Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Interview

## ## ## ## ##

INTERVIEW

Steve Buscemi's film is the first part of a trilogy based on the work of Theo van Gogh. When this Dutch director was murdered by a religious fundamentalist on 2 November 2004, he was planning to direct an English-language remake of his film INTERVIEW using American actors. Two more remakes are in the pipeline, to be directed by Stanley Tucci and Bob Balaban.
INTERVIEW portrays the encounter between a journalist named Pierre Peders and a young starlet named Katya in which interviewer and inter viewee both gain much more than they bargained for. Pierre has made a name for himself as a committed war reporter. It is hardly surprising that he does not have the slightest inclination to talk to a blonde woman who has gained international stardom as a result of her appearances in a series of trivial soaps. Two very different worlds collide: the world of intellect versus vanity; profundity versus hedonism. In other words: dog and cat. Or maybe not? An encounter that begins as a power struggle, takes a surprising turn ...
Gijs van de Westelaken, the triology's Dutch producer: "It was always Theo van Gogh's dream to go to America and make films in New York. This is an attempt to make his dream come true. The central theme of these works is universal: the battle of the sexes. It's very moving that Steve Buscemi, Stanley Tucci and Bob Balaban are involved in this project that will make Theo's dream a reality."

USA / Netherlands 2006, 81 min

by

Steve Buscemi

with

Sienna Miller
Steve Buscemi

World Sales

Cinemavault Releasing International

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Interview

## ## ## ## ##

INTERVIEW

Der Film von Steve Buscemi ist der erste Teil einer Trilogie, die auf Arbeiten Theo van Goghs basiert. Als der niederländische Regisseur am 2. November 2004 von einem religiösen Fundamentalisten ermordet wurde, war ein englischsprachiges Remake seines Films INTERVIEW mit amerikanischen Schauspielern unter van Goghs Regie bereits in Erwägung gezogen worden. Nunmehr werden Remakes von zwei weiteren Filmen unter der Regie von Stanley Tucci und Bob Balaban folgen.
INTERVIEW schildert die Begegnung des Journalisten Pierre Peders mit dem jungen Starlet Katya während eines Interviewtermins, bei dem sich Frager und Befragte intensiver kennen lernen, als dies von beiden beabsichtigt war. Pierre hat sich einen Namen als engagierter Kriegsreporter gemacht. Es ist darum kein Wunder, dass er nicht die geringste Lust hat, die durch be langlose Soap Operas zu Weltruhm gelangte Blondine zu befragen. Zwei einander fremde Welten stoßen hier aufeinander - Intellekt und Eitelkeit, Tiefgründig keit und Lebenslust. Schlichter gesagt: Hund und Katze. Oder vielleicht doch nicht? Die Begegnung der beiden, die als Machtkampf be ginnt, nimmt eine unerwartete Wendung ...
Gijs van de Westelaken, niederländischer Produzent der Filmreihe: "Theo van Goghs Traum war es immer gewesen, nach Amerika zu kommen und Filme in New York zu drehen. Dies ist ein Versuch, seinen Traum Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen. Die Filme haben ein zentrales und universelles Thema: die Kämpfe zwischen Männern und Frauen. Es ist in der Tat sehr berührend, dass Steve Buscemi, Stanley Tucci und Bob Balaban sich an diesem Projekt beteiligen, das Theos Traum wahr machen wird."

USA / Niederlande 2006, 81 Min

von

Steve Buscemi

mit

Sienna Miller
Steve Buscemi

Weltvertrieb

Cinemavault Releasing International