Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Awards

Jan 30, 2006:
Honorary Golden Bears to be Awarded to Andrzej Wajda and Sir Ian McKellen

The 56th Berlin International Film Festival will award this year’s Honorary Golden Bears for lifetime achievement to the Polish filmmaker and screenwriter Andrzej Wajda and the British actor Sir Ian McKellen.

An Honorary Golden Bear for Andrzej Wajda

Andrzej Wajda is one of Poland’s most distinguished film directors. After studying painting and attending the film academy in Lodz, he began his career by assisting the Polish director Aleksander Ford. In 1954, he directed his first feature A Generation about the development of the Polish resistance movement in response to the German occupation. Kanal and Ashes and Diamonds rank as masterpieces of Polish cinema. With Man of Marble and Man of Iron, Andrzej Wajda took a stand in the political conflicts of his country, becoming one of the driving forces behind the Solidarity trade union. In the 1980s he staged Fyodor Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment at the Schaubühne in Berlin and made the film Danton in France. Andrzej Wajda has been the Berlinale’s guest several times. He has presented a number of films in the Competition, including Pan Tadeusz: The Last Foray in Lithuania (2000), Miss Nobody (1997) and Holy Week (1996). For the latter he took home the Silver Bear. In 2000 Andrzej Wajda received an honorary Oscar for his outstanding lifetime achievements

.

Andrzej Wajda will be awarded the Honorary Golden Bear on 15 February 2006 at 8.30 pm in the Kino International. At the director’s request, his film Pilate and Others (1972) will be screened after the ceremony in the original German version.

An Honorary Golden Bear for Sir Ian McKellen

With Sir Ian McKellen, the Berlinale is honouring one of Britain’s most legendary actors of the stage and screen. By 1974 he was already a member of the Royal Shakespeare Company. Since then he has enthralled audiences around the globe as the eponymous protagonist in the screen adaptation of Richard III (1995), as well as for his performances in X-Men films and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. In 1999 Sir Ian McKellen was nominated for both an Oscar and a Golden Globe for his portrayal of Hollywood director James Whale in Gods and Monster. He was again nominated for an Oscar for his performance as Gandalf in the first episode of Lord of the Rings. The actor, who was knighted in 1990, starred in David MacKenzie’s Asylum (2004), which was screened at last year’s Berlinale Competition.

Sir Ian McKellen will be awarded the Honorary Golden Bear on 11 February 2006 at 11.00 pm in the Kino International. Richard III will be shown following the ceremony.

Press Office

January 25, 2006

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Preise und Ehrungen

30.01.2006:
Goldene Ehrenbären an Andrzej Wajda und Sir Ian McKellen

Die 56. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin ehren in diesem Jahr den polnischen Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Andrzej Wajda und den britischen Schauspieler Sir Ian McKellen mit einem Goldenen Ehrenbären für ihr Lebenswerk.

Goldener Ehrenbär für Andrzej Wajda

Andrzej Wajda gehört zu den bedeutendsten Filmregisseuren Polens. Nach dem Studium der Malerei und dem Besuch der Filmhochschule Lodz begann er seine Karriere als Assistent des polnischen Regisseurs Aleksander Ford. 1954 drehte er seinen ersten eigenen Spielfilm Eine Generation, der vom polnischen Widerstand gegen die deutschen Okkupanten handelt. Der Kanal und Asche und Diamant gelten als Meisterwerke des polnischen Kinos. Mit Der Mann aus Marmor und Der Mann aus Eisen griff Andrzej Wajda in die politischen Auseinandersetzungen seines Heimatlandes ein und zählte zu den wesentlichen Motoren der freien Gewerkschaft Solidarnosc. In den 1980er Jahren inszenierte er an der Berliner Schaubühne Fjodor Dostojewskis Stück Schuld und Sühne und drehte in Frankreich Danton. Andrzej Wajda war mehrfach Gast der Berlinale. Im Wettbewerb präsentierte er u.a. seine Filme Pan Tadeusz (2000), Fräulein Niemand (1997) und Karwoche (Wielki tydzien, 1996), für den er den Silbernen Bären erhielt. 2000 wurde Andrzej Wajda mit dem Ehren-Oscar für sein Lebenswerk geehrt.

Andrzej Wajda erhält den Goldenen Ehrenbären am 15. Februar 2006 um 20.30 Uhr im Kino International. Im Anschluss an die Zeremonie wird auf Wunsch des Regisseurs sein Film Pilatus und andere – Ein Film für Karfreitag (Pilate and Others) in der deutschen Originalfassung von 1972 vorgeführt.

Goldener Ehrenbär für Sir Ian McKellen

Mit Sir Ian McKellen würdigt die Berlinale einen der renommiertesten britischen Film- und Theaterschauspieler. Bereits 1974 wurde er Ensemblemitglied der Royal Shakespeare Company. Als Titelfigur der Literaturverfilmung Richard III. (1995), aber auch durch seine Rollen in den X-Men-Filmen und der Herr der Ringe-Trilogie begeisterte er das internationale Kinopublikum. 1999 wurde Sir Ian McKellen für sein Porträt des Hollywood-Regisseurs James Whale in Gods and Monsters für den Oscar und den Golden Globe nominiert. Seine Darstellung des Gandalf im ersten Herr der Ringe-Teil brachte ihm eine weitere Oscar-Nominierung. Im letztjährigen Berlinale Wettbewerb war der 1990 zum Ritter geschlagene Schauspieler mit dem Film Asylum (2004) von David MacKenzie vertreten.

Sir Ian McKellen erhält den Goldenen Ehrenbären am 11. Februar 2006 um 23.00 Uhr im Kino International. Im Anschluss an die Verleihung wird Richard III. gezeigt.

Presseabteilung

30. Januar 2006