlichen und der künstlerischen Seite des Filmemachens gleichermaßen vertraut. Sie begann als Filmkritikerin, wurde 1998 Mitbegründerin des Internationalen Film Festivals in Tallinn und war von 2000 bis 2003 Vorsitzende der Estnischen Filmstiftung. Als selbstständige Produzentin hat sie unter anderem die Dokumentation Wounds of Afghanistan sowie den ersten baltischen Animationsspielfilm Lotte from Gadgetville betreut, der im diesjährigen Berlinale-Programm von Generation zu sehen ist.

Ning Ying (People's Republic of China)

Ning Ying is widely considered one of the greatest directing talents out of China. Her international successes include Love Beijing (2001), the final part of a trilogy about people in her home city, Peking. The film was shown at the Berlinale in the Forum in 2001. For the documentary, Railroad of Hope (Forum 2002), Ning Ying was awarded the “Grand Prix du Cinemá du Réel” in Paris. Two years ago, Ning Ying presented her most recent film Perpetual Motion at numerous international film festivals.

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

Generation Kplus International Jury

The International Jury of the Generation Kplus competition awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2007 are: Andreas Steinhöfel, Sitora Alieva, Justin Johnson, Leontine Petit, and Reza Bagher.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2007

Internationale Jury

Paul Schrader

Paul Schrader (USA)

Ein Mann für gewisse Stunden lautet der deutsche Verleihtitel von American Gigolo, der bekanntesten Regiearbeit des Jury-Präsidenten Paul Schrader. Filmgeschichte schrieb er allerdings mit dem Drehbuch zu Taxi Driver (1976). In der Zusammenarbeit mit Regisseur Martin Scorsese feierte er Erfolge mit Wie ein wilder Stier (1980) und Die letzte Versuchung Christi (1988). Sein Regiedebüt gab Schrader 1978 mit Blue Collar. Es folgte u.a. 1985 Mishima. Herausragend war seine Verfilmung des Romans The Comfort of Strangers (1991) von Ian McEwan mit Nobelpreisträger Harold Pinter als Drehbuchautor. Im Berlinale-Wettbewerb 1992 präsentierte Schrader sein Kriminaldrama Light Sleeper.

Hiam Abbass

Hiam Abbass (Palästina)

Die palästinensische Schauspielerin Hiam Abbass schreibt Drehbücher und führt Regie. Die in Paris lebende Schauspielerin hat in herausragenden Filmen der vergangenen Jahre mitgewirkt, so zeigte sie ihre Wandlungsfähigkeit in Satin Rouge und spielte 2004 Die syrische Braut. Zuletzt wirkte sie in Hany Abu-Assads Paradise Now (2005) und Steven Spielbergs München (2005) mit.

Mario Adorf / © Nik Konietzny

Mario Adorf (Deutschland)

Mit Mario Adorf ist ein Kenner des deutschen Kinos Mitglied der Jury. Weit über 120 Film- und Fernsehrollen haben ihn zu einem der bekanntesten Schauspieler Deutschlands gemacht. Adorf spielte in Filmen wie Volker Schlöndorffs Die verlorene Ehre der Katharina Blum und Die Blechtrommel, in Fassbinders Lola und in Helmut Dietls Rossini. Darüber hinaus wirkte er in zahlreichen internationalen Produktionen mit – u.a. von Claude Chabrol, Sergio Corbucci, Sam Peckinpah und Billy Wilder.

Willem Dafoe

Willem Dafoe (USA)

Willem Dafoe gehört zu den profiliertesten US-Schauspielern und gilt als Meister der abgründigen Charaktere. Nach seinem Debüt in Michael Ciminos Heaven´s Gate (1980) erregte er 1986 als Soldat in Oliver Stones Platoon weltweit Aufmerksamkeit. Er beeindruckte in Blockbustern wie Spider-Man ebenso wie in Arthouse-Produktionen von David Cronenberg, Lars von Trier oder Martin Scorsese. Auch als Theaterschauspieler ist Dafoe sehr anerkannt, insbesondere durch die Arbeit mit der legendären „Wooster Group“.

Gael Garcia Bernal / © Eva Vermandel

Gael García Bernal (Mexiko)

Der mexikanische Schauspieler Gael García Bernal ist seit seinem Kinodebüt im Oscar-nominierten Amores Perros von Alejandro González Iñárritu nicht nur in seiner Heimat ein gefeierter Star. Walter Salles besetzte ihn als Che Guevara in Die Reise des jungen Che und Pedro Almodóvar in La mala educacíon – Schlechte Erziehung. 2006 war Bernal in Michel Gondrys Berlinale-Wettbewerbsfilm Science of Sleep – Anleitung zum Träumen zu sehen sowie in Iñárritus Kinoerfolg Babel.

