Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Awards

Jan 24, 2006:
A New Prize for the Best First Feature

In 2006 the Berlinale will introduce a new prize which will have its own three-member international jury: the Best First Feature Award. Endowed with 25,000 euros, the award will be donated by the Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrechten (GWFF), a society for safeguarding film and television rights.

The GWFF has been affiliated with the Berlinale for years. Until 2005, the organisation to defend producers’ copyrights AGICOA, of which the GWFF is the major shareholder, donated the Blue Angel Award, which is now being replaced by this new prize.

In 2006 there will be a total of 13 features competing for the award. The candidates are the directorial debuts screening in the Competition (3 films), Panorama (6 films) and Kinderfilmfest/14plus (4 films). The winner will be announced on February 18 at the official award ceremony in the Berlinale Palast. The director and producer of this outstanding debut film will share the prize money.

Debut films from the Forum programme will be competing for the Best First Feature Award as of 2007, since the similarly defined Wolfgang Staudte Prize for a debut film in the Forum is still in existence.

First Feature Award Jury

Valentina Cervi (actress, Italy)

Italian actress Valentina Cervi is one of the new talents of Italian cinema. She has worked with many international directors, including Jane Campion (Portrait Of A Lady), Mike Figgis (Hotel) and Peter Greenaway (The Tulse Luper Suitcases). During last year’s Berlinale Competition, Valentina Cervi could be seen in Provincia Meccanica (Smalltown, Italy) by Stefano Mordini.

Goran Paskaljevic (director, Serbia)

Born in Belgrade, the director made 13 feature films, shown and acclaimed at the most prestigious international film festivals. In 1992 he left his country, returning in 1998 to make The Powder Keg (aka Cabaret Balkan in the USA), which won several prizes, including the Critics’ Prize at the Venice Film Festival. For Midwinter Night’s Dream, which deals with post-war Serbia, Paskaljevic received the Special Prize of the Jury in San Sebastián in 2004. At the moment he is finishing the post-production of his new film The Optimists.

Hans Weingartner (director, Germany)

Hans Weingartner, who was born in Austria, studied physics and neurosurgery before becoming a filmmaker. His highly acclaimed feature film debut, Das weiße Rauschen (The White Sound), won several awards (including both the Max Ophüls Award and the First Steps Award in 2001). In 2004, his second feature, Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei (The Edukators), was the first German-language film to be invited to the competition at the Cannes Film Festival in eleven years.

Press Office

January 24, 2006

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Preise und Ehrungen

24.01.2006:
Neuer Preis für Besten Erstlingsfilm

Mit einer eigenen dreiköpfigen internationalen Jury ruft die Berlinale 2006 den Preis für den Besten Erstlingsfilm ins Leben. Die mit 25.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnung wird von der Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrechten (GWFF) gestiftet.

Die GWFF ist der Berlinale seit langem als Preisstifter verbunden. Bis 2005 hat die AGICOA Urheberrechtsschutz GmbH, an der die GWFF mehrheitlich beteiligt ist, den Preis „Blauer Engel“ gestiftet, der nun von der neuen Auszeichnung abgelöst wird.

2006 bewerben sich insgesamt 13 Filme um die Auszeichnung. Spielfilmdebüts aus den Sektionen Wettbewerb (3 Filme), Panorama (6 Filme) und Kinderfilmfest/14plus (4 Filme) werden um den neuen Preis konkurrieren. Die Bekanntgabe der Gewinner findet am 18. Februar bei der offiziellen Gala zur Preisverleihung im Berlinale-Palast statt. Regisseur und Produzent des herausragenden Debüts teilen sich das Preisgeld.

Forumsfilme beteiligen sich erst 2007 am Wettbewerb um das beste Debüt, da 2006 noch eine eigene Auszeichnung – der Wolfgang-Staudte-Preis – besteht.

Jury für den Besten Erstlingsfilm

Valentina Cervi (Schauspielerin, Italien)

Die italienische Schauspielerin Valentina Cervi gehört zu den neuen Talenten des italienischen Kinos. Sie hat mit zahlreichen internationalen Regisseuren gearbeitet, darunter Jane Campion (Portrait Of A Lady), Mike Figgis (Hotel) und Peter Greenaway (The Tulse Luper Suitcases). Im vergangenen Jahr war Valentina Cervi mit Provincia Meccanica von Stefano Mordini im Wettbewerb der Berlinale zu sehen.

Goran Paskaljevic (Regisseur, Serbien)

Der in Belgrad geborene Regisseur begann seine Karriere als Dokumentarfilmer im ehemaligen Jugoslawien. 1992 verließ er seine Heimat und kehrte 1998 zurück, um den Spielfilm Das Pulverfass zu drehen, der mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde (u.a. Preis der Filmkritik in Venedig). Für Midwinter Night’s Dream über das Serbien der Nachkriegszeit erhielt Paskaljevic 2004 den Spezialpreis der Jury in San Sebastián. Derzeit beendet er die Postproduktion seines neuen Films The Optimists.

Hans Weingartner (Regisseur, Deutschland)

Der gebürtige Österreicher Hans Weingartner studierte Physik und Neurochirurgie, bevor er sich dem Filmemachen zuwandte. Sein viel beachtetes Spielfilmdebüt Das weiße Rauschen erhielt mehrere Auszeichnungen (u.a. Max-Ophüls-Preis, First Steps Award 2001). Mit dem Nachfolgefilm Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei wurde er 2004 als erster deutschsprachiger Film seit elf Jahren in den Wettbewerb von Cannes eingeladen.

Presseabteilung

24. Januar 2006