Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Competition

Jan 17, 2006:
The International Jury of the 56th Berlinale

Under the presidency of Charlotte Rampling, an eight-member international jury will decide who will take home this year’s Golden and Silver Bears. For the first time in the 56-year history of the Berlin International Film Festival, the Jury will announce the winners during the award ceremony on February 18, which will be broadcast live from the Berlinale Palast by ZDF/3sat.

The members of the International Jury are:

Charlotte Rampling (actress, UK), Jury President

The respected character actress, who resides in France, is one of the most important international stars of contemporary cinema. She has performed for directors such as Luchino Visconti (The Damned), Woody Allen (Stardust Memories), John Boorman (Zardoz), Sydney Lumet (The Verdict) or Alan Parker (Angel Heart). For her role in Swimming Pool by François Ozon, she received the European Film Award for Best Actress in 2003.

Matthew Barney (multi-media artist, USA)

The New York multi-media artist Matthew Barney was the shooting star of the international art scene in the mid 1990s. Between 1994 and 2002, Barney created a five-part series of art films, The Cremaster Cycle. His most recent film – Drawing Restraint 9 – was realized in collaboration with his wife, singer Björk.

Yash Chopra (producer, India)

With his Bollywood musicals, the successful producer and director attracts millions of movie-goers in India. He began his career as a filmmaker in 1959, but soon turned to producing. Since then he has realized some 30 movies with his own studio, Yash Raj Films. His dramatic love story Veer-Zaara won several of the International Indian Film Academy’s major awards in 2005.

Marleen Gorris (director, Netherlands)

With her directorial debut, A Question of Silence (1982), director Marleen Gorris from the Netherlands made a name for herself internationally. Her family chronicle Antonia’s Line (1995) received, among other awards, the Oscar for Best Foreign Film. In 1997 Marleen Gorris adapted Virginia Woolf’s classic novel Mrs. Dalloway for the screen.

Janusz Kaminski (cinematographer, Poland)

A two-time Oscar-winner, the Polish cinematographer has collaborated with Steven Spielberg since 1989. He was decisive in creating the look of films such as Schindler’s List, Amistad, Saving Private Ryan and War of the Worlds. He also did the camerawork on Spielberg’s latest work, Munich. In 2000 he gave his directorial debut with the thriller Lost Souls.

Lee Young-ae (actress, Republic of Korea)

Lee Young-ae is one of South Korea’s most popular actresses. In 2001 she was a guest of the Berlinale Competition with the thriller Joint Security Area. Last year, for her leading role in the internationally acclaimed drama Sympathy for Lady Vengeance, the actress received several prizes, including the Blue Dragon Film Award.

Armin Mueller-Stahl (actor, Germany)

Armin Mueller-Stahl is one of Germany’s greatest stars of international renown. He began his career in East Germany, performing under the direction of Frank Beyer in films like Naked Among Wolves and Jacob the Liar. Then, after moving to the West, he attained international status with films such as Lola by Rainer Werner Fassbinder and Music Box by Costa-Gavras. In 1996, he was nominated for an Oscar for his role in Shine; in 1992, he was awarded the Silver Bear for his performance in Utz; and in 1997, he was honoured with the Berlinale Camera.

Fred Roos (producer, USA)

This successful American producer already ranks among the most legendary of Hollywood magnates. As casting director for George Lucas or John Huston, he discovered talents like Harrison Ford, Jack Nicholson and Tom Cruise. Recent productions of the Oscar winner include Francis Ford Coppola’s Youth Without Youth and Sofia Coppola’s Marie Antoinette.

The International Jury awards the following prizes to films screened in the Competition:

The Golden Bear for Best Film (for the producer)

The Jury Grand Prix – Silver Bear

The Silver Bear for Best Director

The Silver Bear for Best Actress

The Silver Bear for Best Actor

The Silver Bear for An Outstanding Artistic Achievement

The Silver Bear for Best Film Music

The Jury also awards the Alfred Bauer Prize in memory of the Berlinale’s founder to a feature film which opens up new perspectives for cinematic art.

Press Office

17 January 2006

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Wettbewerb

17.01.2006:
Die Internationale Jury der 56. Berlinale

Unter der Präsidentschaft von Charlotte Rampling wird eine achtköpfige internationale Jury über die Vergabe der Goldenen und Silbernen Bären entscheiden. Zum ersten Mal in der 56-jährigen Geschichte der Filmfestspiele gibt die Jury die Preisträger erst während der Preisverleihung am 18. Februar bekannt. Diese wird vom TV Sender ZDF/3sat live aus dem Berlinale-Palast übertragen.

