Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Generation

Razzle Dazzle

## ## ## ##

RAZZLE DAZZLE

The atmosphere is tense and stage-fright has gripped all those taking part in Australia's most important dance competition, the "Sanosafe Troupe Spectacular", in which only the country's top dance schools can take part. Five-fold champion Miss Elizabeth is openly confident that she will lead her Talent Academy to victory and is employing a mixture of regimented weighins, public humiliation and fake praise to make sure they defend their place. Some have been known to call her teaching methods outrageous; unperturbed, she continues to run her school with an iron fist. Miss Elizabeth takes orders from no-one.
However, at another dance school not far away, Mr Jonathon is busy training his eleven protégés for the big competition. Mr Jonathon is a man with a vision; he doesn't only want to entertain, he sees his choreography as an art form that could change the world. There's simply too much injustice in our lives, he believes, and finds it impossible to turn his back on the oppression and violence he sees everywhere.
At last, the great day dawns. The finalists are all on edge. The hall is packed to the rafters. The moment of truth has arrived. Will Miss Elizabeth walk away with the title for the sixth time, or will Mr Jonathon make it? He and his pupils have rehearsed a particularly inspiring piece - about the emancipation of women in Afghanistan.

Australia 2006, 88 min

by

Darren Ashton

with

Shayni Notelovitz
Clancy Ryan
Sheridan Rynne
Kerry-Ann Thoo
Ben Miller
Kerry Armstrong
Jane Hall

World Sales

Celluloid Dreams

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation

Razzle Dazzle

## ## ## ##

RAZZLE DAZZLE

Die Anspannung ist spürbar und längst hat das Lampenfieber alle erwischt, die diesmal an Australiens wichtigstem Tanzwettbewerb teilnehmen wollen, dem "Sanosafe Troupe Spectacular", an dem nur die besten Tanzschulen des Landes teilnehmen. Die fünfmalige Siegerin Miss Elizabeth hat den Bogen am besten raus, wie sie die Tänzerinnen ihrer Talentschmiede, der "Talent Academy", durch die Anordnung von Abmagerungskuren, durch öffentliche Demütigungen und falsches Lob sicher zum Sieg führt. Manche würden sagen, ihre Lehrmethoden seien absolut indiskutabel. Dafür leitet sie ihre Schule mit eiserner Faust. Miss Elizabeth lässt sich wirklich von niemandem etwas sagen.
Ganz in ihrer Nähe gibt es mittlerweile noch eine andere Tanzschule. Hier trainiert Mr. Jonathon mit seinen Eleven für den großen Wettbewerb. Der möchte mit seinen Choreographien nicht nur unterhalten, Mr. Jonathon hat eine Vision - er möchte mit seiner Kunst die Welt verändern. Denn über das Unrecht in der Welt, die Unterdrückung und allgegenwärtige Gewalt kann er nicht hinwegsehen.
Als der große Tag endlich anbricht, liegen die Nerven der Finalisten blank. Der Saal ist bis auf den letzten Platz gefüllt. Die Stunde der Entscheidung ist da. Wird Miss Elizabeth den Titel zum sechsten Mal davontragen oder wird Mr. Jonathon es schaffen? Er hat ein besonders inspirierendes Stück mit seinen Schülern einstudiert. In dem geht es um die Frauenemanzipation in Afghanistan.

Australien 2006, 88 Min

von

Darren Ashton

mit

Shayni Notelovitz
Clancy Ryan
Sheridan Rynne
Kerry-Ann Thoo
Ben Miller
Kerry Armstrong
Jane Hall

Weltvertrieb

Celluloid Dreams