Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Berlinale Special

La fiesta del chivo

The Feast Of The Goat

THE FEAST OF THE GOAT

Santo Domingo in 1992. Urania Cabral returns to her native land – the Dominican Republic – after an absence of 40 years. She has been living the USA for many years where she enjoys an immensely successful career. At the time, she swore she would never set foot again in the country ruled by the notorious dictator General Trujillo – so great was the trauma she experienced as a 14-year-old.
She hardly recognises her old father, now fatally ill. A heart attack has left him a mute, virtually lifeless, bedridden figure. At one time he was the despot’s right hand man, until he fell from grace. After her mother’s death, Urania meant all the world to her father and he made sure that she wanted for nothing. Most of all, he tried to keep her at a safe distance from Trujillo, a notorious child molester.
Urania remembers it all now. She also recalls the three conspirators who wanted to liquidate the dictator in 1961. Amadito could not forgive Trujillo for having put his loyalty to the test and forcing him to murder his fiancée’s brother, who was charged with revolutionary activities. Antonio de la Maza wanted to take his revenge for the murder of his younger brother at the hands of the dictator. The third conspirator, known as “the Turk”, was a devout Catholic, who could no longer bear to let Trujillo’s crimes go unpunished. When the US government withdrew its support and the church openly condemned him, this marked the beginning of the end for Trujillo.
Urania experienced all of this as a child. She also remembers the day when her father fell from grace. He would have done anything to regain Trujillo’s favour. Anything could be demanded of Agustin Cabral – he would even send his own daughter to the tyrant…
Based on a novel by Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa, this political thriller is both a portrait of an era as well as the profile of a family that describes the situation for those living under a dictatorship.

Spain / United Kingdom 2005, 132 min

by

Luis Llosa

with

Tomas Milian
Isabella Rossellini
Paul Freeman
Juan Diego Botto
Stephanie Leonidas

World Sales

IAC Film

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

La fiesta del chivo

The Feast Of The Goat

DAS FEST DES ZIEGENBOCKS

Santo Domingo 1992. Zum ersten Mal, seitdem sie vor rund 40 Jahren die Dominikanische Republik verlassen hat, kehrt Urania Cabral in ihre Heimat zurück. Lange schon lebt sie, beruflich äußerst erfolgreich, in den USA. Da­mals hatte sie sich geschworen, den einst von dem berüchtigten General Trujillo diktatorisch regierten Inselstaat nie wieder zu betreten – zu groß war das Trauma, das ihr als 14-Jährige zugefügt worden war.
Ihren alten, schwerkranken Vater erkennt sie kaum wieder; nach einem Schlaganfall ist er stumm und nahezu leblos ans Bett gefesselt. Einst war er die rechte Hand des Despoten, bis er in Ungnade fiel. Urania war nach dem frühen Tod ihrer Mutter sein Ein und Alles. Es sollte ihr an nichts fehlen, vor allem wollte er sie von dem berüchtigten Kinderschänder Trujillo fern halten.
An all das erinnert sich Urania jetzt – und an die drei Verschwörer, die den Diktator 1961 liquidieren wollten: Amadito konnte Trujillo nicht verzeihen, dass er als Loyalitätsbeweis den Bruder seiner Verlobten umbringen musste, der wegen revolutionärer Umtriebe angeklagt war. Antonio de la Maza, der zweite, wollte die Ermordung seines jüngeren Bruders durch den Diktator rächen. Der dritte, „Türke“ genannte Attentäter war ein gläubiger Katholik, der Trujillos ungesühnte Verbrechen nicht mehr ertragen konnte. Als die US-Regierung dem Diktator weitere Unterstützung entzog und auch die Kirche ihn öffentlich verurteilte, war das für ihn der Anfang vom Ende.
Urania hat all dies als Kind intensiv miterlebt. Auch den Tag, an dem ihr Vater bei Trujillo in Ungnade fiel. Alles hätte er getan, um dessen Gunst zurückzugewinnen. Alles konnte man von Agustín Cabral dafür verlangen – auch, dem Tyrannen die eigene Tochter zu bringen…
Nach einem Roman des peruanischen Autors Mario Vargas Llosa entstand ein Polit-Thriller, der als historisches Zeitbild und Familienpsychogramm das Leben unter den Bedingungen einer Diktatur offen legt.

Spanien / Großbritannien 2005, 132 Min

von

Luis Llosa

mit

Tomas Milian
Isabella Rossellini
Paul Freeman
Juan Diego Botto
Stephanie Leonidas

Weltvertrieb

IAC Film