Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2006

Retrospective

Nov 11, 2005:
30th Retrospective at the 56th Berlin International Film Festival: Dream Girls. Film Stars of the Fifties

The Retrospective of the 56th Berlin International Film Festival will be dedicated to the screen heroines of the 1950s. A diverse programme of 45 films will present 30 actresses from the US, Europe and Japan. The Retrospective focuses on the portrayal of femininity in international films of the post-war period, which mirrors the reactionary climate of the Cold War and questions the obsolete role models of the time.

With “Dream Girls”, the Retrospective, for which the Deutsche Kinemathek has been responsible since 1977, will be celebrating its 30th anniversary. “The theme is the image of women, as conveyed by international stars during the Fifties,” says Hans Helmut Prinzler, director of the Retrospective: “Many actresses play self-confident characters, shaped by existential experiences, who want to assert themselves in a male-dominated world. This connects directly back to our first Retrospective in 1977, in which we honoured Marlene Dietrich.”

Besides Hollywood icons such as Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly, Marilyn Monroe and Elizabeth Taylor, young actresses from Japan (Setsuko Hara), Sweden (Harriet Andersson), Hungary (Mari Töröcsik) and the USSR (Tatjana Samoilova) attracted attention at international film festivals and were great favourites with audiences. Europeans such as Hildegard Knef, Anna Magnani and Jean Simmons went to America, while Hollywood legends like Ingrid Bergman began a second career in Europe at the peak of their fame. Brigitte Bardot and Melina Mercouri embodied a new lifestyle and became idols for an entire generation.

“On the one hand there was a sense of a new beginning and progress, on the other hand nostalgia and prudery. The images of women, personified by the great stars of the period, reflect the tensions of this decade,” comments Berlinale director Dieter Kosslick.

In retrospect, many of these films show how much the decade was a time of political and cultural transformation. Celebrity actresses’ roles and their biographies often appeared to be tightly interwoven, and affirmed both traditional clichés of femininity and male desires. Contradicting these clichés, the heroines of many films on both sides of the Iron Curtain simply leave men – and the old order – behind.

The Retrospective screenings will take place at CinemaxX Potsdamer Platz and in the Zeughauskino. In conjunction with the Retrospective, a publication titled “Traumfrauen. Stars im Film der fünfziger Jahre” will be published by Bertz + Fischer Verlag of Berlin. The Filmmuseum Berlin will host accompanying lectures and discussions. An exhibition at the museum also honours one of these actresses: “Hildegard Knef. An Artist from Germany” will be on display from November 24, 2005 to April 17, 2006.

Press Office

November 11, 2005

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2006

Retrospektive

11.11.2005:
30. Retrospektive der 56. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin: Traumfrauen. Stars im Film der fünfziger Jahre

Leinwandheldinnen der fünfziger Jahre stehen im Mittelpunkt der Retrospektive der 56. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin. Ein facettenreiches Programm mit 45 Filmen präsentiert 30 Schauspielerinnen aus den USA, Europa und Japan. Fokus der Retrospektive ist die Inszenierung von Weiblichkeit im internationalen Kino der Nachkriegszeit, das sowohl das restaurative Klima des Kalten Krieges spiegelt als auch überkommene Rollenmodelle in Frage stellt.

Mit den „Traumfrauen“ feiert die Retrospektive, die seit 1977 von der Deutschen Kinemathek verantwortet wird, ihr 30. Jubiläum. „Thema ist das Bild der Frau, wie es sich durch die Weltstars der fünfziger Jahre vermittelt hat“, sagt Hans Helmut Prinzler, Leiter der Retrospektive: „Viele Schauspielerinnen spielen selbstbewusste, durch existentielle Erfahrungen geprägte Charaktere, die sich in einer Männerwelt behaupten wollen. Das knüpft unmittelbar an unsere erste Retrospektive an, mit der wir 1977 Marlene Dietrich geehrt haben.“

Neben Ikonen des Hollywood-Films wie Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly, Marilyn Monroe und Elizabeth Taylor machten junge Schauspielerinnen aus Japan (Setsuko Hara), Schweden (Harriet Andersson), Ungarn (Mari Töröcsik) und der UdSSR (Tatjana Samoilowa) auf internationalen Filmfestivals auf sich aufmerksam und wurden zu Publikumslieblingen. Europäerinnen wie Hildegard Knef, Anna Magnani und Jean Simmons gingen nach Amerika. Hollywood-Legenden wie Ingrid Bergman starteten auf dem Höhepunkt ihres Ruhmes eine zweite Karriere in Europa. Brigitte Bardot und Melina Mercouri verkörperten ein neues Lebensgefühl und wurden zu Idolen einer ganzen Generation.

„Auf der einen Seite Aufbruch und Fortschritt, auf der anderen Nostalgie und Prüderie. Auch die Frauenbilder, die durch die großen weiblichen Stars dieser Zeit geprägt wurden, reflektieren dieses spannungsgeladene Jahrzehnt“, kommentiert Berlinale-Direktor Dieter Kosslick.

An vielen Filmen lässt sich nachträglich ablesen, wie sehr diese Dekade kulturell und politisch eine Zeit des Umbruchs darstellte. Rollenbilder und Starbiografien scheinen oft untrennbar miteinander verwoben, bestätigen traditionelle Weiblichkeitsklischees wie männliche Sehnsüchte. Und widersprechen diesen zugleich nachdrücklich: Die Heldinnen vieler Filme diesseits und jenseits des Eisernen Vorhangs lassen die Männer einfach hinter sich und mit ihnen die alte Ordnung.

Die Filmvorführungen der Retrospektive finden im CinemaxX am Potsdamer Platz und im Zeughauskino statt. Zur Retrospektive erscheint im Berliner Bertz + Fischer Verlag die Publikation „Traumfrauen. Stars im Film der fünfziger Jahre“. Das Filmmuseum Berlin veranstaltet begleitende Vorträge und Diskussionen. Einer „Traumfrau“ ist dort auch eine Ausstellung gewidmet: „Hildegard Knef. Eine Künstlerin aus Deutschland“ wird vom 24. November 2005 bis zum 17. April 2006 gezeigt.

Presseabteilung

11. November 2005