Zur Internationalen Jury gehören:

Charlotte Rampling (Schauspielerin, UK), Jury-Präsidentin

Die in Frankreich lebende Charakterdarstellerin zählt zu den bedeutendsten internationalen Stars der Gegenwart. Sie stand für Regisseure wie Luchino Visconti (Die Verdammten), Woody Allen (Stardust Memories), John Boorman (Zardoz), Sydney Lumet (The Verdict) oder Alan Parker (Angel Heart) vor der Kamera. Für ihre Rolle in Swimming Pool von François Ozon erhielt sie 2003 den Europäischen Filmpreis als beste Schauspielerin.

Matthew Barney (Objektkünstler, USA)

Der New Yorker Objekt- und Multimediakünstler Matthew Barney avancierte Mitte der neunziger Jahre zum Shooting-Star der internationalen Kunstszene. Von 1994 bis 2002 drehte Barney den fünfteiligen Kunstfilmzyklus The Cremaster Cycle. Sein jüngster Film Drawing Restraint 9 entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit seiner Frau, der Sängerin Björk.

Yash Chopra (Produzent und Regisseur, Indien)

Mit seinen Bollywood-Musicals begeistert der erfolgreiche Produzent und Regisseur in Indien ein Millionenpublikum. Seine Karriere startete er 1959 als Filmemacher, wechselte aber bald ins Produzentenfach und hat inzwischen mit seinem eigenen Studio Yash Raj Films rund 30 Filme verwirklicht. Sein Liebesdrama Veer-Zaara gewann 2005 die Hauptpreise der International Indian Film Academy.

Marleen Gorris (Regisseurin, Niederlande)

Bereits mit ihrem Debüt Die Stille um Christine M. (1982) wurde die niederländische Regisseurin Marleen Gorris international bekannt. Die Familienchronik Antonias Welt (1995) erhielt unter anderem den Oscar für den besten fremdsprachigen Film. 1997 adaptierte Marleen Gorris Virginia Woolfs Romanklassiker Mrs. Dalloway.

Janusz Kaminski (Kameramann, Polen)

Der mit zwei Oscars gekrönte polnische Kameramann arbeitet seit 1989 mit Steven Spielberg zusammen und hat entscheidend den Look von Filmen wie Schindlers Liste, Amistad, Der Soldat James Ryan und Krieg der Welten geprägt. Auch bei Spielbergs neuem Werk Munich stand er hinter der Kamera. Sein Regiedebüt gab er 2000 mit dem Thriller Lost Souls.

Lee Young-ae (Schauspielerin, Republik Korea)

Lee Young-ae ist eine der populärsten Schauspielerinnen Südkoreas. 2001 war sie mit dem Thriller Joint Security Area im Berlinale-Wettbewerb zu Gast. Für ihre Hauptrolle in dem auch international sehr erfolgreichen Drama Sympathy for Lady Vengeance erhielt die Darstellerin im vergangenen Jahr unter anderem den Blue Dragon Film Award.

Armin Mueller-Stahl (Schauspieler, Deutschland)

Armin Mueller-Stahl ist einer der großen deutschen Stars mit Weltruhm. Er begann seine Karriere in der DDR, spielte unter der Regie von Frank Beyer in Filmen wie Nackt unter Wölfen und Jakob der Lügner und wurde nach seiner Übersiedlung in den Westen mit Filmen wie Lola von Rainer Werner Fassbinder und Music Box von Costa-Gavras international bekannt. Für seine Rolle in Shine erhielt er 1996 eine Oscar-Nominierung. 1992 wurde er für seinen Part in Utz mit dem Silbernen Bären, 1997 mit der Berlinale-Kamera geehrt.

Fred Roos (Produzent, USA)

Der amerikanische Erfolgsproduzent zählt jetzt schon zu den legendären Hollywood-Tycoons. Als Casting Director für George Lucas oder John Huston entdeckte er Talente wie Harrison Ford, Jack Nicholson und Tom Cruise. Zu den aktuellen Produktionen des mehrfachen Oscar-Preisträgers gehören Francis Ford Coppolas Youth Without Youth und Marie Antoinette von Sofia Coppola.

Die Internationale Jury vergibt im Wettbewerb obligatorisch folgende Preise:

den Goldenen Bären für den besten Film (für den Produzenten)

den Großen Preis der Jury – Silberner Bär

den Silbernen Bären für die beste Regie

den Silbernen Bären für die beste Darstellerin

den Silbernen Bären für den besten Darsteller

den Silbernen Bären für eine künstlerische Leistung

den Silbernen Bären für die beste Filmmusik

Außerdem verleiht die Jury – in Erinnerung an den Gründer des Festivals – den Alfred-Bauer-Preis für einen Spielfilm, der neue Perspektiven der Filmkunst eröffnet.

Presseabteilung

17. Januar 2006