Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Warum halb vier?

why three.thirty - you'll never walk alone

## ##

WHY THREE THIRTY – YOU’LL NEVER WALK ALONE

Half past three on Saturday afternoon. A stadium … a game … and millions of viewers. Why do they make the pilgrimage to football stadiums every week? Lars Pape’s documentary shows the role that football plays in the lives of two old friends, Manni and Heinz, as well as that of actor Joachim Król. All three have their own individual connection to the game but also share an emotional bond to the phenomenon that is football. And whenever they talk about football, they are always talking about life.
To Joachim Król, football is deeply connected to his childhood and his father; going to the stadium together was a ritual that enabled father and son to communicate their feelings. As a young man, the first time that Joachim Król remembers seeing his father cry was when their club was relegated. The actor also takes an artistic look at the idea of football as theatre. To him, football is one of the last great amphitheatres, fulfilling humankind’s desire for community and emotion.
The story of Mannie and Heinz begins on a sports field in the sticks, suffused with the long-lost charm of the 1950s. This is where the two men met as youths playing on opposing teams. Their encounter has blossomed into a friendship that has enabled them to overcome the ups and downs of their lives. Manni, a jolly, if now somewhat portly gentleman, and the tall, lanky Heinz make a humorous, symbiotic pair.
In tracking down other aspects of the football universe, the filmmaker discovers just how diverse and heterogeneous the football community is: from normal fans to ‘ultras’, from the female fan club, Girls United, to former member of the national team Rudi Völler. And not forgetting celebrity football fans such as MTV presenter Markus Kavka and Fassbinder’s long standing assistant, Harry Baer and others.

Germany 2005, 90 min

by

Lars Pape

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Warum halb vier?

why three.thirty - you'll never walk alone

## ##

WARUM HALB VIER?

Samstag, halb vier. Ein Stadion … ein Spiel … und Millionen von Zuschauern. Warum pilgern sie jede Woche weltweit in die Fußballstadien? Der Dokumentarfilm von Lars Pape zeigt, welche Rolle Fußball im Leben der beiden alten Freunde Manni und Heinz und des Schauspielers Joachim Król einnimmt. Alle drei besitzen eine individuell motivierte, emotionale Verbindung zum Phänomen Fußball. Über Fußball reden heißt hier stets auch, über das Leben zu reden.
Für Joachim Król ist Fußball stark mit der Geschichte seiner Kindheit und seines Vaters verknüpft; ihre gemeinsamen Stadionbesuche und die damit verbundenen Rituale ermöglichten die Kommunikation von Gefühlen zwischen Vater und Sohn. Joachim Król erlebte so als junger Mann zum ersten Mal, dass sein Vater sich erlaubte zu weinen – weil sein Verein abgestiegen war. Zudem richtet er den Blick des Künstlers auf die Bühne des Fußballs. Für ihn ist das Fußballstadion einer der letzten großen Versammlungsräume, in dem sich menschliche Sehnsüchte nach Gemeinsamkeit und Emotionen erfüllen.
Die Geschichte von Manni und Heinz beginnt auf einem Provinz-Sport­platz, über dem der verwehte Charme der 50er Jahre liegt. Hier lernten sie sich kennen, als sie in ihrer Jugend gegeneinander spielten. Daraus entstand eine Freundschaft, mit deren Hilfe sie Höhen und Tiefen ihres Lebens überstanden haben. So bilden der mittlerweile etwas korpulente, lebenslustige Manni und der schlaksige Riese Heinz ein humorvolles, symbiotisches Pärchen.
Die weitere Spurensuche nach den verschiedenen Facetten des Kosmos Fußball führt zu den unterschiedlichsten Vertretern der heterogenen FußballGemeinde, die von normalen Fans über Ultras, den weiblichen Fan­club Girls United, den ehemaligen Nationalspieler Rudi Völler bis zu prominenten Fußballfans wie dem MTV-Moderator Markus Kavka und dem langjährigen Fassbinder-Assistenten Harry Baer und anderen reicht.

Deutschland 2005, 90 Min

von

Lars Pape