Nansun SHI / © Teo Keng Beng

Nansun Shi (Hongkong, China)

Die Filmproduzentin Nansun Shi gehört zu den "50 einflussreichsten Machern im internationalen Filmgeschäft", so das Branchenfachblatt Variety. Einer der großen Erfolge in ihrer 20-jährigen Karriere ist der preisgekrönte Hongkong-Thriller Infernal Affairs, der die Vorlage für Scorseses Departed bildete. Außerdem produzierte sie das Martial-Arts-Epos Die sieben Schwerter von Tsui Hark, der 2005 die Biennale in Venedig eröffnete.

Molly Malene Stensgaard

Molly Malene Stensgaard (Dänemark)

Die Cutterin Molly Malene Stensgaard aus Dänemark schnitt fast alle Filme ihres Landsmannes Lars von Trier - von der Serie Hospital der Geister über Idioten, Dancer in the Dark, bis zu Dogville und Manderlay und hat somit den dänischen Film mit ihrer Handschrift geprägt. Sie arbeitete unter anderem auch für die Regisseurin Anette K. Olesen, deren Film Forbrydelser (In deinen Händen) vor drei Jahren im Berlinale-Wettbewerb zu sehen war.

Jury Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Judy Counihan (Großbritannien)

Seit 18 Jahren ist die in London geborene Judy Counihan erfolgreich als Film- und Fernsehproduzentin tätig. Mit Antonias Welt (1995) und No Man’s Land (2001) wurden zwei ihrer Projekte mit einem Oscar für den besten fremdsprachigen Film ausgezeichnet. Sie produzierte außerdem das Kriegsdrama Before the Rain (Vor dem Regen, 1994), das unter anderem mit dem Goldenen Löwen von Venedig ausgezeichnet wurde.

Niki Karimi (Iran)

Die in Teheran geborene Niki Karimi gehört zu den bekanntesten iranischen Schauspielerinnen. Auf Festivals im In- und Ausland hat sie zahlreiche Preise erhalten, darunter Auszeichnungen als beste Schauspielerin in San Sebastián (Sara, 1995), Taormina (Two women, 1999) und Kairo (Hidden Half, 2001). Ihr Debüt als Regisseurin feierte sie 2001 mit der Dokumentation To Have or not to Have, in der es um die Probleme von kinderlosen Paaren geht. Ihren ersten Spielfilm One night präsentierte sie 2005 in Cannes in der Reihe Un certain regard. Ihr zweiten Spielfilm A few days later hatte beim Festival in Toronto 2006 Premiere.

Gerhard Meixner (Deutschland)

Gerhard Meixner besuchte die Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen in München. 2002 gründete er mit Roman Paul die Produktionsfirma Razor Film. Einen ersten Erfolg als Produzent feierte Meixner mit dem Berlinale ausgezeichneten und Oscar-nominierten Drama Paradise Now von Hany Abu-Assad. Es folgten unter anderem Der Lebensversicherer (Gewinner „Dialogue en perspective“ bei der Berlinale 2006) sowie die MTV-Koproduktion Die Aufschneider

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Peace Anyiam-Fiberesima (Nigeria)

Die studierte Juristin ist heute als Produzentin eine der wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten in der afrikanischen Filmindustrie. Sie gründete die African Academy, die die bedeutendsten afrikanischen Filmpreise verleiht und ist Präsidentin der African Movie Academy Awards. Der Boom des nigerianischen Home-Video-Markts verdankt sich dem Engagement von Peace Anyiam-Fiberesima. Zu ihren Erfolgen als Produzentin zählen die Filme Blind Date und Fear of the Unknown 1 & 2.

Riina Sildos (Estland)

Riina Sildos ist mit der wirtschaftlichen und der künstlerischen Seite des Filmemachens gleichermaßen vertraut. Sie begann als Filmkritikerin, wurde 1998 Mitbegründerin des Internationalen Film Festivals in Tallinn und war von 2000 bis 2003 Vorsitzende der Estnischen Filmstiftung. Als selbstständige Produzentin hat sie unter anderem die Dokumentation Wounds of Afghanistan sowie den ersten baltischen Animationsspielfilm Lotte from Gadgetville betreut, der im diesjährigen Berlinale-Programm von Generation zu sehen ist.

Ning Ying (Volksrepublik China)

Ning Ying gilt als eines der großen Regietalente Chinas. Zu ihren internationalen Erfolgen gehört I Love Beijing (2001), der letzte Teil einer Trilogie über Menschen in ihrer Heimatstadt Peking. 2001 war der Film im Forum der Berlinale zu sehen. Für die Dokumentation Railroad of Hope (Forum 2002) erhielt Ning Ying den „Grand Prix du Cinéma du Réel“ in Paris. Vor zwei Jahren stellte sie ihren jüngsten Film Perpetual Motion auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals vor.

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Die Internationale Jury des Wettbewerbs Generation Kplus vergibt den mit 7.500 Euro dotierten "Großen Preis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" an den besten Spielfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte "Spezialpreis des Deutschen Kinderhilfswerkes" geht an den besten Kurzfilm.

In die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury 2007 berufen wurden Andreas Steinhöfel, Sitora Alieva, Justin Johnson, Leontine Petit und Reza Bagher.