Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Retrospective

Jan 19, 2006:
Special Events of the Retrospective

In September 1924, a first showing of Carl Theodor Dreyer’s Michael elicited thunderous applause from the audience in Berlin. 82 years later, on 11 February 2006, the Retrospective will premiere a newly restored version of the film at the Volksbühne am Rosa Luxemburg Platz on occasion of the 56th Berlinale. The screening will be accompanied by music performed by the “ensembleKONTRASTE” under the direction of Pierre Oser.

With Michael, Dreyer brilliantly staged a story of love and passion, power and intrigue. The relationship of painter Claude Zoret (Benjamin Christensen) to Michael (Walter Slezak) reflects the complexity of inspiration and dependency between master and muse, father and foster son. With the arrival of Princess Zamikoff (Nora Gregor), a ménage à trois begins involving power, deceit and loneliness.

Michael is adapted from a novel of the same name by the homosexual writer Herman Bang, whose “shimmering impressionism” (Thomas Mann) is considered a highlight of Danish narrative art at the turn of the 20th century.

With this screening, the Retrospective continues its successful collaboration with the Volksbühne. The Danish Film Institute, which was in charge of the restoration, and the Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung are also partners in this event.

The Retrospective is also showing Zur Chronik von Grieshuus (At the Grey House – A Romance of the Moors) by Arthur von Gerlach (Germany, 1923-25) on February 10 at CinemaxX 8. This silent film was restored by the Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung in collaboration with the Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv.

Guests and Events for this year’s Retrospective

Swedish actress Harriet Andersson became a cult figure for an entire generation over night with her role as Monika in Ingmar Bergman’s Sommaren med Monika (Summer with Monika - 1952/53). In 2005 Swedish journalist Jan Lumholdt published a book of interviews with Harriet Andersson. On February 13 they will both be the guests of the Filmmuseum Berlin and talk about the star’s outstanding career.

Talks and discussions on film will be held at the Filmmuseum at 6 pm daily. A highlight of these will be a panel discussion on this year’s Retrospective publication. Elisabeth Bronfen and Claudia Lenssen – two of the 23 women writers who contributed to the Retro-book “Traumfrauen. Stars im Film der Fünfziger Jahre” – will speak on the presentation of femininity in American and European cinema of the 1950s.

Additional Events:

- A lecture by Marisa Buovolos on “Film and Fashion”: it will cover dramaturgical, aesthetic and psychological aspects of body and costume. In partnership with the “film-dienst”.

Four events will call attention to new books and DVDs:

- Hans Helmut Prinzler will speak with Volker Noth, editor of a book filled with photos of Berlin’s cinemas and their neighbourhoods: “Kinos. Berlin um die Ecke und Entdeckungen unterwegs”.

- Two outstanding examples of non-commercial DVD editions will be presented: a scholarly edition of Metropolis and the DVD “Marshall Plan Films”.

- A three-volume work edited by Peter Zimmermann and published by Reclam on the history of documentary film in Germany – “Geschichte des dokumentarischen Films in Deutschland 1895–1945 – will be presented together with a programme of films at CinemaxX 8. In partnership with the Haus des Dokumentarfilms in Stuttgart.

The Instituto di Cultura Italiano di Berlino is dedicating an exhibition to one of the Retrospective’s “Traumfrauen”: “Ciao Anna! – Hommage an Anna Magnani”. It will show private photos, shots from rehearsals and stills from her successful films.

For more information about events at the Filmmuseum Berlin and films of the Retrospective go to: www.filmmuseum-berlin.de and www.berlinale.de

Press screenings for the Retrospective will be held on January 23 and 24.

Press Office

January 19, 2006

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Retrospektive

19.01.2006:
Retrospektive Special Events

Die Uraufführung von Carl Theodor Dreyers Michael riss im September 1924 in Berlin das Publikum zu stürmischem Applaus hin. 82 Jahre später präsentiert die Retrospektive anlässlich der 56. Berlinale die Erstaufführung der neu restaurierten Fassung am 11. Februar in der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz mit musikalischer Unterstützung durch das „ensembleKONTRASTE“ unter der Leitung von Pierre Oser.

