Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Competition

Dec 20, 2005:
Berlinale 2006: First Competition Titles Include One Debut and Six World Premieres

The first entries in the Competition of the 56th Berlin International Film Festival have now been confirmed.

Six of the nine films selected so far will have their world premieres in Berlin.

To date two world premieres by German directors will compete for Bears: Oskar Roehler (No Place to Go) will present his adaptation of Michel Houellebecq’s successful novel Atomized. In it two very different brothers set out to uncover the meaning of life; on their quest they are confronted with both their sexual obsessions and loneliness. The film is star-studded and features, among others, Moritz Bleibtreu, Christian Ulmen, Martina Gedeck, Franka Potente, Nina Hoss, Jasmin Tabatabai, Uwe Ochsenknecht and Corinna Harfouch.

In the German production Requiem Hans-Christian Schmid (Distant Lights) tells a story of exorcism in the Federal Republic of Germany in the 1970s. He condenses it into a psychological study of people who seek refuge in mysticism when encountering the bounds of rational human knowledge. In her first major film role, Sandra Hüller – accompanied by Burghart Klaußner, Imogen Kogge and Walter Schmidinger – plays a young woman who believes she is possessed by demons.

Bosnian director Jasmila Zbanic depicts in Grbavica, her first feature film, the fate of a rape victim in the turmoil following the war in the Balkans. Mirjana Karnovic and Luna Mijovic are cast as mother and daughter. This world premiere is a co-production from Austria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Germany and Croatia.

Among other works, the USA will be represented by Terrence Malick’s long awaited new film The New World, which will be running out of competition. Colin Farrell plays the main role, explorer John Smith who left England in the 17th century for America and fell in love there with Pocahontas, the daughter of an Indian chief. – Also screening out of competition will be Syriana, a political thriller featuring producer and leading man George Clooney, as well as Christopher Plummer and Matt Damon. Director Stephen Gaghan, who until now has mainly been known for screenplays like Traffic and The Alamo, takes a look at the back rooms of the global oil industry.

Australia is entering Neil Armfield’s Candy in the race for Golden and Silver Bears. In this world premiere, based on the best-selling novel, Heath Ledger (Brokeback Mountain) and Abbie Cornish (Somersault) are two young lovers abandoned to the wild beauty of love and to an addiction that nearly destroys them. – An unusual love story will be presented by a British-Canadian co-production: Snow Cake. Director Marc Evans recounts the story of a friendship between a man (Alan Rickman) who has been seriously traumatized by a car crash and an autistic woman (Sigourney Weaver). Snow Cake will also have its world premiere in Berlin.

So far two films from Asia have been selected for the programme. In the psychological thriller Invisible Waves, Thai director Pen-ek Ratanaruang (Last Life in the Universe) portrays a contract killer. This international co-production (Netherlands/Thailand/Hong Kong/Korea) will also be screening as a world premiere. – Chen Kaige’s vibrant martial arts adventure Wu ji | The Promise, a love story of a princess between three men will be shown out of competition. The 35-million-dollar production is said to be the most expensive Chinese movie ever made.

“We are extremely pleased”, Festival director Dieter Kosslick states, “to be able to present new films by famous directors as well as productions by young filmmakers.”

The selection for the Competition of the 56th Berlin International Film Festival will be completed by mid January 2006. There will be a total of 26 films – including those running out of competition – in the Competition programme.

Press Office

December 20, 2005

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Wettbewerb

20.12.2005:
Berlinale 2006: Ein Debüt und sechs Weltpremieren unter den ersten Wettbewerbstiteln

Die ersten Wettbewerbsbeiträge der 56. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin stehen fest. Sechs Beiträge der bislang neun ausgewählten Filme werden ihre Weltpremiere in Berlin haben.

Bisher werden zwei Weltpremieren deutscher Regisseure um die Bären wettstreiten: Oskar Roehler (Die Unberührbare) stellt seine Adaption von Michel Houellebecqs Erfolgsroman Elementarteilchen vor, in der sich zwei ungleiche Brüder auf die Suche nach dem Sinn des Lebens begeben und dabei sowohl mit ihren sexuellen Obsessionen als auch mit ihrer Einsamkeit konfrontiert werden. Zu dem Staraufgebot des Films gehören Moritz Bleibtreu, Christian Ulmen, Martina Gedeck, Franka Potente, Nina Hoss, Jasmin Tabatabai, Uwe Ochsenknecht und Corinna Harfouch.

