Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Les oiseaux du ciel

Birds Of Heaven

Vögel des Himmels

##

BIRDS OF HEAVEN

Two friends named Shad and Otho leave the Ivory Coast to find their fortunes in Europe. They hope to return to their land like shining heroes – just like the warriors in their ancestors’ myths. In Spain, the two start running a taxi service for other illegal immigrants, until, one day the police suddenly put in an appearance at a birthday party. Shad manages to escape, but Otho is arrested and deported to Abidjan.
Things look bad for Otho. Neither his friends nor his relatives want anything more to do with him. Desperate, he decides to use the money that Shad sends him from Europe. This money is actually intended for Otho’s sister, Pélagie, who is also Shad’s fiancée. Otho is determined to pay him back, but for the time being he invests the money in a number of creative projects that could prove promising – especially if he manages to return to Europe. He uses most of the money to help a young fashion designer who makes a living faking European designer clothing.
Meanwhile, Shad has now made it to London, where he is working – thanks to false documents. He meets Tango, a young French woman, who takes him with her to Paris. She’s convinced it will be easier for him to obtain documents and work there, and, if not, she’ll marry him.
But in Paris – where Tango’s family owns several hairdressing salons run by Africans – things do not go according to plan. Shad introduces her to a group of African immigrants, including the attractive Olga. Tango falls in love with Olga, and this leads to life-threatening complications…

United Kingdom / France / Cote d'Ivoire 2005, 109 min

by

Eliane de Latour

with

Fraser James
Djédjé Apali
Marie-Josée Croze
Sara Martins
Tella Kpomahou
Lucien Jean-Baptiste
Malik Zidi
Kad Merad

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Les oiseaux du ciel

Birds Of Heaven

Vögel des Himmels

##

VÖGEL DES HIMMELS

Die Freunde Shad und Otho verlassen die Elfenbeinküste, um in Europa ihr Glück zu machen. Eines Tages, das hoffen sie, werden sie als strahlende Helden zurückkehren, so wie einst die Krieger in den Mythen ihrer Vorfahren. In Spanien betreiben sie einen Taxidienst für andere illegal Eingewanderte. Doch dann taucht bei einer Geburtstagsfeier überraschend die Polizei auf. Shad kann entkommen, Otho aber wird festgenommen und nach Abidjan abgeschoben.
Dort sieht es übel für ihn aus, Freunde und Verwandte wollen nichts mehr von ihm wissen. In seiner Not unterschlägt er das Geld, das Shad aus Europa schickt und eigentlich für seine Schwester Pélagie bestimmt ist, Othos Verlobte. Er wird es bestimmt zurückzahlen, zunächst aber steckt er es in kreative Projekte, die Zukunftspotenzial besitzen, auch in Hinsicht auf eine mögliche Rückkehr nach Europa. Vor allem unterstützt er einen jungen Couturier, Billy, der, um überleben zu können, europäische Designerware fälscht.
Shad ist unterdessen nach London gelangt, wo er mit gefälschten Papieren arbeitet und Tango kennen lernt, eine junge Französin. Tango nimmt Shad mit nach Paris – dort würde es leichter für ihn sein, Arbeit und Papiere zu bekommen. Und wenn nicht, wolle sie ihn heiraten.
Doch in Paris, wo Tangos Familie mehrere Friseursalons besitzt, die von Afrikanern geleitet werden, kommt es dann anders. Shad macht sie mit einer Gruppe afrikanischer Immigranten bekannt, zu der die attraktive Olga gehört. Als sich Tango in sie verliebt, führt dies zu lebensgefährlichen Verwicklungen…

Großbritannien / Frankreich / Côte d'Ivoire 2005, 109 Min

von

Eliane de Latour

mit

Fraser James
Djédjé Apali
Marie-Josée Croze
Sara Martins
Tella Kpomahou
Lucien Jean-Baptiste
Malik Zidi
Kad Merad