Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Panorama

Jan 25, 2006:
Teddy Twenty - Press Release Januar 2006

The TEDDY AWARD is being presented for the 20th time on 17 February 2006 at the Berlin International Film Festival. Over the past 19 years of its existence it has become an important and respected emancipation award.

One of the world’s exemplary events is celebrating its 20th anniversary at the Berlin International Film Festival: the TEDDY – QUEER FILM AWARD. Once again the international gay-lesbian film scene will meet for a great get-together. And with the political impulses provided here in Berlin, cultural activities are encouraged around the world, not least in societies where even today homosexuals are denied the right to live their lives.

The Berlinale is celebrating the TEDDY’s twentieth birthday with a programme of 36 films from the past years: the TEDDY TWENTY TRIBUTE. And from this year’s Berlinale sections another 36 films are competing for the 20th TEDDY AWARDS.

The winners will be picked by the independent TEDDY jury. Co-director of the renowned Toronto International Film Festival Noah Cowan will preside over the jury. In addition to having worked as producer, curator and programme planner, he was active in the Global Film Initiative, which promotes films from the Third World. The jury has eight more members, all of whom are organizers and representatives of gay-lesbian film festivals from different parts of the world: former landmark festival director Klaus Waigand from Germany; Polish festival organizer Jennifer Ramme; founder and director of the successful Outsiders Liverpool Lesbian & Gay Film Festival Matthew Fox; Katrin Kremmler from Budapest; Out in Africa and Encounters’ director Nodi Murphy from Cape Town; founder of Q! Film Festival John Badalu from Indonesia; and Gary Mak, co-organizer of the Hong Kong Lesbian & Gay Film Festival; as well as Kim Yutani from Outfest in Los Angeles.

TEDDY Twenty – Award Ceremony

This year’s TEDDY Awards will be presented not far from the Potsdamer Platz, in one of the most exciting venues in Berlin, the legendary E-Werk. Hosts of the TEDDY Twenty – Award Ceremony are Panorama’s conceptual team: Margaret von Schiller and Wieland Speck.

Aside from focusing on the nominees and winners in the categories Short Film, Feature Film and Documentary/Essay Film, special attention will go to the current situation of queers in Poland as well as to AIDS in South Africa. Guests and presenters, including Oscar-winners, will be among those speaking. Surprises are certain!

The event will be accompanied by music performed by the delightful Sicilian Etta Scollo and her ensemble, New York’s loveliest opera queen Shequida, and the explosive lady power of Germany’s Venusbrass marching band. German-American virtuoso violinist David Garrett will also provide brilliant classical interludes at the TEDDY Twenty.

Further guests include: Peggy Rajski, Rosa von Praunheim, Oliver Ducastel and Jacques Martineau, Jochen Hick, Nathalie Percillier, Constantine Giannaris, Giovanni Minerba, Suzy Capó, Matthias Freihof, James Mackay.

TEDDY Party

In the mood for more? In the atmosphere of the E-Werk’s industrial architecture, there’ll be a party after the award ceremony: the TEDDY Twenty PARTY, guaranteed to be amusing and very cutting-edge. On two dance floors, six DJ masters will provide a continuous stream: Divinity, Superzandy, Zoe, ChrissT, Kenny Dee and Monique. And as if this were not enough: to the beats of the music, a VJ team will project moving images on the walls, images from the twenty-year history of the TEDDY – a true thrill for the senses. Let’s celebrate!

Good morning... QUEER ACADEMY!

The three-day “talk & brunch” series at the Homebase will be opened by Ido Abram, director of the Binger Film Institute in Amsterdam, under the title “Queer Cinema in the 21st Century”. This will be followed on the next day by a talk by Björn Koll from Edition Salzgeber on the chances of “digital production & digital distribution”. The series will close by kicking off another TEDDY idea: the QUEER ACADEMY. Based on over 570 TEDDY films since 1987, their contents and political themes, as well as contributions by and about the filmmakers, the QUEER ACADEMY will establish a collective digital memory for queer cinema.

