Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Leonard Cohen I'm Your Man

LEONARD COHEN I’M YOUR MAN

“Feelings don’t age.” These are the words of Hal Willner, music producer and artistic director of a tribute concert in Sydney in January in 2005 where a variety of artists came together to perform the songs of Leonard Cohen. His pronouncement also explains the secret of this recording artist’s enduring success: “Leonard Cohen’s songs don’t age either. What he does is pure poetry.”
“I’ve been a Leonard Cohen fan for as long as I can remember,” says director Lian Lunson. “He is one of the greatest.” Her film not only provides a record of the performances during the “Came So Far For Beauty” evening at Sydney Opera House, it also takes us behind the scenes of the show. Along­side interviews with some of the artists who took part in the event such as Nick Cave, Jarvis Cocker, Linda Thompson, Rufus and Martha Wainwright, the film also includes Leonard Cohen himself, wryly discussing his career. His comments are interspersed by archive footage and photographs from his private collection.
Leonard Cohen has released 14 albums to date. Born in a suburb of Montreal in 1934, he published his first anthology of poems in 1956. After a number of protracted trips to Europe he settled on the Greek island of Hydra where he wrote several novels. Returning to America in 1967, he lived in New York’s legendary Chelsea Hotel for a while. His appearance at the Newport Folk Festival and his debut album, “Songs of Leonard Cohen” instantly established him as a singer/songwriter. He has been held in high regard ever since, not only as the “songwriter’s songwriter”, but also as a poet, a hero of alternative culture and, last but not least, a ladies’ man. Lian Lunson’s film does justice to all these aspects of his personality.

USA 2005, 105 min

by

Lian Lunson

with

Leonard Cohen
Nick Cave
U2
Antony
Rufus Wainwright
Martha Wainwright

World Sales

Lions Gate Entertainment

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Leonard Cohen I'm Your Man

LEONARD COHEN I’M YOUR MAN

„Gefühle altern nicht”, sagt der Musikproduzent Hal Willner, der Künstlerische Leiter eines Tribute-Konzerts, bei dem im Januar 2005 in Sydney die unterschiedlichsten Künstler Songs von Leonard Cohen interpretierten. Hal Willner erklärt damit das Geheimnis ihres anhaltenden Erfolges: „Auch Leonard Cohens Lieder altern nicht. Was er macht, ist reine Poesie.“
„Ich bin ein Leonard-Cohen-Fan, solange ich denken kann“, sagt die Regisseurin Lian Lunson. „Er ist einer von den ganz Großen.“ Ihr Film zeigt die Auftritte des „Came So Far For Beauty“-Abends in der Oper von Sydney, aber er führt auch hinter die Kulissen der Show. Neben beteiligten Künstlern wie Nick Cave, Jarvis Cocker, Linda Thompson, Rufus und Martha Wainwright kommt in Interviews auch Leonard Cohen selbst zu Wort. Mit trockenem Humor kommentiert er seine Karriere, deren Verlauf der Film mit Bildern und Fotografien aus seinem Privatbesitz illustriert.
14 Alben hat Leonard Cohen bislang veröffentlicht. 1934 wurde er in einem Vorort von Montreal geboren, 1956 publizierte er seinen ersten Gedichtband. Nach ausgedehnten Reisen durch Europa ließ er sich auf der griechischen Insel Hydra nieder und verfasste mehrere Romane. 1967 nach Amerika zurückgekehrt, lebte er eine Zeit lang im legendären New Yorker Chelsea Hotel. Ein Auftritt beim Newport Folk Festival und das Debütalbum „Songs of Leonard Cohen“ machten ihn schlagartig als Singer/Songwriter bekannt. Seither wird er als „Songwriter’s Songwriter“ hoch geschätzt, als Poet, als Heros der Gegenkultur und nicht zuletzt als „Ladies’ Man“. All diesen Aspekten seiner Persönlichkeit wird Lian Lunsons Filmporträt gerecht.

USA 2005, 105 Min

von

Lian Lunson

mit

Leonard Cohen
Nick Cave
U2
Antony
Rufus Wainwright
Martha Wainwright

Weltvertrieb

Lions Gate Entertainment