Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Mechilot

Forgiveness

FORGIVENESS

In his partly political, partly psychological thriller, Israeli-born director Udi Aloni tells the story of a young Israeli who leaves America to return to Israel, where he experiences a series of traumatic events. His experiences inform the narrative structure of the film as the story of 20-year-old David Adler un­folds at first gradually, then in all its ramifications; a story told in flashbacks and temporal jumps into the future, moving between dream and reality. Fol­lowing his return to Israel, David is admitted to a psychiatric cli­nic situated among the ruins of a Palestinian village named Dir Yassin, the inhabitants of which were massacred by the Israeli army.
David’s father is a Holocaust survivor. He lived in Israel briefly before making his home in America where he became a famous musician. David’s father has always suppressed his feelings about the past – something which David has never been able to comprehend or to accept. Unable to explain the reasons for his son’s confinement, Henry Adler gives the doctor treating his son, Dr Shefer, permission to administer a new chemo-technical drug known as PT-25, in the hope that this will help the boy get over his trauma.
Dr Shefer hesitates at first, but then, when David’s condition deteriorates and the military medical authorities urge him to administer PT-25, he realises that he has no choice. But the key to David’s mysterious illness lies in the hands of a dead ten-year-old girl who was murdered in 1948, and whose spirit will find no peace until the puzzle is solved…

Israel / USA 2005, 96 min

by

Udi Aloni

with

Itay Tiran
Clara Khoury
Michael Sarne
Moni Moshonov
Makram J. Khoury
Tamara Mansour

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Mechilot

Forgiveness

FORGIVENESS

In einer Mischung aus Polit- und Psycho-Thriller erzählt der aus Israel stammende Regisseur Udi Aloni von einem jungen Israeli, der aus Amerika nach Israel zurückkehrt und dort traumatische Erfahrungen durchlebt. Diesen Erfahrungen entspricht die erzählerische Form des Films: Erst allmählich, in Rückblenden und zeitlichen Vorgriffen, zwischen Realität und Traum, tritt das Schicksal des 20 Jahre alten David Adler in all seinen Zusammenhängen zutage. David ist in einer psychiatrischen Anstalt untergebracht, die sich in den Ruinen des palästinensischen Dorfes Deir Yassin befindet; seine Einwohner wurden vom israelischen Militär massakriert.
Davids Vater Henry hat den Holocaust überlebt. Nach seiner Befreiung hat er nur kurz in Israel gelebt, ehe er in Amerika ein berühmter Musiker wurde. Die Vergangenheit verdrängt er, was für David schon immer unerträglich war. Weil ihm der Grund für die Einweisung seines Sohnes unerklärlich ist, erlaubt Henry Adler dem behandelnden Arzt Dr. Shefer, dem Patienten eine neue chemo-technische Droge zu verabreichen: PT-25 soll das Trauma des jungen Mannes überwinden helfen.
Dr. Shefer zögert. Als sich aber Davids Gesundheitszustand verschlechtert und darüber hinaus der militärische Gesundheitsdienst auf den Einsatz von PT-25 drängt, hat er keine andere Wahl. Der Schlüssel zur Lösung des Rätsels, das David umgibt, liegt allerdings in den Händen einer Toten – eines zehnjährigen Mädchens, das 1948 ermordet wurde und deren Geist bis zur Lösung dieses Rätsels keine Ruhe finden kann…

Israel / USA 2005, 96 Min

von

Udi Aloni

mit

Itay Tiran
Clara Khoury
Michael Sarne
Moni Moshonov
Makram J. Khoury
Tamara Mansour