Berlinale: Programme


Film file

Panorama

Stay

## ## ## ##

STAY

New York-based psychiatrist and therapist Sam takes on a fascinating new case: an accident on Brooklyn Bridge has left art student Henry Lethem suffering from amnesia. Moreover, this sensitive and ambitious young man has taken to making bizarre predictions that, gradually and inexplicably, are beginning to come to pass.
One day, Henry tells his therapist that he intends to end his life on the dot of midnight on his 21st birthday – in three days’ time. Determined to prevent Henry from going through with his plan, Sam starts making some inquiries among Henry’s acquaintances and comes across the name of an artist named Tristan Réveur, whom Henry appears to idolize. Sam’s girlfriend Lila, who Sam once prevented from committing suicide, is familiar with the artist’s personal history. As an 18-year-old, Réveur once announced his intention to take his own life in New York on his 21st birthday, in three years’ time. Before carrying out his intentions, he burned all his paintings and left a note which read: “an elegant suicide is the greatest masterpiece of all”.
The more Sam delves into Henry’s confusing life, the more he begins to lose sight of his own. Sam’s grip on things deteriorates to such an extent that his beautiful girlfriend Lila begins to worry about him in earnest. Time is running out fast when Sam makes a shocking discovery that concerns not only his patient Henry, but more importantly, himself and Lila, too.

USA 2005, 99 min

by

Marc Forster

with

Ewan McGregor
Naomi Watts
Ryan Gosling
Bob Hoskins
Kate Burton
Janeane Garofalo

World Sales

Twentieth Century Fox Film Corp.

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Stay

## ## ## ##

STAY

Der New Yorker Psychiater und Therapeut Sam Foster hat einen faszinierenden neuen Fall: Nach einem Unfall auf der Brooklyn Bridge leidet der Kunst­student Henry Lethem offenbar an Amnesie. Dafür macht der sensible und ehrgeizige junge Mann nun bizarre Vorhersagen, die sich nach und nach aus unerklärlichen Gründen bewahrheiten.
Eines Tages kündigt Henry seinem Therapeuten an, er werde sich in drei Tagen das Leben nehmen: an seinem 21. Geburtstag, am Samstag, exakt um Mitternacht. Sam will Henry unbedingt davon abhalten und beginnt mit Nachforschungen in dessen Umfeld. Unter anderem hört er dabei von dem Künstler Tristan Réveur, der das große Vorbild von Henry ist. Sams Freundin Lila, die er einst vor dem Selbstmord bewahrte, kennt dessen Geschichte: Als 18-Jähriger kündigte er an, er werde sich in drei Jahren an seinem 21. Geburtstag in New York das Leben nehmen. Bevor er die Ankün­digung in die Tat umsetzte, verbrannte er all seine Gemälde und hinterließ eine Notiz: „Ein eleganter Selbstmord ist das größte Meisterwerk.“
Mehr und mehr vergräbt sich Sam in Henrys verwirrende Lebensgeschichte und verliert darüber fast sein eigenes Leben aus den Augen. So sehr, dass sich seine schöne Freundin Lila immer größere Sorgen um ihn macht. Und während die Zeit langsam knapp wird, stößt Sam auf eine schockierende Entdeckung, die nicht nur seinen Patienten Henry, sondern vor allem ihn und Lila betrifft.

USA 2005, 99 Min

von

Marc Forster

mit

Ewan McGregor
Naomi Watts
Ryan Gosling
Bob Hoskins
Kate Burton
Janeane Garofalo

Weltvertrieb

Twentieth Century Fox Film Corp.