Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Generation

Kruistocht in Spijkerbroek

Crusade in Jeans

Kreuzzug in Jeans

## ## ##

CRUSADE IN JEANS

Based on a multi-award-winning novel by Thea Beckman which received the Youth Literature Award among other accolades, this film tells the story of 15-year-old Dolf who finds himself accidentally catapulted from the present day back into the 13th century, where he has to try to hold his ground amidst the turmoil of the Children's Crusade which, according to historians, took place in 1212.
Dolf's mother is a researcher. After they have a row one day, her son misuses her latest invention of a time machine to try to get to a football final on time, but finds himself transported instead to the past. All at once, 8,000 children are on the old Roman road on their way to Jerusalem in order to 'liberate' the city from Muslims. And Dolf is one of them! If he hadn't run into a girl of his own age named Jenne he would have been completely at a loss. But with Jenne's help, he learns to cope with life in the Middle Ages. Against his better judgement Dolf even finds himself among the leaders of the campaign. The priest, Anselmus, is convinced that the boy has been sent by God. But should Dolf put his faith in this religious zeal?
Ben Sombogaart: "Set in the mythical era of the Middle Ages, this is a story about an impossible journey that needs to be surmounted; it is a story in which the Gods are never far away. Dolf is a tragic and vulnerable hero obliged to survive his own personal odyssey. This is a multifaceted film, and I believe that Dolf's story should appeal to everyone. What could be better than to go to the cinema and immerse yourself in a world that otherwise only exists in our dreams and our subconscious?"

Netherlands / Germany / Luxembourg 2006, 125 min

by

Ben Sombogaart

with

Joe Flynn
Stephanie Leonidas
Emily Watson
Herbert Knaup
Benno Fürmann

World Sales

Celsius Entertainment Ltd.

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Generation

Kruistocht in Spijkerbroek

Crusade in Jeans

Kreuzzug in Jeans

## ## ##

KREUZZUG IN JEANS

Nach dem mehrfach preisgekrönten Bestseller von Thea Beckman, der unter anderem als bestes europäisches Jugendbuch ausgezeichnet wurde, erzählt der Film die Geschichte des 15-jährigen Dolf, der durch einen dummen Zufall aus der Gegenwart ins 13. Jahrhundert katapultiert wird und sich in den Wirren des - historisch verbrieften - Kinderkreuzzuges von 1212 behaupten muss.
Dolfs Mutter ist Forscherin. Als der Junge nach einem Streit mit ihr deren neueste Erfindung, eine Zeitmaschine, missbraucht, um pünktlich bei einem Fußball-Finale auf dem Platz zu stehen, gerät er unversehens in die Vergangenheit. 8.000 Kinder sind auf der alten Römerstraße auf dem Weg nach Jerusalem, um die Stadt von den Muslimen zu "befreien" - und Dolf ist mitten unter ihnen! Wenn er die gleichaltrige Jenne nicht kennen gelernt hätte, wäre er völlig hilflos gewesen. Doch mit Unterstützung des Mädchens findet er sich im Mittelalter immer besser zurecht. Ganz gegen seinen Willen wird Dolf sogar in den Kreis der Anführer des Kinderkreuzzuges aufgenommen. Der Priester Anselmus verkündet nämlich, der Junge sei von Gott gesandt. Doch kann Dolf dem religiösen Eiferer trauen?
Ben Sombogaart: "Angesiedelt in den mythischen Zeiten des Mittelalters, ist dies eine Geschichte über eine unmögliche Reise, die dennoch bewältigt werden muss; eine Geschichte, in der die Götter nie weit weg sind. Dolf ist ein tragischer und verletzbarer Held, der gegen seinen Willen seine eigene Odyssee bestehen muss. Da der Film aus ganz vielen Facetten besteht, wird Dolfs Geschichte jeden ansprechen. Was ist schöner, als ins Kino zu gehen und in eine Welt einzutauchen, die nur noch in unseren Träumen, im Unbewussten existiert?"

Niederlande / Deutschland / Luxemburg 2006, 125 Min

von

Ben Sombogaart

mit

Joe Flynn
Stephanie Leonidas
Emily Watson
Herbert Knaup
Benno Fürmann

Weltvertrieb

Celsius Entertainment Ltd.