Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Competition

Nov 30, 2005:
Charlotte Rampling to be Jury President of the Berlinale 2006

The actress Charlotte Rampling will head the International Jury of the Berlinale 2006. “I’m very pleased to announce we’ve been able to win over the fascinating woman and brilliant artist Charlotte Rampling as Jury President” said Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick . “Through her work she has come to stand for unconventional and memorable cinema.”

The renowned British star, who has lived in France most of her life, began her film career in 1965. Since then she has played in almost 70 films. After studying at the Royal Court Stage School, Charlotte Rampling worked with many well-known directors, including Luchino Visconti (The Damned), Liliana Cavani (The Night Porter), Woody Allen (Stardust Memories), John Boorman (Zardoz), Sydney Lumet (The Verdict), Alan Parker (Angel Heart), Patrice Chéreau (Flesh of the Orchid) and Jonathan Nossiter (Signs and Wonders). More recently she has received much acclaim for her roles in Francois Ozon’s Swimming Pool, Dominik Moll’s Lemming and Laurent Cantet’s Heading South. Soon she can be seen in Michael Caton-Jones’ Basic Instinct 2: Risk Addiction.

In the last years, Charlotte Rampling has turned to other art forms besides acting; these include singing, theater and art performances.

At present, she is nominated for the People’s Choice Award as Best European Actress for her role in Lemming. The winner will be announced at the European Film Awards on 3 December 2005 in Berlin.

Charlotte Rampling will preside over the International Jury of the Berlinale which will award the Golden and Silver Bears to feature films screened in the Competition of the 56th Berlin International Film Festival.

Press Office

November 30, 2005

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Wettbewerb

30.11.2005:
Charlotte Rampling wird Jury-Präsidentin der Berlinale 2006

Die in Frankreich lebende, britische Schauspielerin Charlotte Rampling übernimmt den Vorsitz der Internationalen Jury der Berlinale 2006. „Ich freue mich, dass wir eine faszinierende Frau und großartige Künstlerin wie Charlotte Rampling als Jury-Präsidentin gewinnen konnten“, sagt Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick. „Mit ihrer Arbeit steht sie für ein unkonventionelles und beeindruckendes Kino.“

Der renommierte Star begann seine Filmkarriere 1965 und hat seither in fast 70 Filmen mitgewirkt. Nach der Ausbildung an der „Royal Court Stage School“ arbeitete Charlotte Rampling mit Regisseuren wie Luchino Visconti (Die Verdammten), Liliana Cavani (Der Nachtportier), Woody Allen (Stardust Memories), John Boorman (Zardoz), Sydney Lumet (The Verdict), Alan Parker (Angel Heart), Patrice Chéreau (Das Fleisch der Orchidee), Jonathan Nossiter (Zeichen und Wunder) u.v.m. In Francois Ozons Swimming Pool, Dominik Molls Lemming oder Laurent Cantets Vers le Sud feierte sie ihre jüngsten Erfolge. Demnächst wird sie in Michael Caton-Jones’ Basic Instinct 2: Risk Addiction zu sehen sein.

In jüngster Zeit wendet sich Charlotte Rampling neben der Filmschauspielerei auch anderen Kunstformen wie Gesang, Theater und Kunstperformances zu.

Aktuell ist sie für ihre Rolle in dem Film Lemming für den Publikumspreis der European Film Awards nominiert, der am 3. Dezember in Berlin verliehen wird.

Charlotte Rampling wird als Präsidentin der Internationalen Jury vorstehen, die über die Vergabe des Goldenen und der Silbernen Bären im Wettbewerb der 56. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin entscheidet.

Presseabteilung

30. November 2005