Mit Michael inszenierte Dreyer ein meisterliches Spiel um Liebe und Leidenschaft, Macht und Intrigen. Das Verhältnis des Malers Claude Zoret (Benjamin Christensen) zu Michael (Walter Slezak) spiegelt das komplexe Geflecht von Inspiration und Abhängigkeit zwischen Meister und Muse, Vater und Ziehsohn wider. Mit dem Auftauchen der Fürstin Zamikow (Nora Gregor) beginnt ein Ménage à trois um Macht, Betrug und Einsamkeit.

Michael basiert auf dem gleichnamigen Roman des homosexuellen Autors Herman Bang, dessen „flimmernder Impressionismus" (Thomas Mann) als ein Höhepunkt der dänischen Erzählkunst der Jahrhundertwende gilt.

Mit der Aufführung setzt die Retrospektive ihre erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit der Volksbühne fort. Das Dänische Filminstitut, unter dessen Federführung und Verantwortung die Restaurierung entstand, und die Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung sind Kooperationspartner für diese Veranstaltung.

Die Retrospektive zeigt außerdem Zur Chronik von Grieshuus von Arthur von Gerlach (D 1923-25) am 10. Februar im CinemaxX 8. Der Stummfilm wurde von der Friedrich-Wilhelm-Murnau-Stiftung in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv restauriert.

Gäste und Veranstaltungen der Retrospektive

Die schwedische Schauspielerin Harriet Andersson wurde mit der Rolle der Monika in Ingmar Bergmans Sommaren med Monika (1952/53) über Nacht zu einer Kultfigur für eine ganze Generation. Der schwedische Journalist Jan Lumholdt hat 2005 einen Interviewband mit Harriet Andersson publiziert. Am 13. Februar sind beide zu Gast im Filmmuseum Berlin und sprechen über eine außergewöhnliche Schauspielerinnenkarriere.

Weiterer Höhepunkt der jeweils um 18 Uhr stattfindenden Filmgespräche und Diskussionen im Filmmuseum ist eine Podiumsdiskussion zur Publikation der Retrospektive. Elisabeth Bronfen und Claudia Lenssen, zwei der 23 Autorinnen des Retro-Bandes „Traumfrauen. Stars im Film der fünfziger Jahre“, sprechen über die Inszenierung von Weiblichkeit im amerikanischen und europäischen Kino der fünfziger Jahre.

Weitere Veranstaltungen:

- Vortrag von Marisa Buovolo zum Thema „Film und Mode“, zu dramaturgischen, ästhetischen und psychologischen Aspekten von Körper und Kostüm. Eine Kooperation mit dem „film-dienst“.

Vier Veranstaltungen machen auf neue Buch- und DVD-Editionen aufmerksam:

- Hans Helmut Prinzler führt ein Gespräch mit Volker Noth, der den Bildband „Kinos. Berlin um die Ecke und Entdeckungen unterwegs“ herausgegeben hat.

- Zwei prominente Beispiele nichtkommerzieller DVD-Editionen werden mit der Studienfassung zu Metropolis sowie der DVD „Marshall-Plan-Filme“ vorgestellt.

- Das bei Reclam erschienene dreibändige Werk zur „Geschichte des dokumentarischen Films in Deutschland 1895–1945“, herausgegeben von Peter Zimmermann, wird mit einem Filmprogramm im CinemaxX 8 präsentiert. Eine Kooperation mit dem Haus des Dokumentarfilms Stuttgart.

Das Instituto di Cultura Italiano di Berlino widmet einer „Traumfrau“ die Ausstellung „Ciao Anna! – Hommage an Anna Magnani“. Gezeigt werden Fotos aus ihrem Privatleben sowie Proben- und Szenenfotos ihrer Filmerfolge.

Weitere Informationen zu den Veranstaltungen im Filmmuseum Berlin und den Filmen der Retrospektive finden Sie unter www.filmmuseum-berlin.de und www.berlinale.de.

Die Pressevorführungen der Retrospektive finden am 23. und 24. Januar statt.

Presseabteilung

19. Januar 2006