Hans-Christian Schmid (Lichter) verdichtet in Requiem die Geschichte einer Teufelsaustreibung in der Bundesrepublik der 1970er-Jahre zum Psychogramm von Menschen, die Zuflucht im Mystizismus suchen, wenn sie an die Grenzen ihrer rationalen Erkenntnisfähigkeit stoßen. Neben Burghart Klaußner, Imogen Kogge und Walter Schmidinger spielt Sandra Hüller in ihrer ersten großen Filmrolle eine junge Frau, die sich von Dämonen besessen glaubt.

Die bosnische Regisseurin Jasmila Zbanic schildert in ihrem Spielfilmdebüt Grbavica das Schicksal eines Vergewaltigungsopfers in den Nachwirren des Balkankriegs. Als Mutter und Tochter sind Mirjana Karanovic und Luna Mijovic zu sehen. Die Weltpremiere ist eine Co-Produktion von Österreich, Bosnien-Herzegowina, Deutschland und Kroatien.

Die USA werden unter anderem mit dem lang erwarteten neuen Film von Terrence Malick, The New World, vertreten sein, der außer Konkurrenz gezeigt wird. In der Hauptrolle tritt Colin Farrell als Forschungsreisender John Smith auf, der im 17. Jahrhundert aus England nach Amerika zog und sich dort in die Häuptlingstochter Pocahontas verliebte. – Außer Konkurrenz läuft auch Syriana, ein Politthriller mit Produzent und Hauptdarsteller George Clooney, sowie Christopher Plummer und Matt Damon. Regisseur Stephen Gaghan, der bisher vor allem durch Drehbücher zu Filmen wie Traffic und The Alamo bekannt wurde, blickt hinter die Kulissen des globalen Ölgeschäfts.

Australien schickt Neil Armfields Candy, der auf dem gleichnamigen Bestseller Roman basiert, als Weltpremiere ins Rennen um die Goldenen und Silbernen Bären. Heath Ledger (Brokeback Mountain) und Abbie Cornish (Somersault) sind ein junges Paar, das sich in seiner wilden Leidenschaft verliert und einer Drogensucht verfällt, die sie beinahe zerstört. – Eine ungewöhnliche Liebesgeschichte präsentiert die britisch-kanadische Co-Produktikon Snow Cake. Regisseur Marc Evans erzählt von der Freundschaft eines Mannes (Alan Rickman), der durch einen Autounfall schwer traumatisiert wurde, und einer autistischen Frau (Sigourney Weaver). Snow Cake wird ebenfalls seine Welturaufführung in Berlin haben.

Aus Asien sind bislang zwei Filme im Programm. In dem Psychothriller Invisible Waves zeichnet der thailändische Regisseur Pen-ek Ratanaruang (Last Life in the Universe) das Porträt eines Auftragskillers. Die internationale Co-Produktion (Niederlande/Thailand/Hongkong/Korea) wird als Weltpremiere gezeigt – Außer Konkurrenz läuft Chen Kaiges farbenprächtiges Martial-Arts-Abenteuer Wu ji | The Promise, die Liebesgeschichte einer Prinzessin zwischen drei Männern. Die 35-Millionen-Dollar-Produktion gilt als der teuerste chinesische Film aller Zeiten.

„Wir freuen uns“, sagt Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick, „dass wir sowohl neue Filme von berühmten Regisseuren als auch die Produktionen junger Filmemacherinnen und Filmemacher zeigen können.“

Die Auswahl für den Wettbewerb der 56. Internationalen Filmfestspiele wird Mitte Januar 2006 abgeschlossen. Im Wettbewerbsprogramm werden – inklusive der Beiträge außer Konkurrenz – insgesamt 26 Filme präsentiert.

Presseabteilung

20. Dezember 2005