Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Awards

Feb 16, 2006:
A Berlinale Camera for Peter B. Schumann

The Berlinale Camera is presented to film personalities or institutions to which the Berlin International Film Festival feels especially indebted and would like to express its thanks. The Berlinale Camera has been awarded every year since 1986 and has been sponsored by the Düsseldorf jeweller Georg Hornemann since 2004.

Journalist Peter B. Schumann has worked on the staff of the Forum for 35 years; prior to this he was head of the Retrospective. On February 16 he will be awarded a Berlinale Camera.

As an expert on Latin America, Schumann – who was born in 1941 – has played a significant role in shaping the International Forum of New Cinema. He has belonged to the Forum since its establishment in 1971, and from 1980 to 2003 was a member of its selection committee. From 1966 to 1970, Schumann headed the Berlinale’s Retrospective section. Since the 1960s, he has authored many television documentaries and radio features; he also wrote one of the first histories on Latin American cinema: Historia del cine latinoamericano (1987).

Peter B. Schumann will be awarded the Berlinale Camera on February 16 at 11 p.m. during the Forum’s reception at the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz. Journalist and cultural manager Michel Gaißmayer will speak in his honour.

Press Office

February 16, 2006

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Preise und Ehrungen

16.02.2006:
Berlinale Kamera für Peter B. Schumann

Mit der Berlinale Kamera zeichnen die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin Filmpersönlichkeiten oder Institutionen aus, denen sie sich verbunden fühlen – und denen sie mit dieser Ehrung ihren Dank zum Ausdruck bringen möchten. Die Berlinale Kamera wird seit 1986 verliehen. Seit 2004 wird die Auszeichnung von dem Düsseldorfer Juwelier Georg Hornemann gestiftet.

Der Publizist Peter B. Schumann war 35 Jahre lang Mitarbeiter des Forums und leitete zuvor die Retrospektive. Am 16. Februar wird er mit einer Berlinale Kamera geehrt.

Als Lateinamerikaexperte prägte Schumann, 1941 geboren, vor allem das Internationale Forum des Jungen Films, dem er seit der Gründung 1971 angehörte – von 1980 bis 2003 im Auswahlkomitee. Von 1966 bis 1970 leitete Schumann die Retrospektive der Berlinale. Seit den Sechziger Jahren Autor zahlreicher Fernsehdokumentationen und Radiofeatures, verfasste er auch eine der ersten Geschichten des lateinamerikanischen Films, Historia del cine latinoamericano (1987).

Die Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera an Peter B. Schumann findet am 16. Februar um 23 Uhr im Rahmen des Forum-Empfangs in der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz statt. Der Journalist und Kulturmanager Michel Gaißmayer hält die Laudatio.

Presseabteilung

16. Februar 2006