Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Fucking Different New York

## ##

FUCKING DIFFERENT NEW YORK

What do construction workers do in their well-earned breaks? How might Angelina Jolie's and Brad Pitt's relationship have ended? And what really happened between Marilyn Monroe and Joan Crawford during the summer of 1959?
In the portmanteau film FUCKING DIFFERENT NEW YORK, answers to these and many other interesting questions are provided by twelve queer New York filmmakers. Their films also scrutinise such topics as the difference between the way men and women dream, and how erotic tying a necktie or having a manicure can be.
Following on from the Berlin-based film FUCKING DIFFERENT which was presented in the Panorama section of the Berlinale in 2005, Kristian Peter sen asked six gay and six lesbian filmmakers from New York to make a short film taking a look at how they envisage the love life of the other sex. Each filmmaker was given a free hand in their choice of format and genre. The only requirement was that their films should not be longer than eight minutes and the final product should be on mini DV.
The result is a collection of twelve witty, illuminating and erotic short films spanning all genres which conveys the diverse spectrum of queer life in New York.
(Production notes)

Germany 2006, 70 min

by

Stephen Gallagher, Lala Endara, Todd Verow, Barbara Hammer, Andre Salas, Abigail Child, Jack Waters, Samara Halperin, Amy von Harrington, Keith Levy, Hedia Maron, Dan Borden

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Fucking Different New York

## ##

FUCKING DIFFERENT NEW YORK

Was tun Bauarbeiter in ihrer wohlverdienten Pause wirklich? Wie hätte die Beziehung zwischen Angelina Jolie und Brad Pitt durchaus auch enden können? Und was spielte sich damals im Sommer 1959 zwischen Marilyn Monroe und Joan Crawford wirklich ab?
Auf diese und noch viele weitere interessante Fragen geben uns zwölf queere Filmemacher/innen aus New York in dem Kompilationsfilm FUCKING DIFFERENT NEW YORK ihre Antworten. Auch solchen Fragen, wie unterschiedlich Männer und Frauen träumen, und wie viel Erotik im Binden eines Krawattenknotens oder einer Maniküre liegen kann, wird in den Filmen nachgegangen.
Analog zu dem 2005 im Berlinale-Panorama vorgestellten Film FUCKING DIFFERENT aus Berlin bat Kristian Petersen diesmal sechs schwule Filme ma cher und sechs lesbische Filmemacherinnen aus New York um einen kurzen Filmbeitrag, in dem sie ihre Vorstellungen vom Liebesleben des jeweils anderen Geschlechts thematisieren sollten. Die Form und das Genre waren den Filmemacher/innen freigestellt. Die einzige Vorgabe bestand in der Länge, die acht Minuten nicht überschreiten durfte, und darin, dass das Endprodukt auf Mini-DV vorliegen sollte.
Herausgekommen sind dabei zwölf lustige, erhellende und erotische Kurzfilme, die ein vielfältiges und genreübergreifendes Spektrum queeren Lebens in New York zeigen.
(Produktionsmitteilung)

Deutschland 2006, 70 Min

von

Stephen Gallagher, Lala Endara, Todd Verow, Barbara Hammer, Andre Salas, Abigail Child, Jack Waters, Samara Halperin, Amy von Harrington, Keith Levy, Hedia Maron, Dan Borden