You are cordially invited to join us: from Tuesday, February 14 through Thursday, February 16, beginning each day at 11 a.m. at the HomeBase Independent Lounge, Köthener Str. 44.

TEDDY on TV

RBB, February 18, from 11:30 p.m. to 0:30 a.m.

ARTE, February 19, from 5 to 6 p.m.

Cash Prizes and Partners

With the support of the following sponsors, it has once again been possible for TEDDY e.V. to endow each of this year’s prizes with 3,000 euros:

- TEDDY for Best Short Film – donated by Berliner Pilsner

- TEDDY for Best Documentary/Essay Film – donated by the gay-lesbian organization elledorado e.V., Berlin

- TEDDY for Best Feature Film – with contributions from a number of donators affiliated with TEDDY e. V.

Press and Accreditation

For the Award Ceremony special personal accreditation is required. The application form is available under “Press” at www.teddyaward.org

More information on the queer films screening in the different Berlinale sections can also be found at www.teddyaward.org and at www.teddyaward.tv. Further details can be obtained from the individual Competition, Panorama, Forum, Kinderfilmfest/14 plus and Perspektive Deutsches Kino contacts for the press.

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Panorama

25.01.2006:
Teddy Twenty - Pressemitteilung Januar 2006

Der TEDDY AWARD auf den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin wird am 17. Februar 2006 zum 20. Mal verliehen. In den 19 Jahren seines Bestehens hat er sich zu einem wichtigen und angesehenen Emanzipationspreis entwickelt.

Ein weltweit beispielhaftes Großereignis jährt sich zum zwanzigsten Mal: der TEDDY - QUEER FILM AWARD auf den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin. Hier findet die größte Zusammenkunft internationaler schwul-lesbischer Filmschaffender statt. Mit den politischen Impulsen, die hierbei von Berlin ausgehen, wird bereits kulturelle Arbeit in aller Welt geleistet, nicht zuletzt auch in Gesellschaften hinein, die heute noch homosexuellen Menschen das Lebensrecht verwehren.

Die Berlinale feiert den TEDDY Twenty mit einem Filmprogramm aus 36 Filmen, dem TEDDY TWENTY TRIBUTE. Ins Rennen um die 20. TEDDY Awards gehen in diesem Jahr 36 queere Filme aus allen Sektionen des Festivals.

Wer die Auszeichnung erhält, entscheidet die unabhängige TEDDY-Jury. Der Co-Leiter des renommierten Toronto International Filmfestivals Noah Cowan wird ihr als Präsident vorstehen. Neben zahlreichen Tätigkeiten als Produzent, Kurator und Programmgestalter war er für die Global Film Initiative tätig, die Filme aus der Dritten Welt fördert. Die Jury besteht aus acht weiteren Organisatorinnen und Vertretern schwul-lesbischer Filmfestivals aus aller Welt: dem ehemaligen Leiter des ältesten deutschen Queer Festivals Klaus Waigand, der polnischen Festivalorganisatorin Jennifer Ramme, dem Begründer und Leiter des erfolgreichen Lesbian & Gay Film Festivals Liverpool, Matthew Fox, Katrin Kremmler aus Budapest, Out in Africa und Encouters-Leiterin Nodi Murphy aus Kapstadt, dem Gründer des Q! Film Festivals John Badalu aus Indonesien und Gary Mak, Mitorganisator des Hong Kong Lesbian & Gay Film Festivals, sowie Kim Yutani vom Outfest aus Los Angeles.

TEDDY Twenty - Preisverleihung

Unweit des Potsdamer Platzes, in einer der aufregendsten Locations in Berlin, dem legendären Ewerk, werden die TEDDY Awards verliehen. Gastgeber der TEDDY Twenty - Preisverleihung sind das Kompetenzteam des Panorama, Margaret von Schiller und Wieland Speck.

