Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Selling Democracy

Jan 30, 2006:
Selling Democracy Presents Booklet and DVD Edition

The Berlinale is concluding its three-year series on the Marshall Plan with two publications: the DVD edition “Selling Democracy – The Films of the Marshall Plan” and the booklet “Selling Democracy – Friendly Persuasion”.

The DVD shows how the vision of a free, confident and democratic Europe was propagated in countless film productions. Taking an entertaining and/or educational approach, they illuminate how people could learn to help themselves. Also documented is the Soviet Union’s and the GDR’s counter-propaganda in response to the Marshall Plan. These films attempt to discredit the aid offered to Western Europe and to immunize people ideologically against their political adversaries. This DVD edition about the Marshall Plan films takes a comprehensive look at the polarized situation in the post-war era and gives an idea of people’s hopes for a better future.

Selling Democracy – The Films of the Marshall Plan” includes 23 short films from 1948 to 1953 and a detailed description. It was published by the Federal Agency for Civic Education (bpb) in collaboration with the Berlinale, the German Historical Museum and the Federal Film Archive. It is primarily intended for teaching history and politics in schools and adult education courses. Soon it will be available via a link at www.bpb.de

In the booklet “Selling Democracy – Friendly Persuasion”, David Ellwood summarizes the Marshall Plan policy and examines European films which ironically explore the “Americanisation” of Europe. Sandra Schulberg remarks on the controversy revolving around A Foreign Affair (Billy Wilder, 1948), a film which seemed particularly problematic to the film department of the Marshall Plan administration. Frank Mehring documents other examples of disagreement on the orientation of the Marshall Plan film programme. Jeanpaul Goergen and Günter Agde present films from East and West Germany, and their different perspectives on the policy of “Americanization”. The bilingual pamphlet (German/English) will be distributed free of charge to visitors of the film series.

On February 10 at 6 p.m., bpb president Thomas Krüger, David Ellwood, from the University of Bologna, and Rainer Rother, curator of Selling Democracy, will present this historical film edition at the Filmmuseum/Filmhaus at Potsdamer Platz (1st floor).

Press Office

January 27, 2006

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Selling Democracy

30.01.2006:
Selling Democracy: Broschüre und DVD-Edition

Zum Abschluss der auf drei Jahre angelegten Berlinale-Filmreihe zum Marshallplan erscheinen zwei Publikationen: die DVD-Edition „Selling Democracy – Die Filme des Marshallplans“ und die Broschüre „Selling Democracy – Friendly Persuasion“.

Die DVD zeigt, wie die Vision eines freien, selbstbewussten und demokratischen Europas in zahlreichen Filmproduktionen propagiert wurde. Diese boten teils spielerisch, teils pädagogisch eine beispielhafte Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe. Es wird aber auch die Gegenpropaganda der Sowjetunion und der DDR auf den Marshallplan dokumentiert. Diese Filme versuchen, die dem Westen zukommende Hilfe zu diskreditieren und die Bevölkerung ideologisch gegen den politischen Gegner zu immunisieren. Die DVD-Edition zu den Marshallplan-Filmen zeigt ein umfassendes und vielgestaltiges Bild von der gespaltenen Situation der Nachkriegszeit und vermittelt einen Eindruck von der Hoffnung der Menschen auf eine bessere Zukunft.

Selling Democracy – Die Filme des Marshallplans“ enthält 23 Kurzfilme aus den Jahren 1948 bis 1953 und ein umfangreiches Booklet. Sie wird von der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb in Kooperation mit der Berlinale, dem Deutschen Historischen Museum Berlin und dem Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv herausgegeben und ist vor allem für die politische Schul- und Erwachsenenbildung geeignet. In Kürze bestellbar über die Website der bpb (www.bpb.de).

In der Broschüre „Selling Democracy – Friendly Persuasion“ resümiert David Ellwood die Politik des Marshallplans und wirft einen Blick auf europäische Filme, die die „Amerikanisierung“ in ironischer Weise behandeln. Sandra Schulberg kommentiert die Auseinandersetzung um A Foreign Affair (Billy Wilder, 1948), der vor allem dem Filmdepartment der Marshallplan-Verwaltung problematisch erschien. Andere Beispiele für Uneinigkeit über die Ausrichtung des Marshallplan-Filmprogramms dokumentiert Frank Mehring. Jeanpaul Goergen und Günter Agde schießlich stellen ost- und westdeutsche Filme und ihren Blick auf die „Amerikanisierung“ vor. Die zweisprachige Broschüre (deutsch/englisch) wird an Besucher der Filmreihe kostenlos ausgegeben.

Am 10. Februar um 18 Uhr werden Thomas Krüger, Präsident der bpb, David Ellwood, Universität Bologna, und Rainer Rother, Kurator von Selling Democracy, die historische Film-Edition im Filmmuseum/Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz (1. Etage) vorstellen.

Presseabteilung

30. Januar 2006