Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

1:1 (En til En)

1:1 (One To One)

Mohammed-Ali Bakier (Actor)
Annette K. Olesen (Director)
Host: Arnold Weber

##

1:1 (ONE TO ONE)

A council estate on the outskirts of Copenhagen. One Friday evening, a young man, 19-year-old Per, is so brutally beaten that he falls into a coma and has to be taken to hospital. His mother, Søs, suffers a deep sense of guilt for what has happened and feels that she is to blame for her son’s fate. After all, she was the one that insisted they continue to live among the immigrants instead of leaving long ago like most other Danish people. And now Per is in intensive care, fighting for his life. As far as the newspapers are concerned, Per is simply one of an increasing number of victims of violent crime – worthy of a headline, but no more. Meanwhile, the police have no clues as to who the perpetrators might be.
Mie, Per’s 16-year-old sister, seeks comfort from her boyfriend, Shadi, the son of Palestinian immigrants. But Shadi finds it hard to give Mie the attention she needs. In the night of the crime he remembers seeing his older brother – who already has a previous conviction for assault – cleaning his bloodstained clothes in the bathroom. Shadi’s brother swears that he has nothing to do with the assault on Per and so Shadi keeps his mouth shut, in spite of his increasing doubts…
Annette K. Olesen: “When the world as we know it changes, it makes us feel insecure. When we feel insecure we fear we’ll lose what we’ve got. When we fear that, we try to exert control. At best fear is an instinct that enables us to survive. At worst it is a cancer that spreads and mutates into angst.
This is a film about fear. I wanted to tell this story eye to eye. 1 to 1.”

Denmark / United Kingdom 2005, 90 min

by

Annette K. Olesen

with

Mohammed-Ali Bakier
Joy K. Petersen
Anette Støvelbæk
Helle Hertz
Subhi Hassan

World Sales

Trust Film Sales ApS

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

1:1 (En til En)

1:1 (One To One)

Mohammed-Ali Bakier (Schauspieler)
Annette K. Olesen (Regisseurin)
Moderation: Arnold Weber

##

1:1 (ONE TO ONE)

Eine Sozialbausiedlung in einem Außenbezirk von Kopenhagen. An einem Freitagabend wird hier ein Jugendlicher, der 19-jährige Per, so schwer zusam­mengeschlagen, dass er ins Koma fällt und in ein Krankenhaus eingelie­fert werden muss. Søs, seine Mutter, macht sich daraufhin heftige Selbst­vorwür­fe. Sie hält sich für mitverantwortlich am Schicksal ihres Sohnes. Schließ­lich hat sie darauf bestanden, zwischen den vielen Einwanderern wohnen zu bleiben, während die meisten Dänen längst weggezogen sind. Nun schwebt Per zwischen Leben und Tod. Für die Zeitungen ist er nur ein weiteres Opfer der zunehmenden Ausländergewalt – das macht Schlagzeilen, mehr aber auch nicht. Die Polizei hat im Übrigen keine Hinweise auf den oder die Täter.
Mie, Pers 16 Jahre alte Schwester, sucht Trost bei ihrem Freund Shadi, einem Sohn palästinensischer Einwanderer. Aber Shadi fällt es schwer, Mie die nötige Aufmerksamkeit entgegenzubringen. In derselben Nacht hat er gese­hen, wie sein älterer Bruder, der schon wegen Körperverletzung vorbestraft ist, seine Kleidung im Badezimmer von Blutflecken gereinigt hat. Shadis Bruder sagt, dass er mit dem Überfall auf Per nichts zu tun hat. Und deshalb hält Shadi die Klappe, auch als seine Zweifel wachsen…
Annette K. Olesen: „Wenn sich die Welt, wie wir sie kennen, verändert, macht uns das unsicher. Wenn wir uns unsicher fühlen, ergreift uns die Furcht, dass wir verlieren könnten, was uns gehört. Wenn wir das befürchten, wollen wir Kontrolle ausüben. Im besten Fall ist Furcht ein Instinkt, der uns das Überleben ermöglicht. Im schlechtesten Fall ist sie ein Krebsgeschwür, das zu Angst mutiert.
Dies ist ein Film über die Furcht. Ich wollte diese Geschichte ganz direkt erzählen. 1:1.“

Dänemark / Großbritannien 2005, 90 Min

von

Annette K. Olesen

mit

Mohammed-Ali Bakier
Joy K. Petersen
Anette Støvelbæk
Helle Hertz
Subhi Hassan

Weltvertrieb

Trust Film Sales ApS