Neben den Nominierten und Preisträgern in den Kategorien Kurzfilm, Spielfilm und Dokumentar/Essayfilm werden Brennpunkte wie die aktuelle queere Situation in Polen und AIDS in Südafrika thematisiert. Die Gesprächspartner sind Gäste und Laudatoren, darunter Oscar-Preisträger. Überraschungen sind versprochen!

Musikalisch verziert wird die Veranstaltung von der charmanten Sizilianerin Etta Scollo und ihrem Ensemble, New Yorks schönster Opera-Queen Shequida, und dazu explosive Damenpower von der Marchingband Venusbrass. Der deutsch-amerikanische Geigenvirtuose David Garrett brilliert mit klassischen Momenten bei den TEDDY Twenty.

Weitere Gäste sind untern anderem: Peggy Rajski, Rosa von Praunheim, Oliver Ducastel und Jacques Martineau, Jochen Hick, Nathalie Percillier, Constantine Giannaris, Giovanni Minerba, Suzy Capó, Matthias Freihof, James Mackay.

TEDDY Party

Lust auf mehr? Im Ambiente der Industriearchitektur des Ewerks steigt im Anschluss an die Preisverleihung die „TEDDY Twenty PARTY“, Garant für Amüsement auf der Höhe der Zeit. Auf zwei Dancefloors geben sich sechs DJ-Größen die Kopfhörer in die Hand: Divinity, Superzandy, Zoe, ChrissT, Kenny Dee und Monique. Und damit nicht genug: im Rhythmus der Musik wird ein VJ-Team in allen Hallen bewegte Bilder aus zwanzig Jahren TEDDY-Geschichte auf die Wände projizieren – ein Rausch der Sinne. Es darf gefeiert werden!

good morning... QUEER ACADEMY

Die dreitägige „talk & brunch“-Reihe in der Homebase eröffnet Ido Abram, Leiter des Binger Institut in Amsterdam, unter dem Titel „Queer Cinema im 21. Jahrhundert“. Am Folgetag referiert Björn Koll von der Edition Salzgeber über Chancen von „digital production & digital distribution“. Abschluss der Reihe ist gleichzeitig Startschuss der Erweiterung des TEDDY-Gedanken in eine QUEER ACADEMY: Auf der Basis der über 570 TEDDY-Filme seit 1987, ihrer Inhalte und politischen Themen, sowie Beiträgen der und über die Filmemacher/innen wird die QUEER ACADEMY ein digitales queeres (Film-)Gedächtnis aufbauen.

Sie sind herzlich eingeladen: Dienstag, 14. bis Donnerstag, 16. Februar, Beginn jeweils 11 Uhr, HomeBase Independent Lounge, Köthener Str. 44.

TEDDY im Fernsehen

RBB am 18. Februar von 23.30 bis 0.30 Uhr

ARTE am 19. Februar von 17 bis 18 Uhr

Preisgelder und Partner

Die Dotierung der Preise mit jeweils 3.000 Euro wird dem TEDDY e.V. auch dieses Jahr durch die Unterstützung folgender Preisgeldspender möglich:

- Kurzfilm-TEDDY – gespendet von Berliner Pilsner

- Dokumentar-/Essayfilm-TEDDY – gespendet vom schwul-lesbischen Förderverein elledorado e.V. Berlin

- Spielfilm-TEDDY – über verschiedene Preisgeldspender des TEDDY e. V.

Presse und Akkreditierung

Für die Preisverleihung ist eine spezielle personengebundene Akkreditierung erforderlich. Das Akkreditierungsformular kann im Pressebereich der Website www.teddyaward.org abgerufen werden.

Details zu den queeren Filmen aus allen Berlinalesektionen finden Sie auch auf www.teddyaward.org und www.teddyaward.tv. Weiterführendes zu den queeren Filmen der Sektionen vermitteln die Presseansprechpartner von Wettbewerb, Panorama, Forum, Kinderfilmfest/14 plus und Perspektive Deutsches Kino.