Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Bubot Niyar

Paper Dolls

PAPER DOLLS

When the second Intifada began, Israel closed its borders to workers from Palestinian territories who, during the previous years had taken on all the worst-paid jobs in the land. Just as in many industrialised countries, in Israel tasks such as housework or caring for the elderly are often delegated to foreign workers. Israel’s policy left a big hole in the job market, and so the Israeli authorities began to encourage workers from other parts of the world to emigrate to Israel to fill the new vacancies.
Among those who answered the call were Philippine transsexuals. Like other émigrés before them, they decided to leave their homeland in search of a better life. Some had been cast out of their families on account of their sexual orientation. They find work in Israel. Their new jobs are by no means easy; in fact, they are often very demanding, both physically and mentally. They work, often round the clock, looking after elderly, orthodox Jewish men, who often come to look on them as substitute children. Many of these carers develop warm, personal relationships to their employees, whose daily lives they share, and whom they often feed and wash.
One evening during the week they enjoy a night off. This is when they are free to live out their personal dreams, appearing as drag queens in Tel Aviv. “Paper Dolls” is the name of their ensemble that could not possibly appear in public back home in the Philippines as they do here. But although the troupe’s members enjoy Israel’s liberal atmosphere, they are still outsiders and are always treated as such.

Israel / Switzerland 2005, 80 min

by

Tomer Heymann

with

Alex Claude

World Sales

The Film Sales Company

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Bubot Niyar

Paper Dolls

PAPER DOLLS

Nach dem Beginn der Zweiten Intifada schloss Israel seine Grenzen für Arbeiter aus den Palästinensischen Gebieten, die in den Jahren zuvor die am schlechtesten bezahlten Arbeitsplätze ausgefüllt hatten. Wie in vielen Industrieländern werden auch in Israel Arbeiten im Haushalt und in der Altenpflege gern an Arbeitskräfte aus dem Ausland delegiert. Die Entscheidung bedeutete mithin einen kräftigen Einschnitt in den Arbeitsmarkt. Deshalb ermunterten die Behörden Arbeitskräfte in anderen Teilen der Erde zur Einreise nach Israel, um die vakant gewordenen Stellen neu besetzen zu können.
Zu denen, die kamen, gehörten auch philippinische Transsexuelle. Wie viele Emigranten vor ihnen verließen sie ihr Land, weil sie sich ein besseres Leben erhofften. Zum Teil hatten ihre Familien sie auch wegen ihrer sexuellen Orientierung verstoßen. In Israel fanden sie Arbeit. Und zwar keine leichte, sondern eine, die sie körperlich wie seelisch sehr beansprucht. Oftmals rund um die Uhr pflegen sie ältere, orthodoxe jüdische Männer, für die sie häufig so etwas wie Ersatzkinder sind. Nicht selten verbindet sie ein enges persönliches Verhältnis mit ihren Arbeitgebern, deren Alltag sie teilen und die sie manchmal füttern und waschen müssen.
An einem Abend in der Woche aber haben sie frei. Dann leben sie ihren persönlichen Traum und treten als Drag-Queens in Tel Aviv auf. „Paper Dolls“ heißt ihr Ensemble, das auf den Philippinen in dieser Weise wohl nicht an die Öffentlichkeit treten könnte. Aber auch wenn seine Mitglieder die liberale Atmosphäre in Israel genießen, bleiben sie letztlich doch Außenseiter und werden als solche behandelt.

Israel / Schweiz 2005, 80 Min

von

Tomer Heymann

mit

Alex Claude

Weltvertrieb

The Film Sales Company