Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Competition

Ne touchez pas la hache

Don't Touch The Axe

Die Herzogin von Langeais

Martine Marignac (Producer)

Guillaume Depardieu (Actor)

Jeanne Balibar (Actress)

Jacques Rivette (Director)

Bulle Ogier (Actress)

Moderator: Robert Fischer

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

DON'T TOUCH THE AXE

On a mission to reinstate the Spanish king Ferdinand VII, French General Armand de Montriveau leads his troops to a Spanish island. For five long years he has scoured every convent in Europe and the New World in search of a woman he once loved desperately who has now disappeared without trace. Here at last, he finds her. He asks to speak to the nun, Thérèse ...
Paris, five years earlier. The restoration has triumphed, ushering in an era of hypocrisy, superficiality and avarice. Antoinette de Navarreins, the coquette wife of the Duke of Langeais, is a product of the epoch. Armand de Montriveau falls hopelessly in love with her the moment he sees her, and it would appear that his love is reciprocated. However, the duchess makes use of all her fashionable wiles to toy with his affections. Montriveau tries in vain to obtain irrefutable proof of her love for him, but Antoinette rebuffs him, hypocritically citing religious grounds. During a ball, Armand points to Antoinette's neck and recalls a trip to West minster: "Don't touch the axe" were the words of the guard on showing him the weapon used to behead Charles I. From this moment on, Armand de Montriveau decides to ignore his inamoratas and do everything in his power to get his revenge ...
Based on a novella from Balzac's "Comédie Humaine", Jacques Rivette's latest work is part of "The Story of the 13", an ominous and powerful secret organisation which was also the mysterious force pulling the strings in Rivette's major contemporary work OUT 1.

France / Italy 2006, 137 min

by

Jacques Rivette

with

Jeanne Balibar
Guillaume Depardieu
Bulle Ogier
Michel Piccoli

World Sales

Les Films du Losange

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Wettbewerb

Ne touchez pas la hache

Don't Touch The Axe

Die Herzogin von Langeais

Martine Marignac (Produzentin)

Guillaume Depardieu (Schauspieler)

Jeanne Balibar (Schauspielerin)

Jacques Rivette (Regisseur)

Bulle Ogier (Schauspielerin)

Moderation: Robert Fischer

 
## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

DIE HERZOGIN VON LANGEAIS

Auf einer Mission, die der Wiedereinsetzung des spanischen Königs Ferdinand VII. dient, steuert der französische General Armand de Montriveau mit seiner Truppe eine spanische Insel an. Seit fünf Jahren sucht er in den Klöstern der alten wie der neuen Welt nach einer Frau, die er verzweifelt geliebt hat und die seither spurlos verschwunden ist. Hier nun entdeckt er endlich die Gesuchte. Er bittet um ein Gespräch mit der Nonne Thérèse ...
Paris, fünf Jahre zuvor. Die Restauration hat gesiegt. Und mit ihr die Heuchelei, die Oberflächlichkeit, das Geld. Antoinette de Navarreins, die kokette Gattin des Herzogs von Langeais, ist ein Produkt dieser Epoche. Als Armand de Montriveau ihr zum ersten Mal begegnet, verliebt er sich sogleich unsterblich in sie, und es scheint, als würde seine Liebe erwidert. Tatsächlich aber macht die Herzogin sich ein Vergnügen daraus, mit ihm zu spielen. Als er unwiderlegbare Beweise für ihre Zuneigung verlangt, heuchelt sie religiöse Bedenken. Während eines Balls erzählt Armand, den Blick auf den Hals der schönen Herzogin gerichtet, von einem Besuch in Westminster. "Das Beil bitte nicht berühren", habe der Wärter zu ihm gesagt, als er ihm die Axt zeigte, mit der Charles I. enthauptet wurde. Fortan unternimmt Armand de Montriveau alles, um sich an der falschen Geliebten zu rächen ...
Jacques Rivettes jüngster Film entstand nach einer Novelle von Balzac. Innerhalb der "Comédie Humaine" ist sie Teil der "Geschichte der Dreizehn" um eine ominöse, mächtige Geheimorganisation, die schon 1970 in Rivettes großem Gegenwartsfilm OUT 1 heimlich die Fäden zog.

Frankreich / Italien 2006, 137 Min

von

Jacques Rivette

mit

Jeanne Balibar
Guillaume Depardieu
Bulle Ogier
Michel Piccoli

Weltvertrieb

Les Films du Losange