Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Shisso

Dead Run

DEAD RUN

Shuji and Eri are in the same class at school. One day, when Shuji is attending a Christian church with a friend he notices his classmate Eri, who is his age. Eri is an orphan, her parents committed suicide. Over the next few months the two 15-year-olds become friends.
Shuji is overshadowed by his older brother, who tells him that Pater Yuichi, in whom he has also found a good friend at the church, is alleged to have a criminal past.
Meanwhile, Shuji’s native town Hama is being turned into a holiday resort. The place is flooded with property speculators and investors and in no time property prices begin to soar, forcing the local population to find cheaper places to live. One evening, a passing lorry loses its load and Eri, who happens to be in the area, is struck by a falling piece of rock and badly injured. The money they receive in compensation enables Eri’s relatives to move away to Tokyo, taking Eri with them.
Shortly afterwards, an economic crisis causes the construction work to come to a halt – even though the new buildings are only half-finished. Shuji’s life also takes a downward turn. Increasingly isolated at school, he drifts into crimi­nal activities and refuses to let anyone – even Pater Yuichi – help him.
Longing to be reunited with Eri he sets off for Tokyo. After a series of nervewracking and nightmarish experiences with the prostitute Akane and the gangster Nitta he finally manages to track her down. And so they meet again, two souls in desperation…

Japan 2005, 125 min

by

Sabu

with

Yuya Tegoshi
Hanae Kan
Miki Nakatani
Ren Osugi
Etsushi Toyokawa

World Sales

Kadokawa Herald Pictures, Inc.

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Shisso

Dead Run

DEAD RUN

Shuji und Eri gehen in die gleiche Klasse. Als Shuji eines Tages mit einem Freund eine christliche Kirche besucht, entdeckt er dort das gleichaltrige Mädchen: Eri ist Vollwaise – ihre Eltern haben Selbstmord begangen. Im Laufe der nächsten Zeit freunden sich die beiden 15-Jährigen an.
Shuji lebt im Schatten seines älteren Bruders. Von ihm erfährt er, dass Pater Yuichi, mit dem er in der Kirche gleichfalls gute Bekanntschaft geschlossen hat, eine kriminelle Vergangenheit haben soll.
Zur gleichen Zeit wird in Shujis Heimatstadt Hama ein großer Ferienort aus dem Boden gestampft. Spekulanten und Investoren tauchen auf, die Grundstückspreise steigen, Einwohner werden vertrieben. Als eines Abends ein vorbeifahrender Lkw seine Ladung verliert, wird Eri, die sich zufällig in der Nähe befindet, durch die herabstürzenden Felsbrocken schwer verletzt. Das Schmerzensgeld ermöglicht es ihren Verwandten, mit Eri nach Tokio zu ziehen.
Kurz darauf werden die Bauarbeiten aus wirtschaftlichen Gründen eingestellt; die Gebäude sind nur halb fertig geworden. Auch mit Shuji geht es bergab: In der Schule ist er isoliert und er wird in kriminelle Machenschaften verwickelt. Selbst von Pater Yuichi lässt er sich nicht helfen.
Voller Sehnsucht nach Eri macht sich Shuji auf den Weg nach Tokio. Doch als er das Mädchen nach aufregenden und albtraumhaften Erlebnissen mit der Prostituierten Akane und dem Gangster Nitta endlich wiedersieht, treffen sich zwei gleichermaßen Verzweifelte…

Japan 2005, 125 Min

von

Sabu

mit

Yuya Tegoshi
Hanae Kan
Miki Nakatani
Ren Osugi
Etsushi Toyokawa

Weltvertrieb

Kadokawa Herald Pictures, Inc.